Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great entertaining Elvis movie!
This DVD is excellent, both the quality of the transfer AND Elvis's acting. The film is hardly ever shown on TV, which is a pity because it is pure family entertainment. Elvis does a great job portraying his character. His sense of timing and the way he plays the part is just great! He really was a good actor and this film shows a very different role. It's amusing and...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by Paul Reno

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis movie
I already had the video for this film, but wanted the Dvd. I am and have been for a very long time an Elvis fan and so have all his films whether good or bad. Follow that Dream in my opinion is one of his better ones but then again unless you are into Elvis perhaps not for you. An easy going enjoyable film but I think you do have to like Elvis.
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by Pat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great entertaining Elvis movie!, 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
This DVD is excellent, both the quality of the transfer AND Elvis's acting. The film is hardly ever shown on TV, which is a pity because it is pure family entertainment. Elvis does a great job portraying his character. His sense of timing and the way he plays the part is just great! He really was a good actor and this film shows a very different role. It's amusing and sometimes touching and Elvis plays his part very well, as good as some leading actors. The songs don't distract from the feel of the film and only add to a very enjoyable experience. I would recommend this not only for fans but anyone who hasn't given an Elvis film a chance. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Word associations …moonshine, 8 April 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Follow That Dream [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The American dream of owning ones own land and from overwhelming laws and rules can be inciting. In practice it can unleash dangerous conflicts, unless you are too dense to be effected by them.
The Kwimper family travailing through Florida runs out of gasoline. After a conflict with local authorities it is found out that you can homestead the unincorporated area as so they do. A friendly gambling group finds out about this loophole and also moves in. Conflict of interests forces Toby to take on the duties of sheriff. He is still friendly and even returns a mysterious ticking package to them. Other scenes involve social workers trying to remove adopted children (you may want to watch [Improper Channels (1981)] that has a similar theme). You will have lots of fun watching the details and cringing at some of the action. And pay close attention to the word association used in the trial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's best acting, move over Forrest Gump, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
Generally the arguments for Elvis's best acting performance vary between Jailhouse Rock and King Creole.
My vote very definitely goes to Follow That dream, as good a performance as Tom Hanks in Forrest Gump,
playing a similar character
One of the few Elvis films that is genuinely funny (as much as I love them all). It's last major scene
allows Elvis to act sincerely and credibly. The dialogue to that scene is a little cringeworthy but Elvis'
performance is his best.
If you are not an Elvis fan you will probably not consider buying this but if you're looking for one or two
Elvis films to buy, then include this.
It is surprisingly overlooked, even by many Elvis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising Elvis performance, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
E. Braben - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film was not what I expected and a pleasant surprise. Elvis takes a role unlike any in his other films. He play it straight but funny (Forrest Gump type character) and shows his comic talent. It's dated of course and a fanciful, feel good story line about being 'an honest man' but I found it an enjoyable, light- hearted film. The songs and the way Elvis sings them are are totally out of sinc with the story line and the character he plays (farcical really!) but if you can overlook that, there are a couple of good ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow That King...To A Great Movie!!, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One Of The Elvis Presley Movie Vehicles That Somehow Gets Overlooked And Overshadowed By His Other Big Screen Movies, Blue Hawaii, GI Blues..King Creole..Etc. This Movie Brings Out The Acting Talent Of The King, Peppered With Comedy And A Fantastic Foot Tapping Soundtrack. The Title Track Of This Movie Now Being Used In Two Recent Adverts For Honda And Sainsbury's.

Although Not One Of Elvis's Biggest Or Well Known Movies, This Is One Of My Favourite Presley Movies Alongside That Of Tickle Me, Change Of Habit And Charro. It Is Worth A Watch Just To See What An Actor He Could Have Been Had The Right Movie Role Came Along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis for the ladies, 9 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
My collection of Elvis films is nearly complete and FTD is one for the romantics. It's got the songs the scenery his backing singers and could be watched by the whole family as with most of his films. This and Kid Galahad and Blue Hawiaa feature a lot of the Elvis songs i love. I know Elvis has a lot of critics that pan his performances in his movies but how many stars today would turn down the offer of 33 films . Just enjoy it as it was intended as a bit of fun and good family entertainment.Elvis: The 75th Anniversary Box Set [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow that Dream, 30 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
It may not have the same appeal of Blue Hawaii, but this have been one of my favourite Presley movies ever since I saw on the big screen in my youth. And in days cinema's did have big screens, unlike today's multiscreen viewing rooms. However, I digress, the story is a bit far-fetched, in which Elvis is part of a 'clampit' style family, whose car runs out of fuel on a closed highway, soon be opened to traffic. Which creates problems between the authorities and the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vey Very Funny, 3 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Follow That Dream [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Follow That Dream is a great comedy film; definately among Elvis best films, dramatic roles included.
Elvis plays Tobey Kwimper, a young homesteader, who along with his paw, a young girl and a couple of adopted kids, try to settle near a new road in the Florida Keys.
When the local government tries to have them moved, it is discovered that the part of land that they are on is governed by no-one.
What follows is one laugh after another. Elvis does a great job as the plain dumb Tobey, who accidentally holds up a bank and beats up some tough gangsters.
Folllow That Dream is very easy going and funny, really deserving a look. In fact Elvis at one point considered it his best acting job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's film Follow That Dream, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
I bought the dvd to replace my worn out video, as this film is enjoyed so much by myself and my family so much that the video tape is now unwatchable. We have already watched this dvd twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis movie, 18 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
I already had the video for this film, but wanted the Dvd. I am and have been for a very long time an Elvis fan and so have all his films whether good or bad. Follow that Dream in my opinion is one of his better ones but then again unless you are into Elvis perhaps not for you. An easy going enjoyable film but I think you do have to like Elvis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews