Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars123
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2001
The Graham Greene's book "Our man in Havana" describes, in a very interesting and sarcastic way,the Bay of Pigs period in Cuba. In a place, where the lottery and the prostitutions have the main role, we can see the desperate efforts of a vacuum-cleaner seller, Wormold, to take advantage of the situation and become rich. So, he decides to keep on being manipulated not only by his family any more but also, by a Secret Service. An exciting, sarcastic book, which takes your breath away until the last page and reveals what, usually, doesn't come to light.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Brilliant book. Brilliant writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
This was my first ever Greene novel and I am hooked!

What style, wit and imagination. He captured the essence of the English abroad to an absolute tee (or should that be tea?)

I have to read more...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
very good read very atmospheric
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
This book is the first of Greene's that I've read. For me it is a book for 'grown-ups' I don't mean older in age, I mean more of a mentality thing. It is simply written and funny. But also has a message underlying the farce, it really made me think. It is politically relevant today as it was when it was first published. I won't give anything away by saying that the man who sells hoovers seems harmless, if a little ridiculous/bored/naive like many people today (ourselves included). But the use of the hoover in the story is for me reminiscent of the emperor's new clothes, "can you see it's a hoover"? Of course people can but to admit that would cause all sorts of problems.Then to think about the story in parallel with Tony Blair's WMDs debacle and you begin to see that nothing has changed really. People generally go with the flow and don't like to rock the boat. Religion gets an airing too, and it made me think about the 'rules' around that too and the different roles it plays. Graham Greene was religious so it possibly reflects his own questioning around this subject?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 May 2009
Within an amusingly comic yarn about an English vacuum-cleaner salesman in pre-revolutionary Cuba lurks a well-observed satire about the bizarre and paranoid world of Cold War espionage.

Our mild-mannered hero only wants to raise enough money to indulge his daughter's love of horses - but who will buy a hoover when the rebels keep cutting the power? Recruited by MI5 to observe, he soon finds his meagre reports aren't enough for London.

Unfortunately, his efforts to supplement them with a few "harmless" embellishments create an insatiable appetite for more "information". Soon, like a fireman on a runaway steam train, he finds himself shovelling fantasies into the unquenchable furnace of the "intelligence" services' paranoia, unable to slow the engine down but desperately trying to keep it from running off the rails.

Graham Greene isn't supposed to be this funny or this subversive. He never comments, never takes sides and never reveals his author's voice. He trusts the reader because he knows he has given us all we need to work it out for ourselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
If you've never read any Graham Greene I'd say this is an excellent place to start, and if you've already read some of his 'more serious' books don't dismiss this one. Some of the scenes are hilariously funny, the characters are sharply drawn and it's beautifully written. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Amazing value prompt service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2003
A very relaxing book. Full of understated English humour, of a man sliding into a world beyond his control. The spies are human, full of flaws, and with their own personal agendas. The villains are barely villains at all, despite shootings and the background mentioned of dark torturings, but you can't help having sympathy for them none-the-less, due to Greene's ability to bring out the basic humanity in his characters.
A good read if a quiet chuckle is required at the absurdity of human constructs.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Book in very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)