Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DAVID CLAYTON THOMAS
For me Blood Sweat and Tears never sound as good without the vocals of the great David Clayton THomas - he gives them a depth and musically they seem more confident and willing to experiment. I find Al Kooper's vocals thin and whiny in comparison and the first album does nothing for me. It could be a different band altogether. The final - New Blood is not too bad...
Published on 30 Jun 2009 by Mr. A. Gears

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They started brilliantly and ended miserably, and it's all here
There are few groups whose output shows as steep and steady decline in quality as Blood Sweat and Tears. Their first album, when they were effectively Al Kooper's baby, was great, but didn't sell well. Kooper then left and they made a very good, more commercial and less demanding album made them stars. From that point forward, things got steadily worse. Subsequent albums...
Published on 19 Mar 2009 by David Pearlman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They started brilliantly and ended miserably, and it's all here, 19 Mar 2009
By 
David Pearlman "sound fanatic" (Arlington, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
There are few groups whose output shows as steep and steady decline in quality as Blood Sweat and Tears. Their first album, when they were effectively Al Kooper's baby, was great, but didn't sell well. Kooper then left and they made a very good, more commercial and less demanding album made them stars. From that point forward, things got steadily worse. Subsequent albums were quite spotty, with an increasing amount of group-written weak material (outside of Al Kooper's contributions, the first two albums comprised mostly covers, albeit often strikingly well rearranged). All but hardcore fans can do without the albums after the first two, and even the hardcore would be hard pressed to get strongly behind the last two albums included in this box.

The low price tag is appealing, and the last three albums on this box do contain a few (though only a few) pretty decent songs. But it's hard to get too excited about putting this on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BST's heyday through to their hayday..., 19 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Discs 1 & 2 are essential. The first disc sees Al Kooper at the controls and this record sounds remarkably fresh and innovative. Al Kooper's production skills and odd ball reworking of cover songs was at the time a very bold move. Al Kooper moved aside by Disc 2 widely regarded as BST's career high. There's nothing to dislike apart from the dreadful lines on Steve Katz's 'now you're gone girl and the lamp posts call out your name'... BST 3 is pretty good apart from the Sympathy for the Devil cover which is poor. BUT it does contain one of David Clayton Thomas's best vocal performances on 'Lonesome Suzie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DAVID CLAYTON THOMAS, 30 Jun 2009
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
For me Blood Sweat and Tears never sound as good without the vocals of the great David Clayton THomas - he gives them a depth and musically they seem more confident and willing to experiment. I find Al Kooper's vocals thin and whiny in comparison and the first album does nothing for me. It could be a different band altogether. The final - New Blood is not too bad.

Overall a great set and a bargain price. Just wish that Nuclear Blues had been included instead of the two without David Clayton Thomas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable tracks, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Some of these tracks are time less - if you like a classical/rock fusion - Peel played a lot of them -but there are many you won't have heard and maybe sound a little dated . Essential for you back collection all these sets are really good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Musicians music over 5 CD's, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
a strange mix over a few years of their time CD4 probably the best--it's musicians music you need to listen not just to the vocals but to the backing were you can really understand what their all about--some clever stuff here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Fans, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I am a BS & T fan. I bought this 4 disc set ( Their first 4 albums) because I am a fan and wanted to see if CD's sounded better than my old worn-down LP's. I have to say the sound quality on this set could have been better.

At the same time I bought The Definitive Collection on CD- a one disc selection of 17 tracks - their BEST. The single disc cost more than these 4 but the sound quality more than made up for the 'missing' tracks.

O K I am glad to have this 4 disc set but for me The Definitive Collection ( on their original Columbia label) is the one to go for if you want their very best with really good sound quality. You might buy both of course and be very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trip down memory lane, 4 Mar 2013
By 
E. Slater (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
A great buy if, like me, you didn't have many Blood, Sweat and Tears albums from the vinyl era. I think the packaging is neat. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Classic rock, right from the earliest album with Al Cooper these are great albums. I would recommend anyone to buy this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Blood Sweat & Tears (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews