Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Contemporary Metal
I am a middle-aged wolf, who has been through the rise of Metallica in the 1980s, along with thrash and speed metal in the UK, US, and Germany. 5FDP came to my attention as an amazon recommendation. I usually shy away from new metal bands because I am set in my metal ways, I suppose. But I checked the band on You Tube and was impressed enough to buy the first two albums...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by F. Camilleri

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the bunch
This album in my opinion is the best offering from FFDP. It is brutal and there are some beautiful choruses and lyrics hidden away on there!
Definitely worth a buy! If you were to buy one of their albums this would be the one to go for!
Published 16 months ago by Liam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good present, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
Received on time, value for money and in good condition with adequate packaging to protect the casing. Received well for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the bunch, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
This album in my opinion is the best offering from FFDP. It is brutal and there are some beautiful choruses and lyrics hidden away on there!
Definitely worth a buy! If you were to buy one of their albums this would be the one to go for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't underestimate, 5 April 2011
By 
Robin Solsjö Höglund (Skellefteå, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
First I'd like to point out that this is the best and most comprehensive version of the album I've come across (that's not in a fancy deluxe packaging, that is). Since there's oddly no tracklisting on the product page, the tracks are as follows: Ashes, The Way Of The Fist, Salvation, The Bleeding, A Place To Die, The Devil's Own, White Knuckles, Never Enough, Stranger Than Fiction, Can't Heal You, Death Before Dishonor, Meet The Monster (typoed as "Meet The ter" on the back cover), From Out Of Nowhere and The Devil's Own (Live). With fourteen tracks, this is the version I'd recommend.

My appreciation for FFDP was a curious thing. I'd heard a shorter ten or twelve-track version of this album previously and enjoyed it briefly. It was an alright album, but didn't rock my world. A lot of people have drawn parallells to Slipknot and Pantera, but I was getting more of a Hatebreed-vibe for some reason. When the band's second album War Is The Answer came along, I was blown away by it. A fantastic cohesive experience with both the strength to kick your a**, the subtlety to move you and the fun energy of a new metal band. That led to me (thankfully) reevaluating their first album in this fourteen track-version, and now there's no doubt; this is a really awesome debut, even if their second album is still my favourite.

The first three songs will kick you in the teeth, plenty of attack even if the melodic choruses take some of the edge off. Especially "Ashes" is a good track to play for the uninitiated. "The Bleeding" shows the more mellow side, with a beautiful intro that grows into a solid song. But the real gems of this album are "The Devil's Own" (a lamentful and earnest chorus that's just angsty enough without being whiny), "Stranger Than Fiction" (a really subtle intro explodes into a surprisingly great riffing headbanger), "Can't Heal You" (Ivan Moody's voice grips you emotionally within the first ten seconds, and rocks the rest out without limits) and "Death Before Dishonor" (a slightly slower song with almost Japanese samurai-vibes). "Never Enough" is also really decent, and the rest is pretty listenable (even if it lacks quite the same emotional impact). I'm more of a death metal-guy, but FFDP have cemented themselves as a strong and fun band with plenty of power in just two years time. Check them out if you're into Pantera, Slipknot, Hatebreed or similar acts, and be sure not to miss out on War Is The Answer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review from a Yank, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
Ordered this from the US and loved it before I even put it in the stereo. No stupid security tape meant this was easy to open. Popped it into the stereo and it didn't disappoint. Awesome record start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars don't think, just buy...., 8 Dec 2009
By 
Raz (Algarve, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
stumbled across one of their tracks and recognised the voice as the singer from Motograter, a band i really enjoyed but disappeared after their dubut album, so decided to give this a go, and so glad that i did..... it really is fantastic and i'd recommend it to anybody!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Crafted Album, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
Five Finger Death Punch mix very heaviest bits of metalcore with the accessibility of commercial metal; with heavy palm muted riffs, storming double kicks and both ultra harsh and ultra melodic vocals. They also have a great like of and strong talent for guitar solos.

Its difficult to describe the mix of heavy and melodic styles, the best example I can think of is that if Slipknot's 'Volume 3' and 'All Hope is Gone,' albums were a genre of their own, that is the genre Five Finger Death Punch would belong to; however it can be all too easy to compare surface similarities with Trivium or Pantera and that doesn't give this creative and talent band the credit they deserve.

The Five Finger Death Punch formula works although you could easily find it distasteful if you have a problem with Killswitch Engage or Trivum's more melodic commercial moments. The album is chocked full of highlights, the previously mentioned opening three songs, The enjoyable lead single `The Bleeding,' the riff heavy `White Knuckles,' and the brilliant closer `Meet The Monster.'

Opener 'Ashes,' has an absolutely fantastic vocal pattern, some great drum work and a multitude of catchy riffs then a great uplifting chorus and some fantastic lead guitar work. 'The Way of The Fist,' is no different, the brutal metal riffs and speedy double kicks, a great breakdown and then a catchy radio friendly chorus too, the same goes for `Salvation,' that makes for an awesome three songs to open an album with.

The band are all very talented musicians, with Ivan Moody's mix of vocal styles and Zoltan Bathory's lead guitar work standing out in particular. The band have hit upon a very interesting place in metal between the heavier side and the more commercial radio friendly side; they get all the accessibility but retain the credit and attitude of the heavier side a perfect place to be from a business point of view. It wouldn't surprise me at all if Five Finger Death Punch got absolutely massive, they've got all the right ingredients and the talent to back it up.

Overall; If you like heavy songs full of double kick drum flailing, chugging heavy riffs, numerous guitar solos and the odd radio ballad then you should definitely give Five Finger Death Punch a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but no Pantera, 17 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Way Of The Fist (Audio CD)
A.J Dicken....How wrong you are. Although this is a very good album, there's no denying that and they may have a Pantera esk sound, BUT there is no way on Earth they are twice as good as Pantera. Good guitar work, oh yes but you are comparing to DIMEBAG and saying its better? Shame on you! Wash out your mouth!

Fantastic rifage, brutal aggresion with just the right mix. A very good buy for any Trivium/Pantera fans. This is how New Metal should be done so take notes.

As for the name......?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Sep 2007
By 
Liam Sneddon "KroniK" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Way of the Fist (Audio CD)
The album is amazing, the band is amazing, their contribution to the newage metal scene is - yep, you guessed it - amazing!!

If you like Pantera, Poisonblack, Breaking Benjamin, Dark Tranquility or Trivium, 5.F.D.P combines all of the best of those bands - and this is a must have for you!!

I would definitely recommend Five Finger Death Punch to anyone that likes obvious metal music, and is looking for that slight difference that makes their music scene more unique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daft name - good album, 26 May 2009
By 
N. A. Davies (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Way of the Fist (Audio CD)
Unlike some reviewers here, I dont think that their name is that great, they are much more intelligent than the 'violent' name suggests. If you are a lover of old school metal (think Master of Puppets or Ride the lightening - and if you have to ask who the artist of these albums are, you wont like this album...) crossed with the newer upstarts like Slipknot youre kind of in the right area.
To be honest, this is better than Slipknot, while the masked group hide their defficiences behind masks, and a wall of noise, FFDP write well constucted songs. Sure there's a lot of shouting, and swearing, but each song holds something different - a great rif - strong chorus, etc. It's all very good stuff, and the acoutic version of The Bleeding is quite simply stunning. Next album, fellas, should be a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but lacking the extra "something", 11 Sep 2007
By 
Matthew Jelley (Geelong, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Way of the Fist (Audio CD)
This cd does kick your ass with some very heavy riffage and vocals, also there are some quite impressive guitar solos. the drumming and vocals are very impressive aswell. only problems are that there doesnt seem to be that x factor which rises this album above others, and the annoying super reverb on all the lead guitar doesnt sound too great. i hope this band continues on anyway as it is something new in the music world that has some quality at least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way Of The Fist
The Way Of The Fist by Five Finger Death Punch (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews