Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars65
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2010
This DVD is excellent, both the quality of the transfer AND Elvis's acting. The film is hardly ever shown on TV, which is a pity because it is pure family entertainment. Elvis does a great job portraying his character. His sense of timing and the way he plays the part is just great! He really was a good actor and this film shows a very different role. It's amusing and sometimes touching and Elvis plays his part very well, as good as some leading actors. The songs don't distract from the feel of the film and only add to a very enjoyable experience. I would recommend this not only for fans but anyone who hasn't given an Elvis film a chance. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The American dream of owning ones own land and from overwhelming laws and rules can be inciting. In practice it can unleash dangerous conflicts, unless you are too dense to be effected by them.
The Kwimper family travailing through Florida runs out of gasoline. After a conflict with local authorities it is found out that you can homestead the unincorporated area as so they do. A friendly gambling group finds out about this loophole and also moves in. Conflict of interests forces Toby to take on the duties of sheriff. He is still friendly and even returns a mysterious ticking package to them. Other scenes involve social workers trying to remove adopted children (you may want to watch [Improper Channels (1981)] that has a similar theme). You will have lots of fun watching the details and cringing at some of the action. And pay close attention to the word association used in the trial.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
Generally the arguments for Elvis's best acting performance vary between Jailhouse Rock and King Creole.
My vote very definitely goes to Follow That dream, as good a performance as Tom Hanks in Forrest Gump,
playing a similar character
One of the few Elvis films that is genuinely funny (as much as I love them all). It's last major scene
allows Elvis to act sincerely and credibly. The dialogue to that scene is a little cringeworthy but Elvis'
performance is his best.
If you are not an Elvis fan you will probably not consider buying this but if you're looking for one or two
Elvis films to buy, then include this.
It is surprisingly overlooked, even by many Elvis fans.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
This film was not what I expected and a pleasant surprise. Elvis takes a role unlike any in his other films. He play it straight but funny (Forrest Gump type character) and shows his comic talent. It's dated of course and a fanciful, feel good story line about being 'an honest man' but I found it an enjoyable, light- hearted film. The songs and the way Elvis sings them are are totally out of sinc with the story line and the character he plays (farcical really!) but if you can overlook that, there are a couple of good ones.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
It may not have the same appeal of Blue Hawaii, but this have been one of my favourite Presley movies ever since I saw on the big screen in my youth. And in days cinema's did have big screens, unlike today's multiscreen viewing rooms. However, I digress, the story is a bit far-fetched, in which Elvis is part of a 'clampit' style family, whose car runs out of fuel on a closed highway, soon be opened to traffic. Which creates problems between the authorities and the family.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
My collection of Elvis films is nearly complete and FTD is one for the romantics. It's got the songs the scenery his backing singers and could be watched by the whole family as with most of his films. This and Kid Galahad and Blue Hawiaa feature a lot of the Elvis songs i love. I know Elvis has a lot of critics that pan his performances in his movies but how many stars today would turn down the offer of 33 films . Just enjoy it as it was intended as a bit of fun and good family entertainment.Elvis: The 75th Anniversary Box Set [DVD]
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Dont understand some of the 5 star reviews...some seem to rate it 5 simply because Elvis is in it which really isn't the best reason...FTD is one of the few "proper" films Elvis made in the sense that it's a normal film, doesn't look like a vehicle for its star and his part could be played by other actors...Having said all that he plays the part of Toby beautifully, with great charm and perfect timing...when I first saw it on its release I thought "at last..a good part in a good film, and he's terrific in it".... I haven't changed my opinion. (CHARRO isn't anywhere as good a movie as FTD but Elvis, in a completely different type of role, gives just as good an acting performance and, with both, shows it's unfortunate that he didn't get more opportunities to show what he was capable of......a shame)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I bought the dvd to replace my worn out video, as this film is enjoyed so much by myself and my family so much that the video tape is now unwatchable. We have already watched this dvd twice.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2002
Follow That Dream is a great comedy film; definately among Elvis best films, dramatic roles included.
Elvis plays Tobey Kwimper, a young homesteader, who along with his paw, a young girl and a couple of adopted kids, try to settle near a new road in the Florida Keys.
When the local government tries to have them moved, it is discovered that the part of land that they are on is governed by no-one.
What follows is one laugh after another. Elvis does a great job as the plain dumb Tobey, who accidentally holds up a bank and beats up some tough gangsters.
Folllow That Dream is very easy going and funny, really deserving a look. In fact Elvis at one point considered it his best acting job.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
I already had the video for this film, but wanted the Dvd. I am and have been for a very long time an Elvis fan and so have all his films whether good or bad. Follow that Dream in my opinion is one of his better ones but then again unless you are into Elvis perhaps not for you. An easy going enjoyable film but I think you do have to like Elvis.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)