Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price
Reasonable value, this lock is convenient (if you have somewhere suitable to mount it on the seat post or frame) but is not going to stop even a moderately determined thief. That said it will stop opportunists, can loop through seat rails to stop your QR post and seat getting stolen. I strongly advise that you hose it out with WD40 before use, as it seizes very easily...
Published on 3 Aug 2012 by HK

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Won't stop a thief
I almost learned this the hard way. This lock is probably fine as a deterrent to opportunistic thieves but will not stop even a mildly-determined thief and should not be used as a primary lock, or where your bike is going to be locked up for any significant period of time where you cannot see it.

I had had this lock for less than a week when I found it cut in...
Published on 25 Sep 2012 by M Smeaton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Won't stop a thief, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
I almost learned this the hard way. This lock is probably fine as a deterrent to opportunistic thieves but will not stop even a mildly-determined thief and should not be used as a primary lock, or where your bike is going to be locked up for any significant period of time where you cannot see it.

I had had this lock for less than a week when I found it cut in two on the floor of our underground car park. Miraculously, the bike was still there - another resident had disturbed the would-be thieves before they had finished. The lock was completely broken, cut with bolt-cutters, and fairly easily by the look of things. A few more seconds and the bike would have been gone.

There are a number of bikes in the car park - the thieves had already broken the lock on an expensive-looking road bike (and moved it to the door ready to ride off) before moving on to mine - but none of the bikes with D-locks had been targeted, so that's what I'll be getting next. I have seen the other reviews from people who are happy with this lock or who say that it has prevented theft - yes, it is lighter, cheaper and more convenient than a D-lock but if a thief wants your bike, this lock will not stop them. It's only sheer luck that my bike wasn't nicked and I would not recommend this lock for anything other than secondary use (for your wheels, for example).

The bottom line is you get what you pay for when it comes to any bike lock - and this is cheap. I had thought this would be OK since I live in an area not associated with high crime levels and the bike is stored in a secure car park. Unfortunately bike crime is rising sharply and thieves will go to increasingly great lengths, so I won't be making that mistake again. It is worth investing properly in a lock, particularly for an expensive bike.

In terms of delivery from Amazon, this was fine. The plastic bracket did not fit on the frame of my bike so I did not use it, and can't comment on its sturdiness etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad lock but bracket doesn't work with over size tubing, 11 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
Lock is fine (although wouldn't recommend on an expensive bike) but bracket is not much help if your bike has oversize tubing as couldn't fix it on (mine is a hybrid and gave up after trying various different parts of the frame/forks to connect it).

In summary not a bad lock if you bike is cheap or an old hack, but can only use the bracket on standard tubing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK for the price, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
Reasonable value, this lock is convenient (if you have somewhere suitable to mount it on the seat post or frame) but is not going to stop even a moderately determined thief. That said it will stop opportunists, can loop through seat rails to stop your QR post and seat getting stolen. I strongly advise that you hose it out with WD40 before use, as it seizes very easily. You get what you pay for, and it is pretty cheap. If you have an expensive bike, get an expensive lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not going to stop London bike thieves, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
Bike stolen in broad daylight the first day I left my bike on a busy street in the city for an hour, with this lock at a bike stand. Looks like bolt cutters went through it in several attempts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proven, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
I bought this lock for my brand new bike. There were 3 bikes stored next to our flat, and one day 2 of them disappeared overnight. Mine stayed there, nicely locked with this Krypronite lock. :o) Very happy with my purchase, as it stopped my bike being stolen with the other 2... :o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect lock for everyday use, 31 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
Bought this for my girlfriend as she was not keen on a chain & padlock, does not feel or look cheap cable is quite fat too which is reassuring and very long. Comes with clip (including rubber pads to stop movement and not leave marks on the bike) to hold chain to frame. Am impressed with how sturdy the lock feels, girlfriend loves it as its lighter and clipped away, everyone wins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good handy lock, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
I have the another kryptonite lock, a heavier one and this suits me because it is light weight and it doesn't rattle when cycling which is so annoying because my other lock would do just that between journeys. It is not as secure mind you, but it is a strong lock and someone would need an electrical appliance to breach it (from a toolshed of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good deterrent., 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
Impressive looking lock which will deter any casual thief and plenty of determined ones.
A bit on the weighty side but, hey, do you value your bike or not?
P.S. don't forget to write your bike serial number down. It's under the bottom bracket(what the pedal shaft goes through).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent buy, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
When it comes to keeping ya bike safe has to be it.It has a good size cable and it was well within my budget very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Key Cable Coiled Lock with Bracket (10 mm x 180 cm) (Sports)
I bought one of these locks, soon experienced a fault with it so got a replacement one which quickly developed the same problem. Pretty much every aspect of this lock isn't fit for purpose, don't be fooled by the reputable brand name.
1) The bracket for attaching lock to bike is too thin to fit around most bike frames
2) The mechanism for actually locking the two ends together is faulty; it neatly clicks together without the need to use the key for the first few times and then gradually becomes stiffer and stiffer until you have to apply a lot of pressure with the key to get the lock to turn.
3) The supplied keys are very thin and get bent very easily. The black plastic casing is also not durable and snapped off on one occasion when I tried to unlock my bike and ended up needing pliers to release the lock.
4) The actual cable is very thin and doesn't look like it would cause much trouble for anyone trying to cut into it.

I eventually sent it back for a refund and will be putting the money towards a lock that works. Only buy this if you only intend to use it once in a low crime area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews