Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summery Dublin Soul
"Let The Truth Be Told," Laura Izibor's debut album combines soul, pop and jazz to create an album to sit alongside artists such as Leela James, Chrisette Michele and Corinne Bailey Rae. Although Laura has a good, soulful voice she lacks the material to be compared to the likes of Jill Scott and Alicia Keys.

The standout song for me is "Shine," Laura's debut...
Published on 27 Jun 2009 by K. Wright

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laura isnotabore
If you're a fan of Joss Stone or John Legend then this is a sound that will please your ears.

The album starts with a bit of the positive-thinking, uplifting song that was the single 'Shine'. A lovely catchy number that you know will brighten up any monday morning.

'If tonight is my last' is a lovely ballad with a catchy tune.

'What would...
Published on 20 Aug 2009 by Peter R


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summery Dublin Soul, 27 Jun 2009
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"Let The Truth Be Told," Laura Izibor's debut album combines soul, pop and jazz to create an album to sit alongside artists such as Leela James, Chrisette Michele and Corinne Bailey Rae. Although Laura has a good, soulful voice she lacks the material to be compared to the likes of Jill Scott and Alicia Keys.

The standout song for me is "Shine," Laura's debut single is an upbeat summery pop soul track, with vocals that occasionally sound like Amy Winehouse mixed with Macy Gray. The second single, "Don't Stay" follows the same sound and shows of her great vocals.

"The Worst Is Over," a stripped back piano led ballad which slowly builds up throughout the song and "Mmm..." the rousing gospel influenced track also stand out from the rest.

Many of the songs blend together and thus it creates a nice background atmosphere but just lacks enough stand out tracks to be worthy of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laura isnotabore, 20 Aug 2009
By 
Peter R (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Let The Truth Be Told (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of Joss Stone or John Legend then this is a sound that will please your ears.

The album starts with a bit of the positive-thinking, uplifting song that was the single 'Shine'. A lovely catchy number that you know will brighten up any monday morning.

'If tonight is my last' is a lovely ballad with a catchy tune.

'What would you do' has definite John Legend influence to it. It is musically very simple but lyrically challenges the power of professed love beautifully.

'Mmmm....' is probably my favourite song on the album. It is a slow but beautiful song, extolling the virtues of her lover, with a gospel-choir backing that give this song an ethereal dimension.

'From my heart to yours' is a lovely, upbeat and catchy tune that is just a real summer song. Again vocally very Legend-esque.

From then on the album seems to slip down a couple of levels. The songs are quite mediocre and start to sound very similar.

'Worst is over' however, is a strong sista-song, encouraging one after a painful break-up. Would not be out of place on a soundtrack to a chic-flick.

Overall, it is worth the money spent, especially if you enjoyed Joss Stone and John Legend. The latter half of the album is a bit of a let-down and sound more and more like John Legend.

Might be better just to download the few songs that are actually decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough soul, 29 May 2009
By 
Caroline (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is not usually my thing, but Izibor's voice is a delight. however, during this album you want her to cut loose and go for it. It is over-produced and the songs are all quite bland, but her voice cannot be denied. It is typical mass produced soul-less soul for a lot of the tracks, and this excellent singer is not really given the material she needs to let her voice and obvious soulfulness shine through. I would have like to hear her have material that suits her talent, rather than this insipid pulpy rubbish.

All 3 stars are for her voice and talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sound of summer 2009?, 22 April 2009
By 
Andrew Langdon (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
From its upbeat opener 'Shine' to the gospel-tinged closing track 'Mmm...' Laura Izibor's debut album contains terrific songs that ooze a confidence and maturity that belies her tender age. However, I think comparisons with Alicia Keys and Jill Scott are a little wide of the mark, 'Let The Truth Be Told' has a more poppy sound that is akin to Joss Stone.

I expect to hear a lot more of Laura Izibor in the future and won't be surprised if the outstanding 'Shine' is being played everywhere this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb debut, 18 April 2009
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Laura Izibor is from Dublin, apparently. Well, you wouldn't know it from this album, because she sounds like she comes from the same place as Jill Scott, Alishia Keyes, and Angie Stone. A little research tells you that Laura has been refining this album for 4 years, and has been touted as the next big thing by Rolling Stone magazine - well I can see why, this is some of the best neo Soul of recent years. The Soul of Ireland, indeed.

Izibor has written every track here (and also co-produced), so it's all very personal, which might explain why it's so damn soulful. There's hardly a filler and it's really no wonder that her music has graced soundtracks and TV shows (thanks to her website for that info).

This stands up well with anything done by the aforementioned neo-Soul artists, and if you need a direct comparison, then it's Alicia Keyes, because of the Piano/singer/songwriter thing. But Izibor is no copycat and this is a fine set, with the pick of the tracks (for me anyway) being "What Would You Do", "If Tonight Is My Last", the beautiful "The Worst Is Over" and the final track "Mmmm...", which is a gospel infused joy.

I loved it on first hearing and it's just as good 2 dozen plays or so later. Recommended without reservation for lovers of good music and especially Soul music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
This review is from: IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD (Audio CD)
Brilliant!! Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only an ep, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. W. G. Dodd (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Truth Be Told (Audio CD)
Get an album out Laura!!!! Heard one song on an american tv prog and had to look her up - was worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my Dad's Christmas present, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Truth Be Told (Audio CD)
He loved it. Lots of great tracks on here, I often get into the car and he has it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Let The Truth Be Told (Audio CD)
Bought this in the USA before it came out in the UK, and remains one of my favourite CDs. It's true that she has the sound of Joss Stone, but Joss Stone at her best. Laura Izibor is a very under rated singer, and is one of the more modern singers who you can actually believe in her soul.
This album has three stand out tracks, Shine, Don't Stay and From My Heart to Yours, but unlike a lot of other CDs there are no fillers, so no fast forwarding here. Here's to hearing more from this wonderful singer! Whenever that my be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Truth Be Told (Audio CD)
Whatever your taste in music, ok, maybe not hard hard rock or something....but most music lovers will like this. Amazing voice, fantastic lyrics. A great album to take your husband or wife to bed early to! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD
IZIBOR, LAURA-LET THE TRUTH BE TOLD by Laura Izibor (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews