Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's occurring?
This Gavin & Stacey special was shown on BBC1 on Christmas Eve 2008. The first two series were on BBC3 and then repeated on BBC1 as it had become so popular. I just the wish BBC had had the courage to screen this on Christmas Day instead of the dismal special of The Royle Family.

This special is based around the Shipmans and the Wests all having Christmas Day...
Published on 15 Jan 2009 by Debra from Hull

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seasonal joy and pain
Gavin and stacey,the xmas special ,is a one hour treat to add to the collection and while it isnt as good as what came before i still think they is much to celebrate and ponder here.
This feature length episode deals with the two main families in the show and the others spending xmas eve and day with the shipman family and it is far from plain sailing,one fine...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's occurring?, 15 Jan 2009
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
This Gavin & Stacey special was shown on BBC1 on Christmas Eve 2008. The first two series were on BBC3 and then repeated on BBC1 as it had become so popular. I just the wish BBC had had the courage to screen this on Christmas Day instead of the dismal special of The Royle Family.

This special is based around the Shipmans and the Wests all having Christmas Day in Essex. It's an hour long instead of 30 minutes but doesn't flag at all. All the regulars are here - this is a real ensemble comedy. We get to see Nessa's bath routine, Uncle Bryn enthusing about Mint Baileys, Mick loving his turkey and Pete and Dawn having another row! Oh, and Gavin & Stacey drop a bombshell about their future plans!
For me however the highlight was Smithy and the relationship with his son Neil (and Dave's part in his life). There is a scene that will really tug at your heart strings and is wonderfully underplayed and directed.

The DVD 'extra' is the documentary about the making of the episode, "12 Days of Christmas".

This would make a wonderful Christmas present for yourself and anyone else that appreciates great comedy. Lush!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait- it shone like a Christmassy star!, 15 Jan 2009
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Christmas specials must be hard to live up to after the runaway success of two brilliant series. However, James Corden and Ruth Jones have pulled it off. Every character gets great lines, with the writers showing a complete lack of vanity and letting everyone shine.

Highlights include Nessa as Santa ("Oh Oh Oh!"), Dave Coaches stopping at an arcade to play a driving game to "have a break from all the driving", Uncle Bryn's astonishment and delight at Mint Baileys, Gavin's Dad asking when Eastenders was on (Larry Lamb is of course, Archie Mitchell in Eastenders at the moment), the whole room breaking into Frank Butcher impressions, Nessa giving everybody a single Cadburys celebration for Christmas, Stacey and Ness asking if Russell Brand gives them a mention in "Booky Wook" (Gavin's face is a picture), Mick's comedy ears whilst in bed with Pamela...the list is endless.

With a total lack of sentimental music or canned laughter, the comedy is actually stronger for its subtlety and we have already watched it four times and found new stuff to laugh at.

However, with all good comedies, there is a heart at the centre of it, and with just a few awkward silences and uncharacteristic speechlessness from Smithy, the pain of watching another man raise his child is all too poignant. Ruth Jones plays Nessa with integrity too, despite her hard edges, and can do more with those expressive black rimmed eyes than pages of a script could in lesser hands. You get the feeling Nessa can see right into Smithy.

All in, every Christmas ingredient is here: the drunkenness, the rows, the turkey recipe, the banter, the silly hats, the family announcements, and damn it, they even end with a song, in a way that makes it heartwarming rather than forced.

A lot of loose ends are thrown up and there's plenty here for a new series. I believe Ruth and James have finally been persuaded and as a fan, I am happy it's in such reliable hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More, please, 1 Nov 2009
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
The only negative thought I had while watching this was "This may be the last ever" and that is too sad to contemplate.

If you are wondering whether or not to buy this, I advise you to watch a substantial number of previous episodes first so that you become familiar with the characters and get to know the running jokes, otherwise omelettes and fishing trips (for example) will leave you cold.

Beautiful piece of writing, top class acting. Oh please make another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy Classic., 10 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Christmas Special that you can watch over and over again throughout the year.At every viewing there is always something new. The extra features are excellent and give a real insight into Ruth Jones and James Corden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GAVIN & STACEY A BIG HIT WITH THE BRITS IN CANADA, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Rachelccullough (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the show while I was in Britain for a visit and just loved it I starting telling people over here about the show but I thought it was better to show them so I purchased a copy, you would not beleive the response it has been getting, it has been passed around all my family & friends and their family & friends and it is a big hit the Brits over here, some Canadians really dont get the humor but when we explain it then they watch again and are now fans. So keep making this show because we all need a little ,romance and humor in our lives., and this show has it ALL
GREAT WORK GUYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gavin & Stacey Christmas Special, 21 Aug 2009
By 
A. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Stunning work, love every minute spent with the stars, I could watch them all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well lush!, 3 Jun 2009
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant Christmas Special. Often when a 30 minute show is stretched to a feature length, the plot is bizarre and the characters seem out of place, but not with the wonderful Gavin and Stacey. All your favourites are back and the script is as sharp and laugh-out-loud funny as ever. My favourite part is Ness playing Santa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gavin & stacey xmas special, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Karen Greer "fang" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Just like series 1 & 2 this xmas special is special!! The characters are just so likable. Wish it went for longer!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gavin and Stacey 2008 xmas special, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Gavin and Stacey, as usual fantastically funny. Each time you watch an episode you learn to love the cast more. What a shame that they are not making another series, although a 2010 xmas special is expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy, 12 May 2010
By 
P J ROBERTS (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
This the Christmas special is an excellent DVD of a very popular comedy. Especialy the section dealing with the making of the program aptly titled "The 12 Days of Christmas" A very well done to the writers and all the actors involved. So for anyone who likes "Gavin and Stacey", The "Christmas Special" is not just for christmas but for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD]
Gavin & Stacey - Christmas Special [DVD] by Ruth Jones (DVD - 2009)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews