Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning - another BBC triumph!
The BBC have done it again! If like me you can't get enough of the 'Planet Earth' box set in HD then you MUST buy this. The photography as you'd expect is at times simply breathtaking and apart from the obvious stars of the show being the animals themselves, special mention must go to the camera crew and production team for creating another masterpiece. The icing on the...
Published on 13 Aug 2009 by Wasty Hinges

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nature's Great Event any better than Planet Earth?
I love the series Planet Earth when I first watched it on DVD. Nature's Great Events was to me still of very high quality filming by BBC Natural History (my favourite Nat. Hist. film producer) BUT subject-wise, I was quite disappointed as the series is a kinda of recycling many of the scenes that were already on Planet Earth. However, the only new part to the series was...
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by Willy W.W.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning - another BBC triumph!, 13 Aug 2009
The BBC have done it again! If like me you can't get enough of the 'Planet Earth' box set in HD then you MUST buy this. The photography as you'd expect is at times simply breathtaking and apart from the obvious stars of the show being the animals themselves, special mention must go to the camera crew and production team for creating another masterpiece. The icing on the cake is of course Mr Attenborough's narration. Like most people I've grown up watching his programs over the last 30 years and for me no nature documentary is complete without it being presented or narrated by the great man himself - simple as that. The main reason for me upgrading to HD a few years ago was to be able to watch programmes such as this in HD. This DVD and other recent BBC releases have proved to be justification enough (if only the earlier Attenborough films were remastered into HD - here's hoping). If you don't own a Blu-Ray player already and you like nature documentaries, buy one now you won't be dissapointed :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it!, 26 April 2009
By 
K. Murphy (Co. Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nature's Great Events [DVD] (DVD)
Highly enjoyable for all ages. I would have found the price tag worth it simply for the laugh-out-loud sight of a bear, treading water and trying to kick a fish to the shallows. That's only one of the many, many scenes to enjoy. The cimematography is brilliant, the stories gripping, and the animals fantastic. Kudos to the BBC. If you like nature documentaries, don't even think about it. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good or even better then Planet Earth!!!, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Antony (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nature's Great Events [DVD] (DVD)
Just received this copy and watched it and this is probably better then Planet Earth by BBC. First of all on standard DVD format the picture quality is just fantastic. The stories are entertaining, and it has the informative diaries at the end of each program showing how they made it which is just as interesting as the real feature. Great DVD, get it so they make more of these!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Planet Earth, 14 April 2009
By 
Alexander V. Georgiev (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nature's Great Events [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't have high expectations for this series in terms of writing or story telling. It was a sure bet that the photography would be immaculate but I was weary that images might have drowned any attempts at intelligent story-telling. From the first 5 min of watching the first programme I knew that there was nothing to worry about. On the contrary - this is one of the strongest sequel-type shows the BBC Natural History Unit has produced in recent years. Outstanding writing, mesmerising images and well, how can you go wrong with a narration by David Attenborough. Well done to the production team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular scenery with the Attenboroug's touch, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Javier Gonzalez "Javcalator" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These documentaries come as no surprise for the unconditional Attenbouroug's fans. Impressive scenery, spectacular animal behaviour images, and nature cycles explained in the typical accesible and personal way David Attenboroug uses as a narrator. The use of CG and HD cameras, plus some revealing space imagery just adds up to the spectacular nature of this nature program. Much in the line of Blue Planet and Planet Earth. I do not think any nature lover should be dissapointed. A viewing pleasure, another love declaration for our planet and its diversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nature's Great Event any better than Planet Earth?, 2 Dec 2009
This review is from: Nature's Great Events [DVD] (DVD)
I love the series Planet Earth when I first watched it on DVD. Nature's Great Events was to me still of very high quality filming by BBC Natural History (my favourite Nat. Hist. film producer) BUT subject-wise, I was quite disappointed as the series is a kinda of recycling many of the scenes that were already on Planet Earth. However, the only new part to the series was the episode on the Great Salmon Run...it was really superb; how the underwater scenes were filmed, of the Grizzly bears trying to fish dead salmons from the bottom of the river! Very good narration by Sir David Attenborough (I love his series and many of the series by him were actually filmed in the Agriculture Research Stations where I work!). If you have bought a copy of Planet Earth, well, Nature's Great Events is perhaps just another 'version' of Planet Earth. Recommended if you have not seen Planet Earth yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant natural history experience, expecially on Blu-Ray in Hi Definition, 6 Oct 2009
This is a genuinely awe-inspiring series. Attenborough and the BBC's natural history unit once again gives us a glimpse into the natural world with Attenborough's narration adding his unique extra dimension to the incredible events being shown on screen. An extra fetaure here, though, is that the cameramen and the other film makers are introduced in all of their glory. the diary sections at the end of each episode give a fantastic insight into the sort of skill and dedication needed to bring the events to our screens, and Attenborough's own admiration for their skills shines through. The series was fantastic on normal TV, but here on Blu-ray in 1020p high definition it becomes truly breathtaking. The events shown leave anyone who is interested in the natural world with a buzz that tingles the back of the neck and leaves the heart beating faster. A truly wonderful series that is a real "must buy" for anyone who likes the natural world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content is superb, quality is disappointing, 9 Nov 2009
I have a region B disc.

Just one thing to add to all the good stuff said already: the image quality is just disappointing. This blu-ray is not in real 1080p, it is 720 or even less, and it is sooo obvious on a big screen (I use a JVC projector + 120''), it's not even funny.
It's such a shame that such outstanding content is affected by visible artefacts and inferior clarity. People, who would like to watch this documentary on a good equipment -- be warned and do not have high expectations about quality.

What is more disappointing, is that the actual resolution is not mentioned on the package, so there's no way to be aware of it until you play the actual disc at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great...if you liked Planet Earth you'll love this., 28 July 2009
By 
A. Molloy "Mendip Andrew" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The picture quality on this programme is stunning and the episodes themselves are suitably informative and well narrated (as expected!). The only downside is that this is a stereo soundtrack rather than Dolby 5.1.

If you haven't got Planet Earth I would get this first as it is currently better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you should get this D.V.D., 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Nature's Great Events [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked "Planet Earth", "Life", "The Blue Planet" and "The Frozen Planet",,,
- - - Then you need to get "Nature's Great Events".
This is a great compliment to the others and also to the vast series of documentaries with David Attenborough.
I have heard some people try to pull these documentaries apart, but remember they are for your viewing and to be enjoyed by all. So treat yourself to some great events - oh and don't be worried about it being a compilation of other films, the D.V.D stands on its own many feet as an individual. I have done my research and only have a few left to collect.
"Nature's Great Events" is a must buy and a great follow on from "Planet Earth".
.
Many thanks and all the best.
Paul (the Bass).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nature's Great Events [DVD]
Nature's Great Events [DVD] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2009)
6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews