Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TP-Link TG-3468 works on Windows 2008 R2 x64
Installed it in my DELL Power edge T110. The Server found it and assigned drivers and worked by magic without me lifting a finger. All this in Windows 2008 R2 x64. I was very apprehensive if it would work in W2k8 R2 x64. Even TP-Link web site would say if it would work in W2k8 R2 x64. It is now confirmed this NIC (TP-Link TG-3468) works in W2K8 R2.
Published on 25 May 2011 by Moshud

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works but you need a fast PC to get full Gb speeds
This card does indeed work well if you have no intention of going for full gigabit speeds and performance without good fast CPU.

The issue is that this card only has limited support for Jumbo Frames, Judging from the Drivers it supports 2k,3k and 4k. though i did try 3k and 4k frames gave me very slow throughput less than 2mb/s so they obviously wern't working...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Nick_t


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TP-Link TG-3468 works on Windows 2008 R2 x64, 25 May 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
Installed it in my DELL Power edge T110. The Server found it and assigned drivers and worked by magic without me lifting a finger. All this in Windows 2008 R2 x64. I was very apprehensive if it would work in W2k8 R2 x64. Even TP-Link web site would say if it would work in W2k8 R2 x64. It is now confirmed this NIC (TP-Link TG-3468) works in W2K8 R2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and (almost) furious, 14 Jun 2011
By 
John Bradshaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
I've got loads of gigabit cards lying around, from branded makes that lasted a few months to my last one that became erratic after 3 months and kept losing connection - probably due to the June temperature rise.

This one, cheap though it is, was the easiest to install. In Windows 7 64 bit, you just put in the mini PCI express slot, switch on the PC and Windows automatically downloads a microsoft realtek 64 bit driver from March 2011 - as oppose to old 2009 driver that is packaged with this item. Although the drivers do cover linux 2.4, 2.6, NDIS2, Novel netware client and server, W7 (32/64 bit) W2000, Vista 32-64 bit and XP.

It has a boot rom that adds a Shift-F10 option to your PC startup (before the OS boots) to allow a choice of ptotocol (RPL, PXE) and the Boot Order (Int 19h, 18H, PNP or disable). It has a proper wake-on-lan and supports jumbo frames 4 MTU. You can edit all this on the normal Windows control panel - devices - network card - properties - driver dialog box. But everything, apart from jumbo frames is auto-negotiated anyway. So you don't need to touch anything or even understand any of that - as it works out of the box.

I got speeds of around 30MB/s across my gigabit network (what's that, about 240mbps?), which is fine for shifing large files to the server.

The Maximum Packet size for Jumbo frames on this card is 4K MTU (not the 9K MTU of slightly more expensive ones - so if you've got a lightening fast BUS and SATA III disk then you might need 9 MTU)

Not had any problems with it - - and even if I did, I wouldn't care at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Profile Bracket is NOW included!!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
For those like me that thought this would include a low profile bracket - it doesn't! even though in the US TP-Link include a bracket they don't here in the UK. Thankfully the UK TP-Link office was very helpful and sent me one free of charge when I emailed their UK support support.uk@tp-link.com They probably won't thank me for posting this but they should have included the bracket in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin...., 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
Great value for money card.

Installed two of these cards onto my PC and they were automatically detected by Windows 7. Running at gigabit speeds on my home network without any issues.

Great buy....

TP-Link TG-3468 - Network adapter - PCI Express x1 - Ethernet, Fast Ethernet, Gigabit Ethernet - 10Base-T, 100Base-TX, 1000Base-T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheap pci express card that works in ubuntu, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
Realtek based pci express card that works in ubuntu flawlessly.
I would recommend it and you can safely combine 2 of them to increase bandwidth on e.g. nas projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well with Ubuntu, 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
The card works well under Ubuntu Linux. Small and a good price. No special drivers under 12.04, just fit it and you're away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works but you need a fast PC to get full Gb speeds, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
This card does indeed work well if you have no intention of going for full gigabit speeds and performance without good fast CPU.

The issue is that this card only has limited support for Jumbo Frames, Judging from the Drivers it supports 2k,3k and 4k. though i did try 3k and 4k frames gave me very slow throughput less than 2mb/s so they obviously wern't working very well.
The regular MTU of 1500 works ok though but it does mean that you will get alot of cpu usage to get anywhere near full gigabit speeds. perfectly fine for that extra speed above 100mbit/s you might encounter with ever faster internet connections.
It's a shame because most other brands if this card using the same realtek 8168 chipset support and work well with at least 7k frames( like my old PCI card this ones is replacing), most work with 9k frames, which this card does not. This card also lacks modern Ethernet power saving features too.

MY old PCI card I was able to get a solid 100+MB/s accoss the network, now not so solid 50-80MB/s.

It also works fine in Debian but only with a standard 1500 MTU too which is handy yet disappointing because there is currently no working driver for the Atheros 8151 onboard lan chip on many new motherboards (including mine) with the current (at time of writhing) latest stable Debian squeese kernal. Still miles better than 100mbit.

The bottom line is, If you know what Jumbo Frames are and want to use them this card is not for you. If you have a good PC from the last 5 years you probably have something better onboard anyway unless that failed or doesn't work with your Linux distribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent add-on, 13 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
Having read most of the reviews for this card, I decided to go with the majority and bought one. Received in the post (with no unnecessary packaging) after a couple of days, under the free postage option. Installing the card took no time at all - backplate out, card in. Booted up XP Home, it found the new device and then, when it said 'If this device came with a CD - insert now' I did. XP found the driver, installed it, and pronounced my new device ready for use. A look in 'Network Connections' confirmed this. I went into Device Manager and uninstalled the failed on-board ethernet port (which I had not been able to do before the new card was fitted).
The 'Auto-Negotiation' part of the card is what threw some of the reviewers, I think. One bright reviewer flagged the ability to interrupt the boot-up and configure the card to your own preference, which should solve the 'it wouldn't do anything' problem.
Anyway, my personal preference is not to be permanently on line. Pasting a shortcut to the 'Local Area Connection' in 'Network Connections' onto the 'Quick Start' bar, gave me the control I want. Left click the shortcut icon to connect to the network/internet, right click on the icon and choose 'disable' to disconnect - what could be simpler! Open the Local Area Network Connection properties and tick the 'show icon in the task bar when connected' and you can easily see your current status at a glance.

The ethernet card performed, and still does, superbly - and my wife was happy again. After all, the PC is hers. Mine runs Win7, with the same connection control in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Problems, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
Worked fine with Windows Server 2011 and Windows 7 64bit. Drivers downloaded from Windows update and gives the full 1000Mbps speed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple to install, works a treat, 1 Jun 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TG-3468 Gigabit PCI Express Network Adapter (Personal Computers)
The TG-3468 Gigabit Ethernet card was easily installed in the PCI Express 1-channel slot in my old Dell Dimension 3100. It has increased the wired throughput via the gigabit router to the RAID array and the Media Server making file transfers significantly quicker.

The install was quick and easy using the supplied mini-CD, and the only extra I had to do was to stop the old motherboard 100/10 Ethernet socket on the Dell from flagging up disconnection. All the relevant status lights on the local gigabit switches etc now indicate a Gigabit connection, but only after I had replaced one of the installed CAT5 cables.

But I am not getting a 10x increase over the previous 100/10 Ethernet which mostly ran at a solid 100Mbits/s on big file transfers, more like a transfer of 250Mbit/s to/from the RAID and 350Mbits/s to/from the Media Server. I assume the limits include the slow old hard drive in the XP Dell and the old motherboard. More after the upgrade to a faster bigger drive and W7 which will be happening in the next few days.

Other reviewers have suggested it might slow down after a few months. I'll report here if it does so.

Addendum. 19th August 2013.

W7 had no problems with the card being installed, it just worked. The figures above have improved slightly to just under 300Mbits/s with the RAID and 400Mbits/s with the Media Server.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews