Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping, exciting and great sequel!
The Bourne Identity was a good film - The Bourne Supremacy is even better!
The story picks up in Goa, India, where Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) is having an almost idyllic life with his girlfriend Marie (Franka Potente) who he met whilst escaping from his past life as a government assassin across Europe in the first film. Bourne is still trying to remember who he was/is...
Published on 7 Feb 2005 by Ms. N. T. Scott

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but a somewhat disappointing sequel
I am amazed how polarized opinions are on this film; people seem to either love it or hate it. Me, I stand somewhere in the middle. I absolutely loved the Bourne Identity, thought it one of the greatest action movies ever made, but this sequel lacks the gutsy direction and punchiness of the first film. Matt Damon's acting is as fantastic as ever but somehow the viewer...
Published on 28 Mar 2005 by marcus s


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping, exciting and great sequel!, 7 Feb 2005
By 
Ms. N. T. Scott (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Bourne Identity was a good film - The Bourne Supremacy is even better!
The story picks up in Goa, India, where Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) is having an almost idyllic life with his girlfriend Marie (Franka Potente) who he met whilst escaping from his past life as a government assassin across Europe in the first film. Bourne is still trying to remember who he was/is and always remains on alert to the possibility that his past will eventually catch up with him. Meanwhile, the CIA is on his case about a double murder involving two of their agents, which in turn leads to Bourne returning to Europe to try to uncover the truth about his past role as a high level assassin.
Once again, Matt Damon is totally convincing as Bourne and from his portrayal the viewer can empathise with his desperation, frustration and anger with not knowing who he was and why he cannot ever live a normal life until his questions are answered. The supporting cast (Julia Stiles, Franka Potente, Brian Cox) are all good. However, it is Joan Allen who particularly stands out as Deputy of the CIA tracking Bourne down.
This really is an excellent spy thriller, with plenty of high quality car chases and escapes included too. The storyline is believeable within the context of the world of global espionage, bar the weaker part of the plot involving Abbott (Cox). Nevertheless, the film moves at a great pace and nicley sets up the third installment, The Bourne Ulitimatum.
Based upon The Bourne Supremacy, I eagerly await the next sequel in this thrilling saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Action Thriller, 8 April 2010
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"The Bourne Supremacy" is not quite as good as the other two in the series in my view. It lacks the narrative strength of the first film (the best of the series) and it lacks the visceral action (and clever storyline) of the third film - except perhaps in the final car chase. "The Bourne Supremacy" has a fairly simple structure and is essentially a fast-paced chase movie - find Marie's killer. Nevertheless, it is very tense and enjoyable. I had to watch it twice to get the story (someone's stolen money from the CIA and Bourne is framed to distract attention from the real perpetrator), so you need to pay attention throughout. My only complaint is that Bourne (who is described in the first film as "invisible") is so easy to spot: he makes no attempt to disguise his appearance or even wear a hat. Consequently, he ends up getting chased several times after being spotted on the street or on CCTV. However, as thrillers go this is really good - it's just that the other two films in the series are even better !. You do need to watch the first film to get to know the characters before watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast, pure cinema, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Zorba "Zarbos" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the original on the TV and being completely taken aback by a modern action movie where the action is actually filmed in real places in real time...I went along to the cinema to see this one full of anticipation. I was not disappointed; it was a visual feast, pure cinema everything and more you would want from action movie. Fast moving plot, nice detail, great characters, some terrific camera work and a fantastic car chase to act as the cherry on top of the icing. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the original, 29 April 2005
I really enjoyed the Bourne Identity and was really looking forward to the Bourne Supremacy. While it didn't really disappoint, it certainly did not exceed my expectations.
This is a good film - it retains many of the strong elements of the first film: strong, believable performances, lots of tension and plenty of realistic action including some great chase sequences. However, in a number of important ways it does not reach the high standards of the first film. The plot is too similar to the first film and consequently a little predictable; some of the camera work/editing is too choppy and rather annoying. The cast is good and in particular Joan Allen is an excellent addition but Franka Potente is rarely on screen and is sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but a somewhat disappointing sequel, 28 Mar 2005
By 
I am amazed how polarized opinions are on this film; people seem to either love it or hate it. Me, I stand somewhere in the middle. I absolutely loved the Bourne Identity, thought it one of the greatest action movies ever made, but this sequel lacks the gutsy direction and punchiness of the first film. Matt Damon's acting is as fantastic as ever but somehow the viewer doesn't identify or empathise with the hero to the same extent. Maybe because he is now fully aware of his CIA skills his situation becomes less mysterious and surprising. At some points I just felt myself losing interest as the scenarios became rather predictable. In the first movie you were left gasping at the novel ways Bourne finds to escape from each predicament. Here, the solutions to problems seem more conventional and the denouement after the car-chase was a real let-down. For his arch rival to be simply squished to death at the end of a long car chase was for me, an opportunity lost for the ultimate fight sequence. I liked the moral undertone of the plot but it seemed that the more the Director tried to put me in Bourne's place, the more remote I felt from the action - weird but true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Law of Diminishing Returns'? Never heard of it., 17 Nov 2005
There's a reason the Bourne movies are attracting comparisons to the Bond movies though what seems to interest people more are the differences. As the bloated Bond films give you an oily Hally Berry, Lazer watches and an invisible Aston Martin - The Bourne Supremacy gives you a hysterical sobbing Julia Stiles, a roled up newspaper and a burnt out taxi in some debunked communist state. It's hardly glamourous but it's brutally effective and far more thrilling.
While anyone who's not a shady CIA spy would sound ridiculous calling it 'realistic' the average joe can still find intense satisfaction in the films logicality. What happens when two men are trained to the very peak of physical strength and have mastered completely a devistating martial art? They fight like school boys, that's what, each one's ability cancelling out the other's and they scuffle around an apartment desperatley trying to get the other into some sort of strangle hold, this is where the aforementioned rolled up magazine comes in.
It's also refreshing to see a film pretty much devoid of a Hollywood Love interest, Bourne's previous squeeze Marie is put out of the picture early on and when you think he's about to subject Julia Stiles to a steamy case of Stockholm syndrome, Bourne interrogates her to a point of sheer terror. The closest Bourne comes to any kind of affection is towards Pamela Landy, the very woman who is chasing him.
Acting is uniformly superb, new cast members like Joan Allen and Karl Urban fit right in to this kind of work and returning characters show no sign of getting stale, Brain Cox in particular is a real joy to watch but that's something you come to expect from one of the best actors around.
In a world of films like 'xXx', Bourne's Lo Fi thrills seem all the more essential. The filmmakers value substance over (material) style and thank God for that, they're at the start of an intellegent franchise that probably won't run as long as say, Bond, but already has the makers of other spy movies scrambling for Bourne's gritty edgy brand of action thriller. That can't be a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars blu ray disappointment, 12 April 2012
By 
D. abbott "vanduck" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Supremacy [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
if you havent watched the film,then you should.great movie with a good screen play,and action. i already had a copy on dvd ,but saw a cheap second hand copy on blu ray.i have the first bourne film on blu ray and it is a great improvement, but not the second installment.sound is great,deeper and rich,but the picture isnt. grainy and poor no better than dvd and dark hotel scenes really suffer,with to me a green tint.
i don`t think it is worth the "upgrade"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same in 'Episode #2' of a Great Trilogy, BUT Blu-ray Does Not Improve the Video/Audio over an Upscaled DVD, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Bourne Supremacy [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
'The Bourne Supremacy' is the second, and second best after the debut 'The Bourne Identity', of a trilogy of films ('The Bourne Ultimatum' follows- and the list may expand in the future...) based on the 'Bourne' series of novels by Robert Ludlum, with Matt Damon in the lead role as the CIA operative Jason Bourne. This sequel film dates back to 2004 and maintained the thrilling, more 'gritty' style of action content which debuted in 'Identity' with a no-nonsense, ruthless, approach to the action whilst maintaining a credible plot - all supported by quality production values.

As opposed to 'Identity', the move to Blu-ray for this film (and the next) is far less notable, with the image/audio barely noticeably better than an upscaled DVD (despite an 'upgrade' to DTS); the only real improvement is with the additional extras, to support the fact that by this time all 3 films had been made.

This film starts a couple of years after Jason Bourne has been 'liberated', but he remains haunted by his past and suspicious of external 'intervention' - and rightly so, as the two-stranded storyline involves him responding to being framed for a murder during a CIA operation (to expose a suspected agent who is siphoning off funds) and the related new CIA management who take a serious interest into the background of Bourne and his CIA 'history'.....

The truly notable aspect of this second film of the trilogy is that it is, like the follow-on, directed by Paul Greengrass - someone who was always admired but had not really hit the 'big time'. Exposure courtesy of 'Supremacy' propelled him to the cinematic forefront, where he has stayed with other movies such as the marvellous 'United 93'. Having said all that, I still prefer the debut 'Identity'; Greengrass did not damage the Bourne legacy with 'Supremacy' or 'Ultimatum', but the first film obviously started the Bourne ball-rolling and so is more 'refreshing', plus it is less 'busy' than the remaining 2 films and is supported by a more adventurous musical soundtrack. I can't say if Greengrass has a particular style which one should notice in his movies, but if nothing else he certainly applies a distinctive 'hue', with a distinctive overall colour-tone of blue to the video of 'Supremacy' and green to 'Ultimatum'. Both also marked a move to being filmed handheld, which I presume is one of the reasons why the overall appearance is more 'natural' and certainly (to my eyes at least) more grainy and less affected by a jump to HD presentation than 'Identity'....

So, knowing the Bourne 'background' and the basics of the plot it's pretty much 'as you were' as the film rattles along with the same list of ingredients as 'Identity'; but there is one big difference in how Bourne operates now, the details and reasons for which I shan't divulge to avoid spoiling things for first-time viewers. Thankfully, despite there being little new in terms of innovation those Bourne basics are quite sufficient to entertain and engross: car chase-tick, brutal hand-to-hand fight-tick, covert surveillance-tick, escaping from improbable situations-tick.

This aspect is in my opinion so noticeable that I don't recommend you watch 'Supremacy' very soon after 'Identity', because although you might want to learn more of the Bourne story there can be a sense of 'deja vu' as far as the basic action is concerned....

The screenplay does seem to be a bit more cliche-ridden than 'Identity' and, since we know by now that Bourne rarely fails, events are a little predictable but that doesn't detract from the action being above the norm in terms of quality. Having said that, it's nice to see that in this film Bourne relying on a rolled-up magazine as his main weapon when fighting, instead of grabbing a biro from a nearby desk again as he did in 'Identity' ! The 'bland' nature of the Bourne character continues to lends itself very well to what I think is the rather bland acting nature of Damon, although he is now more sure-footed, less confused and on the whole more brutal (for understandable reasons which will become clear when you see the film). The difference this time is Damon has to portray an overall sense of guilt, sprinkled with a generous helping of confusion - which he again manages very well.

This Bourne film continues the refreshing aspect of the action being located on a global scale, which despite opening in India soon returns to European soil with a heavy emphasis towards the east, especially Berlin and Moscow. The excellent range of supporting actors is also maintained, but this time more reliance is made on a smaller core of them which now includes the highly competent and convincing Joan Allen as well as the always excellent Brian Cox. Everyone else (with one exception who, again, I won't mention to avoid spoiling things) is pretty nameless and invariably don't last long until they bite the dust, often literally !

As mentioned at the start, 'Supremacy' looks no better on Blu-ray than upscaled DVD and, despite benefiting from DTS, doesn't really sound any better either as for the most part the audio is not that spatial, really quite concentrated and reflected perfectly adequately with DD5.1 (which is what the DVD has). Everything remains just as sharp as the DVD but, as mentioned earlier, the Greengrass blue (in this case) 'hue' and filming method do make the overall presentation somewhat murky, which is no fault of Blu-ray. Where Blu-ray does offers an advantage is with the extras, which add several new featurettes to the DVD which continue the Ludlum/Bourne coverage from the first disc. The new 'U-Control' in-film feature also appears again, but when I could get a player which supported it properly (often the picture-in-picture was silent) it again didn't seem to be that notable in content.

So, if you enjoy action movies which also include a bit of intelligence (of both kinds !) 'The Bourne Supremacy' is just as essential to view as 'Identity', but especially so if you have watched the debut feature already of course - but don't watch it to soon after the first film and don't feel pressured to get this film on Blu-ray, as DVD will do just as well due to the difference in the filming method not properly justifying the need for an HD presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the Original but sequels rarely are !, 29 Aug 2010
By 
s "s" (north west) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The first film in the Series blew me away with a superb script and great acting.The sequel is still engaging but not a patch on the Original.The storyline isn't great and the chase scenes appear deliberately confusing so Bourne always gets away without the viewer knowing quite how.It's still worth watching and i'll defintely watch the last film in the trilogy.I played my DVD thro' my Blu-ray Player and the picture enhancement and sound effects were top drawer.Better than Bond,erring towards Mission Impossible,buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original - but do see them in order., 19 May 2008
By 
Can sequels be better than or as good as their predecessors...in this case yes!

The story sets off 2 years after the first one, and once again spans the globe in location and plot. Jason Bourne is back, but this time he's been tracked down by both the law and and an organised crime syndicated intent in framing him. The man-hunt is bigger and the fight / stunt scenes better. It's another quick, fast paced movie that grips you so much it'll keep you on the edge of your seat for the entire movie.

The characters remain the same and the continuity between this and the first movie is flawless.

Top marks for this one - definitely as good if not better than the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bourne Supremacy [Blu-ray][Region Free]
The Bourne Supremacy [Blu-ray][Region Free] by Ethan Sandler (Blu-ray - 2009)
5.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews