Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great entertaining Elvis movie!
This DVD is excellent, both the quality of the transfer AND Elvis's acting. The film is hardly ever shown on TV, which is a pity because it is pure family entertainment. Elvis does a great job portraying his character. His sense of timing and the way he plays the part is just great! He really was a good actor and this film shows a very different role. It's amusing and...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by Paul Reno

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis movie
I already had the video for this film, but wanted the Dvd. I am and have been for a very long time an Elvis fan and so have all his films whether good or bad. Follow that Dream in my opinion is one of his better ones but then again unless you are into Elvis perhaps not for you. An easy going enjoyable film but I think you do have to like Elvis.
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by Pat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great entertaining Elvis movie!, 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
This DVD is excellent, both the quality of the transfer AND Elvis's acting. The film is hardly ever shown on TV, which is a pity because it is pure family entertainment. Elvis does a great job portraying his character. His sense of timing and the way he plays the part is just great! He really was a good actor and this film shows a very different role. It's amusing and sometimes touching and Elvis plays his part very well, as good as some leading actors. The songs don't distract from the feel of the film and only add to a very enjoyable experience. I would recommend this not only for fans but anyone who hasn't given an Elvis film a chance. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow that Dream, 30 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
It may not have the same appeal of Blue Hawaii, but this have been one of my favourite Presley movies ever since I saw on the big screen in my youth. And in days cinema's did have big screens, unlike today's multiscreen viewing rooms. However, I digress, the story is a bit far-fetched, in which Elvis is part of a 'clampit' style family, whose car runs out of fuel on a closed highway, soon be opened to traffic. Which creates problems between the authorities and the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis for the ladies, 9 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
My collection of Elvis films is nearly complete and FTD is one for the romantics. It's got the songs the scenery his backing singers and could be watched by the whole family as with most of his films. This and Kid Galahad and Blue Hawiaa feature a lot of the Elvis songs i love. I know Elvis has a lot of critics that pan his performances in his movies but how many stars today would turn down the offer of 33 films . Just enjoy it as it was intended as a bit of fun and good family entertainment.Elvis: The 75th Anniversary Box Set [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's best acting, move over Forrest Gump, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
Generally the arguments for Elvis's best acting performance vary between Jailhouse Rock and King Creole.
My vote very definitely goes to Follow That dream, as good a performance as Tom Hanks in Forrest Gump,
playing a similar character
One of the few Elvis films that is genuinely funny (as much as I love them all). It's last major scene
allows Elvis to act sincerely and credibly. The dialogue to that scene is a little cringeworthy but Elvis'
performance is his best.
If you are not an Elvis fan you will probably not consider buying this but if you're looking for one or two
Elvis films to buy, then include this.
It is surprisingly overlooked, even by many Elvis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's film Follow That Dream, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
I bought the dvd to replace my worn out video, as this film is enjoyed so much by myself and my family so much that the video tape is now unwatchable. We have already watched this dvd twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis movie, 18 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
I already had the video for this film, but wanted the Dvd. I am and have been for a very long time an Elvis fan and so have all his films whether good or bad. Follow that Dream in my opinion is one of his better ones but then again unless you are into Elvis perhaps not for you. An easy going enjoyable film but I think you do have to like Elvis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS THE SINGER AND ALSO THE ACTOR ( BRILLIANT), 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
I saw this Elvis film at the cinema, many years ago and it was a FAVOURITE then. Glad I bought this DVD, to be able to watch it again. I wasn't disappointed. FANTASTIC quality,and touching storyline. The court room scenes were Great with that little twist, that proved very beneficial, to the family. Well acted by all. I loved the slow relationship between Elvis and Holly, which eventually blossomed at the end. when he sang my FAVOURITE ELVIS SONG ( ANGEL) for her. I just didn't want it to end!!!!!!
Ed. Lindsley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS' BEST FILM, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
Elvis plays a simple country lad who has more brains than he pretends to have. A nice gentle comedy well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. R Cottrell (torrington uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
this film is one of elvis,s best ,the situations he gets into & his solutions are hilarious,i would recommend you seeing this film ,the songs & elvis,s singing are brilliant ,especially "ANGEL",any elvis fan should get this ,,you wont be dissapointed ,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A shame., 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Follow That Dream [1961] (REGION 2) (PAL) (DVD)
Dont understand some of the 5 star reviews...some seem to rate it 5 simply because Elvis is in it which really isn't the best reason...FTD is one of the few "proper" films Elvis made in the sense that it's a normal film, doesn't look like a vehicle for its star and his part could be played by other actors...Having said all that he plays the part of Toby beautifully, with great charm and perfect timing...when I first saw it on its release I thought "at last..a good part in a good film, and he's terrific in it".... I haven't changed my opinion. (CHARRO isn't anywhere as good a movie as FTD but Elvis, in a completely different type of role, gives just as good an acting performance and, with both, shows it's unfortunate that he didn't get more opportunities to show what he was capable of......a shame)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews