Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Thick Of The Thick Of It
I came in a little late to the The Thick Of It party, so these two specials were my first experience of the show, and I was immediately hooked - it really is as good as you may have heard!

Though watching the first series would help with knowledge of the main players, the key characters introduce themselves very effectively, and a whole raft of new characters...
Published on 2 May 2009 by JH Dickinson

versus
1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TO THICK FOR ME.
IT DID NOT REGISTER FOR ME,MAYBE BECAUSE I'M FROM THE USA,I DON'T KNOW,SHAKY CAMERA WORK HARD TO PICK UP WHAT WAS BEING SAID,A DUD FOR ME.
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by stephen 1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Thick Of The Thick Of It, 2 May 2009
By 
JH Dickinson (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I came in a little late to the The Thick Of It party, so these two specials were my first experience of the show, and I was immediately hooked - it really is as good as you may have heard!

Though watching the first series would help with knowledge of the main players, the key characters introduce themselves very effectively, and a whole raft of new characters helps to fill out the political spectrum after the departure of Chris Langham's Hugh Abbot MP. The introduction of the backward and foppish Opposition, and their PR officer's fight to bring them into the 21st century, is a joy to behold. Also featured is the grooming of a Junior Minister for Immigration, Ben Swain, advisor Olly Reeder's hopeless relationship with a member of the Opposition, and the infamous Malcolm Tucker fighting tooth and claw (does he know any other way?) for his political career with the resignation of the PM.

The writing in this series is terrific, and there isn't a single dud character, from the public-schooled opposition minister Peter Mannion to Tucker's even more vicious and foul-mouthed pitbull sidekick Jamie MacDonald.

These are two fantastic episodes which are a welcome addition to my DVD shelf - I can't wait for series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special is the word!, 31 Mar 2009
By 
S.M. Gidley (Sidmouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I wonder if the BBC is releasing this to coincide with the release of In The Loop?! After all, they were shown on TV about 18 months ago and could quite easily have followed up or, even better, been on the original The Thick of It DVD (which is only six half-hour episodes).

Cynicism aside, these two are well worth having and are by far the funniest programmes to come out of the BBC in many a long year. Despite the absence of Chris Langham (for obvious reasons) there if no drop in quality and the focus switches in the first episode, The Rise of the Nutters, to the reluctant modernisation of Peter Mannion, Hugh Abbot's opposite number in the Conservative Party, and in the second, Spinners and Losers, to the machinations of various factions when the PM says his going to stand down.

Despite the brilliance of everyone in this, it is, of course, Peter Capaldi, who stands out as Malcolm Tucker, a character who takes swearing to new heights. In these episodes Capaldi's performance makes Tucker into his own perfect comic creation rather than having people wonder if he's just impersonating Alistair Campbell. Roger Allan is also superb as Peter Mannion as is Vincent Franklin as Stewart Pearson, the Tories' finger-on-the-pulse PR guru ("Are you an Ameri-can, Peter, or an Ameri-can't?").

Well written, fantastically acted, dangerously funny, this is as quotable as it gets. If you don't find it hilarious, you probably need help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent comedy!, 3 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you are a fan of comedy that is quick witted and intelligent, then this dvd is a must-buy. Some of the lines are razor-sharp and are guaranteed to have you laughing out loud. One word of warning - if you are easily offended by a lot of swearing, then avoid! If, like me, this doesn't bother you, then I strongly recommend this fabulous dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thick Of It:Specials are special!, 16 Sep 2009
By 
John Fowler "swanstoon" (Charlton,Vic.Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD package contains both post-Chris Langham 'Specials' and both episodes are special in that some of the lesser lights of The Thick Of It cast now take centre stage.

The first disc contains 'The Rise Of The Nutters' in which the Opposition are the focus along with some Government back room staff and ministerial wannabes.If you can cope with the strong language there are some genuine laugh out loud moments here and even without Chris Langham,who played the inept Hugh Abbott in Seasons 1 and 2,this first 'special' has much to commend it.

The second disc features 'Spinners and Losers' which finds Malcolm Tucker,played with ferocious intensity by Peter Capaldi,on the back foot fighting for his political life.While not having the same cleverness as 'The Rise Of The Nutters',this second 'special' does benefit from repeated viewings.

On the whole these DVDs will compliment your collection,particularly if you enjoyed Seasons One and Two as they don't suffer too much from Chris Langham's absence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 19 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
There's no need to introduce the series (perfect!) but I would like to say thanks for the subtitles (I think in this case it's really important for non-native speakers!). You can also choose Audio Description and Commentary.

The first disc (The Rise of the Nutters) contains also:

- Deleted Scenes
- Production Stills Gallery
- Newsnight - Paxman (Ben Swain-interview)

The second disc (Spinners and Losers) contains:

- Opposition extra
- Deleted Scenes
- Behind the Scenes Gallery
- Production Stills Gallery
- Newsnight - Crick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Office' Meets 'Yes Priminister', 16 Mar 2010
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Fantastic television. I have only just discovered 'The Thick of It' after watching the movie spin-off 'In The Loop' and the television version is even funnier. The language may be too strong for some of the more timid and old fashioned viewers; but that would be a huge shame if you let that get in the way of enjoying some of the best acting, writing and wittiest television comedy's of our time.

The 'Specials' DVD is certainly the best episodes I have seen yet; better than the first two series anyway (have not seen the 3rd as yet). The insanely aggressive Scotish characters of Malcolmn Tucker and Jamie McDonald; are a joy to behold and turn inventive swearing into an art-form.

The best television comedy I have witnessed in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best show ever, 31 Dec 2009
By 
M. Carney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Sharp writing, wonderful acting particularly by Capaldi who can run through a huge range of emotion in seconds and real insight into the way power and personality interact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy classic, 9 July 2010
By 
Mr. J. Fuller "J Fuller" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Every now and then you stumble across something on DVD that has passed under the radar. It rings vague bells but you've missed the hype, if there was any, and you take a punt. The Thick of It is a an assault of the senses, cleverly written with political plotting and scheming interwoven brilliantly. The characters all have their appeal, the snappy dialogue repeatedly cracks you round the chops with great gags or in Malcolm Tucker's case, a blitzkrieg of foul language which seems as appropriate as it does unrelenting. These 'Specials' see Tucker fighting for his future after the PM's resignation leaves a power vacuum and plenty of wriggle room for the likes of Malcolm, Olly and Jamie. Brilliant stuff....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 4 April 2010
By 
Ms. M. K. Irving "max" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm not sure how I managed to miss these when they were on the TV, but I did. Sheer brilliance from Armando & The Thick of It team. It will be a crime if they don't make a 4th series (IMHO). Endlessly watchable & quotable (except to those offended by very colourful language!) If you haven't seen it "In The Loop" is a must too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly funny, 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
So well played by every actor involved, this has to be one of the funniest comedies not just of recent years, but ever. Healthily heaping masses of cynicism on politics (probably accurately) the speacials allow us the first insight into the Opposition, showing them to be just as bewildered, caustic and petty as the government. Peter Capaldi has pretty much made the show his vehicle now (and probably deserves it too with such a great performance), but the other characters have their monets too. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006]
The Thick of It: Specials [DVD] [2006] by Armando Iannucci (DVD - 2009)
£6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews