Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly durable and versatile ball...
My friend literally found one of these is his garage when he moved into a new house and though already well used and exposed to the cold and possibly damp for some time a little more air and was good to use for several year on ALL surfaces! As stated in the review of the mitre calcio such balls can often go rock hard and never recover once left out but the slightly rubber...
Published on 25 April 2010 by Lucas Mansfield

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seems bad and bad seams
Another reviewer has mentioned that the ball arrives deflated. That's true and something to be aware of although that wasn't our problem.
Once inflated there were some badly stitched seams so a couple of panels are
'raised' causing a ridge. It doesn't *really* affect how my 6yo plays with it but it doesn't roll properly
(admittedly he's not playing on a...
Published on 29 Dec 2010 by TG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly durable and versatile ball..., 25 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Mitre Tactic Training Football (Sports)
My friend literally found one of these is his garage when he moved into a new house and though already well used and exposed to the cold and possibly damp for some time a little more air and was good to use for several year on ALL surfaces! As stated in the review of the mitre calcio such balls can often go rock hard and never recover once left out but the slightly rubber like outer surface seems to ensure that doesnt happen with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Durable, as it says on the tin., 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mitre Tactic Training Football (Sports)
As it says on the tin, the ball is tough and durable and of a good standard for it's price- it's in the cheapest range of Mitre balls but superior to the other balls of it's price range. I've used it against walls, running onto tarmac etc and it has never seem to fall apart, although the markings may fade. I remember many years ago at school (this was around 1994-1998) they had a whole bunch of them in school during P.E lessons in football, and whilst they looked old, they were intact and you can tell this ball is built to last. Another guy we used to play football with had one and we played in an area where there were metal fences/bars behind the jumpers for goalposts we had... a whole bunch of other brands of cheap balls we had fell apart after repeated shots against the railings- flaps, skins falling off, etc and this Tactic just appeared indestructible, never taking major damage (although the skin looked old and slightly "scarred" if you know what I mean). The texture of the new one I have feels different to the old design but I'm sure it's not vastly different in terms of performance...

It's not the softest or lightest of balls so it won't do all the fancy things like some of the "match standard" or newer balls might do, but depends what you want to use it for... but for lots of rough and tumble training, kickabouts, or lower level matches I'm sure it's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best training football, 18 Jun 2012
This review is from: Mitre Tactic Training Football (Sports)
By far the best training ball you can buy. Long lasting, retain their bounce and shape, don't wear out on astro and don't go 'rock hard' over winter like many PVC coated ones do. Very good value for money if you take into account how many seasons you can use them for - I've used these for team training week in and week out - in nine years I've never thrown a Tactic away. Many cheap balls will last one season if you are lucky. I've tried many other makes and none match this - including other Mitres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great birthday present, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Eleanor Oakley "vivace" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the reviews on several types of football, ordered this robust football, which arrived in perfect time for grandson's birthday, and was received with great enthusiasm, and quickly to kicked into action. Mission accomplished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a football, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought for a nephew as a gift. My son (11) recommended this particular ball and I hope my nephew is enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seems bad and bad seams, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mitre Tactic Training Football (Sports)
Another reviewer has mentioned that the ball arrives deflated. That's true and something to be aware of although that wasn't our problem.
Once inflated there were some badly stitched seams so a couple of panels are
'raised' causing a ridge. It doesn't *really* affect how my 6yo plays with it but it doesn't roll properly
(admittedly he's not playing on a Premier League carpet) and, as he's just getting into heading the ball, hoping it doesn't have an effect.
I was expecting a better quality from Mitre.
I noticed JJB Sports were doing the same ball inflated for the same price (£5) just before Xmas but had already ordered. Possibly a better way to make sure you get a good one.
n.b this was a size 4 football... if that makes a difference.
<edit>.. and it deflates over a couple of days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 21 Dec 2010
This football is such a disappointment. It arrives flat. An 8 year old boy does not want a flat football. After it arrives you discover that it needs a Mitre inflation pump and Mitre Glycerine. There is no mention of this when you order it. I then borrowed a pump to inflate it and discovered that because of poor stitching there is a hole in it so it cannot be inflated. A very disappointing purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mitre Tactic Training Football
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews