Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing!
This could arguably be the best live recording ever... and now it has been remastered it is even more impressive. Having bought the original 6 track on cassette way back when, and then the re-issue on CD, adding two extra tracks, I was not overly bothered about taking a 3rd hit to get an extra track and a remastered version. However the sound is great and worth the...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by A. C. Peckham

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too late to rectify their mistake
It's a real shame that Ultravox ever thought this was good enough to release. A handful of tracks from a full show. Every song on the DVD has much of the onstage footage replaced by some from the song's video. In the case of Mine for Life, the only non-single, they used footage from the Passing Strangers video. Given that the VHS of The Collection was available shortly...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by Helot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing!, 29 Mar 2009
By 
A. C. Peckham (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
This could arguably be the best live recording ever... and now it has been remastered it is even more impressive. Having bought the original 6 track on cassette way back when, and then the re-issue on CD, adding two extra tracks, I was not overly bothered about taking a 3rd hit to get an extra track and a remastered version. However the sound is great and worth the extra few pounds. What is even more appealling is the DVD footage of the concert that is included. Albeit the quality of the film is, at best, suspect, when compared with much newer, purpose made shows, the live show from '82 is a brilliant reminder of a band at its peak. And if you think you already have this by taking it from youtube, then you may be pleasantly surprised as the crew at Abbey Road have improved things greatly in the sync department (somewhat out on previous releases).

Best bits? Well, I think everyone reading this will know of the drum solo at the end of 'The Voice', and for me it is still a fantastic sound and sight (I am hoping that the band reprise this in the forthcoming 'Return To Eden' tour), and my fav 'Visions in Blue', I would argue that Ultravox's haunting tones are better here than in 'Vienna'. The addition of 'The Song (we go)' is a nice touch but adds little in my opinion.

As a definitive live recording from one of the most influential bands from the 80's, this CD/DVD package will appeal to a great number of people; those looking to update their Ultravox collection, those looking for some nostalgia, or those simply wanting great music, performed brilliantly.

The best, best bit? Possibly it's seeing it (27 years on!!) at Hammersmith in April '09. Return To Eden? You bet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MONUMENTAL, 23 Feb 2009
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
Quite simply this is brilliant. It may be short but it is surely a lesson that quality is much more important than quantity. The original CD has been bolstered with the inclusion of The Song (We Go) which was not included on the original album. The sound has been vastly improved giving much more clarity and separation with a much fuller sound. But the real pleasure here is the DVD. Originally available many years ago on VHS the concert footage has been restored for DVD and what a wonderful job the folks at Abbey Road Interactive have done. Both sound and picture are stunning. It really is quite amazing. Once again, it's short but it's a fantastic performance. Especially love the drum solo - a very unique and entertaining idea and a heck of a lot more interesting than some boring guitar theatrics. Great performers and a brilliant snapshot of a band at the height of their success.
Roll on the tour 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vintage first class 80's rock, 7 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
having seen the recent performance of Ultravox at the HMV Apollo Hammersmith - travelled from Italy especially for this concert - and knowing so well the masterpieces of the career of the group, it has been, and still is, a pure joy to watch them performing the same songs but in the period of their triumph. Excellent music, pure joy from the audience, the band so professionally involved in their performance, the architectural set so reminiscent of the atmosphere of Fritz Lang's Metropolis: it's a feast for those like me in their fifty-something but I think it's a great lesson for younger music-lovers because in this music we can find at the same time the evolution of the Bowie-Berlin-era and the roots of a lot of the music of the 90s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dextrous Drumming, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
It is the generous contents of this CD/DVD package that merits five stars. The original LP had six tracks, barely thirty minutes of music from Ultravox's live concerts. Now the CD has nine tracks (the additions being `Visions in Blue', `Passing Strangers', and `The Song (We Go)'), totalling forty-five minutes. However, the DVD remains with the original six.

I do not usually buy live albums, but in this instance I did actually go and see Ultravox perform, and it was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my mid-to-late teens. Here, the performance of `the Voice' ends with their usual display of dexterous drumming, whilst `Passing Strangers' has a welcome extended guitar solo. The only duff track is `The Song (We Go)', which is a bit of a mess.

The thirty-minute DVD includes brief footage of life recording the `Quartet' album in Montserrat, as well as short extracts featuring producer George Martin, and album-sleeve designer Peter Saville. The live concert itself is interspersed with extracts from the group's videos. The only extra is a gallery of monochrome photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Edition, 5 April 2014
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
Buy it. It's tremendous. The audio is sparkling and the accompanying DVD has restored visuals. Slightly dated effects but that was what they put out back then. What a fantastic band and I am so glad they have regrouped to play again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic live performance, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
This is an expanded version of the album originally released 30 years ago, with Visions in Blue, Passing Strangers and The Song(We Go) being added to the original vinyl track list. The Song (We Go) is actually better than the album version from Quartet and the performance as a whole is a good a live album as you will get, from a band at their peak. The Voice with it's legendary drum solo (clearly the wrong word, as they all join in, but you know what I mean), is a clear highlight, as is Mine for Life, which also works better live than as a studio track. As a bonus, there is a DVD of the original VHS version, which looks and sounds great (albeit with a slightly grainy picture), an interesting mix of concert footage with promo video clips cut in. Ultravox are perhaps not as well remembered as some of their early 80's peers, but this is an injustice as they were one of the better bands of their genre and era, musically as well as conceptually, and this is a great introduction to the band for newcomers as well as a treat for fans of a certain age! PS have seen them live 3 times since they reformed 4 years ago, and they are still one of the very best live bands out there, so check out Return to Eden too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
as an Ultravox fan from the 80's this was great to add to the existing collection! Not for everyone I'm sure !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
Loved this first time round, and it is great to get it in this format. I had the video footage on VHS and we recently went through all of those trying to replace them on DVD. I was very disappointed that this was not available, then remembered that the DVD came with the CD. Happy bunny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!!!!!!!!!!!!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
I have this on cassette(and it still plays but this CD has two extra tracks, so a bonus.
Yet to play the DVD but then I have the video and that still plays as well!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Edition!, 10 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition (Audio CD)
This album(or EP as it was originally released)has been unavailable in my part of the world for many years so this re-release is most welcome.
The sound is awesome,something we have come to expect from those wizards at Abbey Road.
But there is more than just sound here,you also get a DVD of the accompanying longform video that was released all those years ago and it looks amazing.For picture that was shot on 16mm film and is now over 25 years old,you manage to get an idea of what it was like to see Ultravox at the zenith of their career.Oh and as others have written before me,there's that amazing group drum solo.Spectacular stuff indeed.I only wish the full concert could have been included but I guess as was the norm in the 80's,the left over footage would have been dumped/binned.So this will just have to do.At least we have a "Monument" from one of the bands that IS the 80's!
The other titles in this series are also recommended Vienna: Remastered Definitive Edition Rage in Eden: Remastered Definitive Edition Quartet: Remastered Definitive Edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition
Monument: Remastered Definitive Edition by Ultravox (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews