Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOULUTELY SCARY
When i first saw this film, i was by myself with the lights off and the curtains and blinds closed! I watched it all the way through! I couldnt get up and stop it because it was the best horror movie i have seen yet. Although some of it gets confusing because there is the past and present.
Karen (Sarah Michelle Gellar- Buffy, Scooby-Doo), an american nurse living and...
Published on 11 Mar. 2005 by Gavin Hetherington

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The third was never found....
Karen Davis is residing in Japan with her boyfriend, who is studying there.

Temporarily assigned to be a carer for a woman with severe sleeping disorder, Karen goes to the patient's house.

What she finds is something she would never expect. The house is plagued by the presence of murderous ghosts, the result of a curse.

The curse is born...
Published 7 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOULUTELY SCARY, 11 Mar. 2005
This review is from: The Grudge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When i first saw this film, i was by myself with the lights off and the curtains and blinds closed! I watched it all the way through! I couldnt get up and stop it because it was the best horror movie i have seen yet. Although some of it gets confusing because there is the past and present.
Karen (Sarah Michelle Gellar- Buffy, Scooby-Doo), an american nurse living and working in Tokyo is exposed to a supernatural curse, a one that locks a person in a powerful rage before claiming their life and spreading to another victim!
I would give this film 5 stars because of the scary effectiveness and sound effects with the Grudge's voice. Some of you may agree with me that this is the best thriller since 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' and 'Scream Trilogy'. Thankyou for reading this. Make sure you like scary movies and dont get nightmares (definetly) or you will not be going to sleep for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely scary film!, 9 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little sceptical of this film before seeing it as I thought that it was trying to ride on the back of the ring and similar films that have been hits in Japan and then remade for the western audience; however I'm pleased to say that this film did exactly what it said on the tin; scared me!
I must of seen a thousand 'scary' movies and it has to be said that only about 2 or 3 percent of them were actually scary. This is one of those rare releases. It will make you jump, and it will probably dissuade you from going downstairs in the dark for a late night cup of cocoa!
The cast play out the film well, but as with most horrors, there's little chance of any oscars being thrown their way. Sarah Michelle Gellar (Buffy, IKWYD Last Summer, Scooby Doo) plays Karen, an exchange student who volunteers at a care centre. She gets assigned to a patient whose normal carer has not turned up for work that day. Once she gets to the house of the patient she finds the patient collapsed on the floor, with the place looking a tip. Her life will never be the same again! Ted Raimi (whose been in everything from Evil Dead to Candyman to Wishmaster to the Spiderman movies) plays a rather geeky manager, he appears to be the manager of the care center where Karen works. He doesn't add much to this movie and it seems as though he was an afterthought in the writer or directors mind...he's not so convincing as the other characters which include Jason Behr (from the TV series 'Roswell') as Karen's boyfriend Doug, and William Mapother (Minority Report, Vanilla Sky, Swordfish, Mission Impossible II) as Matthew Williams.
The whole movie shifts about in time, we start at one point, then at the end of that scene, we switch to a few days earlier, then we switch to another time, then another time...but it's not done in a complicated 'Donnie Darko' way, it's easy enough to follow the movie.
If you're looking for a thought provoking, intellectual movie, this isn't for you.
If you're looking for a horror that's got plenty of irony, sarcasm and wit in it...this film also isn't for you.
This film is for those that just want plain horror and something to make you and your mates jump!
I enjoyed this movie, it was refreshing to find a horror movie that did it's job. :)
Baz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 28 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
Following the recent and continuing trend of Japanese horror movies getting the Hollywood treatment, Takashi Shimizu's The Grudge is easily the best of the lot. Once again the director remakes his own film, but the difference here is that the story now involves an American couple who live in Japan. With many more shocks, and the constant threatening aura, The Grudge is vastly superior to The Ring and The Ring 2(American), and is equally as good as the original Ju-On movie.

Sarah Michell Gellar once again appears on the big screen in a role different from the characters she has played in the past. She stars as a foreign social working student along with her boyfriend played by Jason Behr. When she covers for a friend who has not turned up for work, she visits a house in Tokyo. There she meets an old woman who is nearly comatose, and on further investigation she sees that the house is haunted and cursed, and she is attacked. We are then shown small episodes involving the past occupants of the house and see that anyone who lives there inevitably is killed by the terrifying plague inside the house. As the story goes on the reason for the curse is explained, and Karen (Gellar) tries to save herself.

Ju-On already ranks as one of the scariest movies ever made, and The Grudge is a worthy attempt which has some pluses and minuses over the original. The story is certainly easier to follow and more is explained, although it refuses to be told in a linear fashion. This adds to the uneasiness we feel while watching it, but is less confusing than the previous version. The scene here involving the ghost chasing one victim around an office building is better than the original, though the subsequent 'bed' moment is not as good. The section involving the school girls was one of the best scenes in the original, but it has been removed, (the time skipping in that part is confusing the first time round) but Ted Raimi's final scene makes up for this. The soundtrack is as good as the original, that gargling noise is especially effective in the cinema. Every shock, even while some are predictable, is good and it is relentless in its search for another scare.

Although most of the actors have small parts and there is not really a lead part for most of the film, everyone performs well. Gellar proves she can perform on the big screen, and can be the weak, scared girl rather than Buffy. Pullman is also good, and although his part in the first few minutes got laughter from the audience, he redeems himself. The actors from the original movie do well, and Raimi is very good too, providing some comedy moments, putting us into a false sense of security. Forget about this being a remake- this is how all horror movies should be done; we are always aware that something is going to happen, waiting for the next fright, the atmosphere is relentless, and the scares are real scares, not cheap imitations.

The DVD has a decent commentary and featurette, but not much else. At around 5 pounds at time of writing, you can't go wrong. A must for horror fans with open minds. Probably not for the weak hearted, or those who like their stories to be told in a linear fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 2 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
A remake of the Japanese horror hit JU-ON (widely considered to be one of the scariest movies ever made), THE GRUDGE is helmed by its original director Takeshi Shimizu. Like its predecessor, this Hollywood version of the film takes place in Tokyo, but most of the main characters are American, including Karen (Sarah Michelle Gellar of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER), a young social worker, and her peers. When Karen enters a seemingly abandoned home to look after a mentally disturbed resident, she soon discovers that there's an evil - and very aggressive - presence in the house, and it's lashing out at every person that sets foot inside. Having directed both the original JU-ON and its sequel in Japan, Shimizu was very familiar with his own tale of terror by the time he directed its 2004 incarnation. Using many of the key actors from the previous films (including Takako Fuji and Yuya Ozeki who have unforgettable roles), Shimizu recreates the story with the added advantage of a Hollywood budget (acquired with the help of producer Sam Raimi of SPIDER-MAN fame, who is also a noted horror-movie director). As with many Japanese horror films (particularly the original RING, which strongly influences this movie), THE GRUDGE relies on atmosphere over plot, resulting a series of utterly chilling moments that will leave viewers fascinated and unbelievably frightened.
sarah has done it again
watch this!
ABSOLUTE BRILLIANCE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, Horror, 6 Oct. 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
This is not your usual Horror film, filled with blood and violence. This takes me back to the time where you sat in a dark theater. When you and your date would jump at the same time. And you would see some people covering their eyes, so as not to jump the next time.

Yes this movie is a supernatural tale. And it is scary. There is more then one part that will make you jump. And that is what I like about this movie. It can scare you without all the unnecessary violence and blood. The level of expectation is kept up throughout the whole movie. It kept my suspense level almost peaked the entire movie.

The story is well written. It gives you time to think. And the horror seems to never end. Just keeps coming and coming...it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I would recommend watching this in a dark room with friends. Those who scream and jump will just add to the suspense for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather scary, 24 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
There is something about Japanese horror movies that are just so much scarier than anything else.
Last night I watched the American version of the Grudge. It is based in Japan and does have some Japanese actors and although it is aimed at an American audience it still holds on to the Japanese style.
The film stars Sarah Michelle Gellar who has moved to Japan with her boyfriend. As part of her course she has to do volunteer care work and gets assigned to fill in for a missing care worker for a day. The moment she enters the house of the woman she must look after, she knows that something is wrong.
The film follows in a disorderly manner the story and history of the house and its residents. What happened to them and why there are still terrible things happening now. It plays on an old Japanese ghost myth that if a person is killed in great anger or emotion they hold on to that in death only to replay it every single day. Which his what is happening in the haunted house of the Grudge movie.
Also, any film with scary little children in is going to be bone chilling. Remember Sixth Sense?
If you like the Japanese horror movie genre or like any horror movies then this is for you. But don't watch it before you go to bed. Day light is essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 8 May 2006
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot understand the poor ratings this film has received - it's truly frightening! It is not full of over-the-top SFX, it is not gory and it is not graphically brutal. If that's your kind of horror film, then you best look elsewhere.

This film is pared down and as a result is downright scary. A myth forms the premise of the story which is not short on thrills. The chap who directed this (his name escapes me) artfully keeps you jumping out of your skin with some constancy. You may think 'oh, I'm not falling for that again' but, yes, you do. Time and time again.

The use of gore in so many horror films serves as a cue to be scared. The absence of any here means you rely very much on your own imagination to build tension which bolsters the shocks Shimizu (looked it up) has in store.

If you want something to chill you to your marrow, then you will enjoy this film (in as much as anyone can enjoy being utterly terrified).

I've not seen the Japanese version so I cannot make any comparisons. However, I have seen this film and I can say it's a cleverly well made horror film and I would like to see more of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary and convincing remake, 24 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
American remakes tend to be disasters, with the new crew not quite understanding what it was about the original that made it an international hit in the first place. What I liked about this remake was that it is set in Tokyo and has most of the same actors, sets and scenes. The difference is that the main cast have been replaced by American starts, but is otherwise the same film.

"Why bother?" you might ask, but I think it works well as a film set in the Tokyo ex-pat community. Perhaps the sense of dread and terror is heightened by the characters being in a foreign land.

If you enjoyed the Japanese Ring, Dark Water and Ju-on, there is no reason why you would not like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 3 Dec. 2008
By 
Victoria Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
When I decided to watch this film I thought I was going to be let down, having already seen the original Japanese version. I was so wrong. This might have been Americanised but I liked the fact that it was still set in Japan and used Japanese actors as well as American ones.

The whole film was set in suspense. The music, the cameras, the shadows, the noises, the storyline, everything about it worked so well. I jumped out of my skin on more than one occasion. I liked the fact that the film itself wasn't linear. There wasn't a beginning a middle and an end. It sounds confusing but it wasn't. It all fitted into place and the film made you think about things, rather than just watching it. At some points I was like "What, I don't get it." But a few minutes later everything made perfect sense.

I like horror films that don't have a lot of blood and gore and action in them. I love suspense and the feeling of knowing something is there but not seeing it. It's all about the feelings and that people can sense something is wrong. That's what I think makes a perfect horror film/story.

I was gripped by fear throughout. A brilliant film which is just as good as the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Grudge, same as the original and equal the fright, 6 Jan. 2005
By 
FadingLight (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grudge, The [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw this film on the big screen, some scenes made me jump. It is exactly like the film except better special effects and it got Sarah Michelle Gellar. Good thing about this film is it is directed by Takashi Shimizu who did the original film, so no changes were made. The creeking sound that the girl does is quite freeky and the lift scene where you keep seeing the kid looking through the glass of the lift going up. For those of you who like the original, you will like this one. It not disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grudge [Blu-ray] [US Import]
£10.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews