Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Original
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by Adi Shtamberger

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numerous typographic errors in the Kindle edition
This version has not been proofread and contains frequent unsupported characters. You'd have thought someone would have quickly scanned the file before hitting Publish.
Published 17 months ago by Enchirion


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Original, 12 Aug 2003
By 
Adi Shtamberger "AdiTurbo" (Tel Aviv, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and believeable, though a bit Hollywood-streotyped. Self-humour and well-built suspense add to the fun. It was nice to see a children's author choosing characters that are different shades of grey, as in real life, and not all black and white. All in all, for a bit of good, soul-cleansing escapism, a very recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


196 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new edition of the original Artemis Fowl, 5 Nov 2003
By A Customer
If you already own a copy of Artemis Fowl don't be fooled into think this is a different book - its a reprint.
On the other hand if you don't own a copy its a must have. A clever story with enough twists to keep anyone entertained. Artemis uses his intelligence to outwit a legion of fairies but manages to capture something more precious than fairy gold in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Windmills Artemis Fowl, 27 Dec 2003
This is not a new Artemis Fowl title but a new hardback edition by a different publisher - if you already have the first Artemis Fowl then this book is not for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Primary Teacher's Perspective..., 16 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
Another highly successful collection of books that give a new twist to faeries and all things mythical. Except unlike so many others of its kind, this book focuses upon the rather unlikely and unsavoury young aristocrat criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl. On a quest to steal leprechaun gold, he holds a young faery to ransom but gets more than he bargains for as the winged equivalent of the SAS storm his plush mansion.

Eoin Colfer's genius in this series of books is injecting a somewhat tired premise with a new twist. Particularly with this first novel of the long-running series, the reader is given plenty to think about as faeries have jet-propelled wings and mythical creatures are given a gritty and very tangible edge.

There is no doubt that many more readers of various ages will enjoy Artemis Fowl, and like the other modern heavyweights such as Harry Potter, Colfer's books can quite easily be enjoyed by readers of all ages. However, in a school setting the book is most likely aimed for a gifted Year 4 reader and up. Regarding curriculum links, there is potential for some extravagant and rather ambitious science and maths lessons that can link with events in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 20 July 2005
By 
canty (chav land england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Audio CD)
i thought this book was the best i ever read. i enjoyed it because it is a fantasy and it is very exiting all the way through.
it is about a 12 year old anti hero who sets out with evil intetions and ends up a better person. thanks to the help of captain holly short and his body gaurd butler.
i would recomend this book to anyone who can read as it is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl: The best yet!, 20 Oct 2003
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Hardcover)
Artemis Fowl 1 is most definately one of the best books ever written, anyone could tell you that. It has come well and won many awards (including the Whitbread). But the story has been very cleverly written. Artemis himself is genius, his background and history aswell as just his brain.
I would recommmened this book to ANYONE because its only downside is...
um actually I cant remember because... it doesnt have one!!!
And anyone out there who has read it, can you decode the stuff at the bottom of the pages, I just dont get it!
And when you have finished reading it read books 2 and 3(The arctic incident and the eternity code)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop comparing this to Harry Potter!!, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Hardcover)
Having read the majority of reviews on this book people either seem to love it or hate it - there aren't many "in-betweenies!!"
Artemis Fowl is an unusual book from the point of view that Artemis is the bad guy rather than the Hero. I had heard all the hype too and thought that the book would be disappointing. Was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case. The lengthy descriptions we find in the Harry Potter series are not there and the fairy "world" is not as intricately described but the characters do actually all have "character". Each individual has their own personality and it is this, and the banter exchanged between them, that makes this book.
I really enjoyed Artemis Fowl and I don't think it's fair to compare it to Harry Potter simply because it has fantasy elements to it. Artemis will appeal to a teenage audience and I think boys in particular will enjoy it. This book was written with an audience of children in mind - it is not a difficult read and although it may not have the cult appeal amongst adults that Harry Potter has achieved, it will certainly be welcomed amongst children.
Remember this is not another Harry Potter - it is another fantasy story. So whether you like Harry or not, you should try to read this book without any preconceived ideas about it - you might just like it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 18 Feb 2003
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
... Characters names:
The main characters names are Artemis Fowl a 12 year old mastermind , then there's a short tempered fairy called Holly Short. Artemis Fowl has a body quard called Butler a gigantic man that always carries highly explosive weapons. Hollys side there's a ceneter called Foaly and Root head commander of LEPrecon unit.
The plot:
When a 12 year old mastermind kidnaps a LEPrecon officer with a short temper and powerful magic. To get a ransome of fairy gold he dosen't realise what he's up against.
I enjoyed this book because of how exciting and magical it was. I couldn't put the book down.
This book was so brillant I coudn't find any major faults in this book exept the names of people and some of the items in this book were hard to pronounce
The verdict:
I would give this book probably nine and a half out of ten. And I'd highly recommend to ages 8-80 this book is brilliant and like all of Colfers other books it's a very exciting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read for all, 7 May 2006
By 
RM Brown "rachmarie1611" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
As an adult, I had never heard of Artemis Fowl until a friend (also an adult) recommended the books to me.....from then I was hooked! Eoin Colfer manages to write Artemis in a way that makes you feel as if you actually know him. Don't let the fact that fairys are involved in the story put you off. Its a fabulous read and will have you hooked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis Fowl, 13 Sep 2005
This review is from: Artemis Fowl (Paperback)
A brilliant book. Exellent for 10-adult, particularly if you are interested in spies, science, technology or great books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artemis Fowl
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer (Hardcover - 2001)
Used & New from: 528.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews