Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


192 of 211 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your Dad's Sherlock ...
This is really a review for the die-hard Sherlock Holmes fans amongst you: I'm afraid I'm a rampaging Sherlock Holmes purist and a devout worshipper of Jeremy Brett's (definitive?) Holmes. So when I heard Guy Ritchie was tackling Holmes, I wasn't too optimistic at first. However, my fears were misplaced and I ended up enjoying this very stylised, rather cheeky take on...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Brian Flange

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!
Sat down to this think I was going to enjoy it. Found it very hard to get into. Felt special effects, & fighting were just to get certain viewers on board. I'm not one of them. Stopped watching it. Husband fast forwarded it to see end. Gave one star as couldn't give none. The one it got would be for the special effects which didn't do anything for me but technically were...
Published 3 months ago by Kaz Melade


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

192 of 211 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your Dad's Sherlock ..., 12 April 2010
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is really a review for the die-hard Sherlock Holmes fans amongst you: I'm afraid I'm a rampaging Sherlock Holmes purist and a devout worshipper of Jeremy Brett's (definitive?) Holmes. So when I heard Guy Ritchie was tackling Holmes, I wasn't too optimistic at first. However, my fears were misplaced and I ended up enjoying this very stylised, rather cheeky take on Holmes and Watson very much indeed. While it sags a little bit around the middle, Ritchie's film plays for most of its running-time like a Conan Doyle story delivered at very high speed, and it really works. Robert Downey Jr. is maybe not the Holmes you expect but almost everything he does and says comes straight from the original stories, and he does a terrific job of inhabiting the mannerisms and foibles of the greatest fictional detective there has ever been. We get a deeply eccentric and moody but nonetheless commanding and heroic Holmes. As other reviewers note, Jude Law does an excellent job. Too many Holmes adaptations go for laughs and make Watson a stooge, but Jude Law gives us a capable and resourceful Watson who's much more than a sidekick or a buffoon. References to a shadowy criminal mastermind hint at a sequel and I for one can't wait. More like this, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes...its elementary my dear Watson!, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Though this well known phrase is not actually used in the film, Sherlock Holmes continues to be one of the best purchases I have ever made (right up there with the Kurt Geiger boots I bought on sale! Girls, you all know how highly this means I rate the item!) It was an absolutely fantastic DVD and though I have not read any of Arthur Conan Doyle's books, you didn't need to be an afficiando to thoroughly enjoy the storyline. It was gripping, action packed, and above all hilarious. Robert Downey Jnr perfectly delivers an English accent as the detective marvel who uses unconventional methods to uncover and foil the plot of Lord Blackwood, played by a sinsterly excellent Mark Strong. And the romance in the story line? I'm not talking about Holmes' love interest, Irene Adler, but the beautiful 'bromance' between the detective and his refreshingly normal Doctor, played by the fantastic Jude Law. If this film doesn't appear to be your cup of tea, then the line "Would you like to go to Don Giovanni tonight?" Punches him on the nose. "So its a no to the opera then?!" never fails to amuse me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk Sherlock, 24 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Like everyone else in the world, I instantly went cross-eyed at the idea of Guy Ritchie making a Sherlock Holmes movie.

Sure enough, this is not your dad's Sherlock. Or your grandpa's either. "Sherlock Holmes" is a thoroughly eccentric take on the legendary detective -- energetic, action-packed and clever, with more than a hint of steampunk and black magic. It gets kind of silly at times, but Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law keep the story going strong.

As the story opens, a young woman is about to be sacrificed in a black magic ritual by the evil Lord Blackwood (Mark Strong). However, Sherlock Holmes (Downey) and Watson (Law) thwart him just in time for the police to arrive. Three months later, Blackwood is executed -- but not before he tells Holmes that three more people will die, and the world will change.

But then his tomb is broken open... from the inside. And at the same time, Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams) tries to hire Holmes to track down a man who is then found dead in Blackwood's tomb. As Holmes tries to unravel this case, he discovers the existence of a strange upper-crust magical cult, who are slowly being killed off by Blackwood's mysterious powers. Has Sherlock Holmes run up against supernatural forces he cannot explain or fight?

This is not an adaptation of one of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's stories -- this is more a movie that takes the IDEA of Sherlock Holmes and applies it to a big, bombastic, quirky action movie. Ritchie directs the movie with a sharp, kinetic style, and he keeps things from getting too stuffy with lots of fight scenes (including Holmes mapping out every fight in his head before throwing a punch).

His steampunky vision of London has a lot of dark, dripping corners, and Ritchie happily trots Sherlock and Watson down into them -- river boats, Parliament's basement, and grimy rituals down in some catacombs. The movie's biggest problem is that the action sometimes gets silly, such as the massive fight at the shipyard in which Holmes and Watson almost get run over by a ship.

But he balances out all the action with plenty of funny moments (Holmes repeatedly paralyzing poor Gladstone) and witty dialogue ("No girl wants to marry a doctor who can't tell if a man's dead or not!"). This is definitely a movie that loves Holmes at his most eccentric.

The main reason this works so well is because of Downey. He is probably one of the best actors of our age, and he gives Sherlock a bright-eyed, quirky, almost manic energy, as well as a touch of Asperger's (he literally CANNOT understand why Watson would want to get married and retire from crimefighting). You can truly believe that this guy has a brain like a supercomputer.

Law also gives an excellent performance as a young, vital Watson who seems to have a love-hate relationship with Holmes -- they're best friends, but Holmes' eccentricities are driving him nuts. Rachel McAdams gives a solid performance as Holmes' lady thief ex-girlfriend, and Mark Strong is wonderfully, sonorously sinister as the villain, who may or may not be a sorcerer.

"Sherlock Holmes" isn't actually based on any Sherlock Holmes stories, but Guy Ritchie's sharp-edged direction and Downey's quirky performance make it a fun experience. Just try to swallow the sillier action scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes reinvented, Ritchie re-established, 8 July 2010
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Can we hear it for the under-rated Guy Ritchie? Rather like ABBA in the 1970's, it's been embarrassing and pretty 'uncool' for 'serious' film fans to admit that Ritchie is a hugely skilled and witty movie maker. Ritchie, London, Sherlock Holmes, Robert Downey Jr + a big Hollywood budget - what's not to like? Cheer yourself up and see this film. Modern, sharp, witty, fast moving - Victorian London meets James Bond. Superb set design; incredible photography, great script and fab central performances; unpretentious too. Everyone obviously had a complete gas making it and it shows. Good old fashioned movie entertainment. Ritchie is re-established and Holmes reinvented as a terrific modern anti-hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My mind rebels at stagnation, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After watching the trailer for Sherlock Holmes I expected to hate this film. The trailer does not do this film justice at all - it just makes the film come across as trashy and a bit stupid. However, I saw this at the cinema and was completely bowled over! In short it was brilliant. I agree with another reviewer who states that this film suffers when viewed on DVD as you really needed to see it on the big screen to fully appreciate the SFX and the soundtrack doesn't have the same impact when listened to through TV speakers.

I think I was put off the film because the trailer showed a Sherlock Holmes that seemed intolerable. Thanks to all the TV adaptations of Doyle I thought that Holmes (Downey Jr) should be portrayed as a dry, conservative, refined individual, the perfect gentleman. The trailer makes it seem as though the film is pandering to immature teenagers who want to see lots of fight scenes and bravado. Then I realised that I haven't read any Doyle so how did I know how the character is depicted in the books? Anyway Guy Ritchie is more than entitled to play around with the character of Holmes (Watson too) in the name of artistic licence. It seems to me that Ritchie has really provoked and surprised many people with what appears to be an unconventional interpretation of Sherlock Holmes which is good as it might encourage people to read some of the novels and it has shown that he can think outside of the gangster genre.

This film reminds me a bit of the Young Sherlock Holmes because they are both jolly good fun! That's what I love about this adaptation, it just grabs hold of you as soon as it starts and continues to thrill until the closing scene. The opening scene is first class in my opinion. The film just launches straight into the story, no time wasted. I suppose Ritchie's job was half done as soon as he began work on the film as everyone loves mysteries and he had one of the greatest characters in literature at his disposal.

The plot is of course a very clever one. Dastardly Lord Blackwood (Strong) is striking terror into the hearts of Londoners until he is brought to justice but even then he continues to haunt the city's imagination and gets up to all sorts even though he is sentenced to date with the rope. The intrigue revolves around Lord Blackwood but also around 3 seemingly unexplainable deaths that Holmes must get to the bottom of using his skills as a detective and his fists. There are also plenty of spooky things going on in the background that all ultimately link together. The story also deals with the Holmes/Watson (Law) relationship, the Watson/Mary Morstan (Reilly) relationship and the Holmes/Irene Adler (McAdams) relationship. It's all suitably complicated and engaging and magical.

I can't say I paid too much attention to Robert Downey Jr before seeing this but in this movie he really impresses and his English accent is good. He like the rest of the cast seemed to be having a whale of a time making this film, it really shows. He is funny and tough. His portrayal is very appealing. He brings sensitivity to Holmes and importantly he is convincing as a shockingly clever dick. The other cast members also do excellent jobs playing their respective roles. Jude Law seems like an odd choice for Watson and he is not shown to be bumbling or hapless. He is almost though not quite Holmes' equal. He is shown to be street smart, patriotic and a bit of gambler. I think he is outclassed by Robert Downey Jr all along but he is more than capable of being the straight man to Holmes with his wonderfully weird idiosyncrasies. Strong is masterful as a man devoted to evil, a right nasty piece of work with a lovely gravelly voice. McAdams and Reilly aren't really given enough screen time which is a shame as McAdams has a real spark about her and Reilly is a fine intense actress.

One of the biggest stars of this success is the soundtrack. It really gets your heart beating and the tunes stick in your mind. The music is inventive and fits the mood of the film well.

The effects/the sets/costumes are also great, none of it seems lame. It all looks, well, real!

The dialogue is a delight. I believe from a Ritchie interview I saw that every scene contains a line from the novels.

With this movie Ritchie has done much to restore his reputation as a filmmaker to be taken seriously. Sherlock Holmes is fresh and exciting. Oh and the denouement doesn't disappoint either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Sat down to this think I was going to enjoy it. Found it very hard to get into. Felt special effects, & fighting were just to get certain viewers on board. I'm not one of them. Stopped watching it. Husband fast forwarded it to see end. Gave one star as couldn't give none. The one it got would be for the special effects which didn't do anything for me but technically were good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different Holmes, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Diane M. Hellyer (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Don't think of deerstalkers and pipes, this is a different take on Sherlock. But it's a lot of fun and does show the brave side of Conan Doyle's character, not simply the ponderous thinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Excellent film, highly entertaining!

Well worth a purchase if you have not seen it!

Robert Downey Junior is brilliant as Sherlock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll on number two!, 17 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Just a pointer to the amazing quality of the acting in Sherlock Holmes, when I first watched this I didn't realise that Holmes was played by an American (well done on a very convincing accent Downey Jr). I wish I could have seen it twice because this film is so full of banter, actions and beautifully pitched characters that you couldn't possibly catch everything on the first viewing.
Ok, so it's not the traditional image of the famous pair, but having now read the books I can see just how true this film is to the original stories. It jumps between action, the serious and the comedy and has something that everyone can enjoy. There are so many quotes from the books and Holmes and Watson's relationship is played out perfectly by Downey Jr and Law. It might not be your grandparent's idea of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson but it's a fresh view and it's certainly worth the watch, this new action-hero Holmes appealed to both me and my parents. What can I say? Roll on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great movie plenty of action solid cast does excellent job, is Robert Downey jr the best movie Sherlock Holmes to me he is the best.Can recommend highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews