Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original album classics? You bet!
If you're reading this then you are probably familiar with at least one or more of these albums.
It's rather ironic that the cover shows the band with John Verity & John Grimaldi who joined the band after these first five albums, so had nothing to do with them. This package covers the output in which Russ Ballard was the lead singer.

The first has a real...
Published on 27 Feb 2009 by J. Clark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Support your local file-sharing service
Packaging:

- the usual minimalist reproductions of the original vinyl (front and back) covers;

- the advertised website for full album credits (www.musicmadesimple.info) has not existed for some time ‒ it currently redirects to www.moniker.com, a domain name registration site.

As a music lover rather than a 'collector', only the...
Published 3 months ago by Terry_001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original album classics? You bet!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
J. Clark (Croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
If you're reading this then you are probably familiar with at least one or more of these albums.
It's rather ironic that the cover shows the band with John Verity & John Grimaldi who joined the band after these first five albums, so had nothing to do with them. This package covers the output in which Russ Ballard was the lead singer.

The first has a real feel of an album with many of the Zombies influences, which is understandable. Ring of Hands finds the band carving out the direction which would find them their greatest success. The highlights are Rejoice, Pleasure & Lothlorien.
All Together Now features Hold your Head up, Tragedy, and another two tracks that became live favourites Keep on Rollin' and Dance of Ages.
In Deep features It's only Money & God gave rock & roll to you. This was Russ Ballard at his creative best and there's much to enjoy here.
Nexus sees the band going in a more progressive direction with Rod Argent showing his keyboard talents to the full. It was a direction that prompted Russ to jump ship which was a shame.
The body of work here is classic Argent. Some of it sounds a little dated now, but there's some great songwriting and if you haven't replaced your old vinyl from the early 70's, this is a good place to start.
The Zombies have been touring regularly in recent years with great success, but a reunion of the original five members of Argent that recorded these original album classics, would generate huge interest.
They probably just don't realise the extent of their popularity still today.
A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top of the range Brit Prog, 22 April 2009
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
This excellent value mini-box set enshrines the classy musicianship and song craft of Argent, one of the Uk's most underrated Prog Rock bands. When Russ Ballard was with them, he brought not only a strong sense of the melodic in his guitar work (never overly flash, always about playing the right notes, and not too many of 'em, either), but also a sense of economy in the songs. Sure, prog was always about musical virtuosity, but Ballard and Rod Argent, both having been with 60s Pop acts (The Unit 4 + 2 and The Zombies respectively), still had more than vestigial traces of Pop in there. Ballard was also a great, soulful singer, and he's in top form throughout. 'In Deep' is an underrated Brit Prog classic, although there's good stuff all over these five albums - even if the slip case photo features their post-Ballard line-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Argent's top five, 17 Dec 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
I was never a big fan of Argent, having been originally unimpressed by my solitary hearing of their debut album on vinyl. I love The Zombies' Odessey and Oracle, however, and for the price offered thought it was worth paying to hear more of Rod Argent's work. My view of their debut album has, as a result, now changed. You can tell that it's just pre-1970s by the lighter sound and harmonies. The first seven tracks won me over, especially 'Be Free' and the playing on 'Dance In The Smoke'. 'Schoolgirl' meanwhile is an obvious retread of The Zombies' last hit, 'Time Of The Season'.

Of the other albums my favourite is probably 'Nexus', which I didn't expect. As the track titles suggest this leans more toward a prog style than the others. The last two tracks on this nail it perfectly. 'Ring Of Hands' is my least favourite. I don't feel the content is good enough, but, as on all of the albums, its main strength is the musicianship on display. Argent didn't noodle as much as the likes of Yes or even Genesis, but they were clearly a formidable unit, whatever style they played. Most of the showmanship comes from Rod Argent himself.

I expected 'All Together Now' and 'In Deep' to be their strongest efforts, not least because the first was their breakthrough album and because both feature their biggest hits. There is a dilemma here, however, as two approaches sit uneasily together. The extended 'Hold Your Head Up', with its twinkling atmosphere, has a prog feel to it, but is then followed by a series of driving, barroom r&b songs. On 'Keep On Rollin'' and 'He's A Dynamo' in particular, the band are hot, but the songs themselves are nothing special. The album then finishes with the twelve minute, ultra-prog 'Pure Love' which jars against the other tracks. Though well-executed as usual, it again is nothing special. 'In Deep' is perhaps more consistent in style, but the same applies: great playing, so-so material.

I'm glad I bought this collection. Argent, like many artists of the era, put the vast majority of later bands firmly in the shade, but I'll be extremely selective with which of the discs I'll listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...There's A Man Who's Lost...He's Alone...He Bears The Cost..." - Original Album Classics by ARGENT (2009 CD Remasters), 26 Dec 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
"Original ALBUM Classics" was released as a 5CD mini box set in March 2009 on Epic/Legacy 88697445472 and it breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 is "Argent" (40:39 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 10 are their debut album issued in 1970 in the UK on CBS S 63781 and in the USA on Epic BN 26525

Disc 2 is "Ring Of Hands" (42:52 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are their 2nd album issued in 1971 in the UK on Epic S 64190 and on Epic KE 30128

Disc 3 is "All Together Now" (41:42 minutes)"
Tracks 1 to 7 are their 3rd album issued in April 1972 in the UK on Epic S EPC 64962 and in the USA on Epic KE 31556

Disc 4 is "In Deep" (45:24 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are their 4th album issued in 1973 in the UK on Epic S EPC 65475 and in the USA on Epic KE 32195

Disc 5 is "Nexus" (42:10 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are their 5th album issued in 1974 in the UK on Epic S EPC 65924 and in the USA on Epic KE 32573

Each card repro is a single sleeve - the UK gatefold artwork for "Argent", "Ring Of Hands" and "All Together Now" (including its 4-page insert) is NOT reproduced on these issues; while the "Nexus" title uses the 'US' artwork, which is different to the UK issue. However, Sony/Legacy have the full details and booklets for each title downloadable from [...]

As you can see from the song numbers listed above, none of the CDs contain extra tracks - in particular the 7" single edits of "Hold Your Head Up" and "God Gave Rock And Roll To You" or the unique US mixes of their first 2 singles "Liar" and "Rejoice". You have to buy those separately and they're all available on a USA 2008 18-track Epic CD compilation called ""Greatest - The Singles Collection" (it's also available via an iTunes download).

It doesn't say who's remastered what or where, but the sound is good overall - superb in some places ("All Together Now") - but unfortunately only mediocre in others. For instance, "In Deep" and "Nexus" got lumped together as 2 albums on one CD a few years ago which received bad reviews - in particular to do with its mastering (some even suggesting that vinyl was used). That's not the case on these versions of those two albums - tracks like "Losing You" from "In Deep" and "Once Around The Sun" and "Man For All Reasons" from "Nexus" (lyrics above) all have quite patches in them - but there's no clicking or popping here. What there is a certain kind of top-end muddiness - I think it's inherent to the way they were recorded. I'm afraid I've found a lot of Legacy issues like this (not all of course) - they're good - but hardly great.

And in that Seventies progressive kind of a way, some of the music is of course horribly dated too, but other portions of it (especially the excellent first 2 albums) is truly superb 70's rock well worth re-discovering.

Overall - a fairly good way of acquiring now quite pricey albums on original vinyl - and a revelatory jaunt down a not-so-familiar rock path.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds Original and Classic!, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
Pure Class! I'd forgotten how good a band Argent were and these re-mastered re-issues show off their combined talents to the full. In Deep (one of my all time favourite albums) is still the real jewel in the crown of this pick but all the others are not far behind. Only disapointment is no insert or booklet to tell their story - still the music does that very well for them. Great value for the money and highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Support your local file-sharing service, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
Packaging:

- the usual minimalist reproductions of the original vinyl (front and back) covers;

- the advertised website for full album credits (www.musicmadesimple.info) has not existed for some time ‒ it currently redirects to www.moniker.com, a domain name registration site.

As a music lover rather than a 'collector', only the second point bothers me - exactly how difficult and/or expensive is it to maintain such a basic website?

Audio quality:

- the first album, Argent, is a vinyl dub - needle noise can be heard at the end of tracks 2 and 5 and there is extensive sibilance and bass distortion;

- I haven't listened to the other 4 discs yet, but have no reason to think that they will be any different.

The outright contempt for the consumer that this practice reveals is only the latest in a long line of shady practices that the music corporations have engaged in since Day 1 - the sooner they are bankrupted by Internet sharing the better.

DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great set from a great band, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
This is one the best bargains I have ever bought. Argent were one of the finest bands around in the early 70's and these five album show their evolution very well. The most commercially successful albums were 'All together now' and 'In Deep', but give 'Ring of Hands' and 'Nexus' a good listen they too are gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argent's first 5 albums in one package, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
The only complaint I have is that my copy has a different cover shot than the thumbnail image Amazon features - but it's a minor quibble, as it seems to feature the original lineup (which the other photo does not) who were present for most of these albums. As these albums are difficult to find in the States, this is a great way to get them; there are no bonus tracks, just the 5 original albums in mini-LP covers in this cardboard sleeve, no notes, and really not much info beyond what was printed on the album covers. But it's reasonably priced, and really, what more do you need? A fine introduction to Argent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
Five great albums for a very good price. The music is just as good as I remember. A great mate was a mad Argent fan at school in the seventies, we saw them live four tjmes over the years. Pity there isn't any of the sleve notes ,they would really make the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Silver Collection, 8 April 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics: Argent/Ring of Hands/All Together Now/In Deep/Nexus (Audio CD)
So, there I was perusing my record collection, well CD collection, but old habits die hard, and I realised that the As were missing some Argent, so I Argently (ouch - ed) made my way over to Amazon and found this little collection, a few clicks and an order was placed.
What arrived was a little cardboard box containing five CDs. Just what I ordered.
For the money it's very good value. Whilst Argent weren't a premier league band they were a good lower league keyboard driven semi PROG band, showing that there is life after Zombiedom.

So BUY! It doesn't cost a lot and doesn't take up a lot of room, what have you got to lose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews