Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounded chick flick
Bride Wars is a great cheap and cheerful "chick flick". A welcome additional to my ever growing shelf of girly movies. I saw it in the cinema, and immediately knew I wanted it on DVD and finally I'm glad I have gotten round to buying it.

The price is brilliant for what you get, can't fault Amazon on that! The movie itself is even better, following two life long...
Published on 12 April 2011 by CATHERINE

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unleash the Brides
Liv the Lawyer (Kate Hudson) and School Teacher Emma (Anne Hathaway) have been best friends since they were children. When their boyfriends propose on the same day, the girls become one another's maid of honour, and go about planning their wedding. Their chosen location for the wedding is The Plaza, the place they have dreamed of since they were little girls. When they...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by Charly Dunning


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unleash the Brides, 1 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
Liv the Lawyer (Kate Hudson) and School Teacher Emma (Anne Hathaway) have been best friends since they were children. When their boyfriends propose on the same day, the girls become one another's maid of honour, and go about planning their wedding. Their chosen location for the wedding is The Plaza, the place they have dreamed of since they were little girls. When they both get the dates of their choice as well as the location of their choice, it all seems too good to be true. And it is. The secretary manages to confuse the dates, so that the girls are planned to get married on the same day. They chase after the bride with the other spare date, but she refuses to give it to them. When neither of them agree to change their wedding day to a later date, they both become enemies spending most of their days prior to the wedding, not planning but sabotaging.

When I first went to see this film at the cinema, both me and my best friend really didn't enjoy it. But as I've 'matured' (ha!) over the years I've grown to enjoy chick flicks, but sadly this isn't one of those enjoyable films.

I'm not saying it's terrible, some parts are quite funny, and the actual plot is rather interesting and believable. Sadly though, the script is let down by the acting on Anne's part. I'm not sure why, but she doesn't feel believable to me while on the other hand Kate does.

I would suggest this film to someone for rainy day viewing, something to pass by the hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Bride Wars" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I wanted to like "Bride Wars" but it was terribly forced (you feel like they're presuming this is funny when it's just not).

But if you want to own it on BLU RAY note that the American issue on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Opt for the UK issue instead - some have it on sale for peanuts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much of a war, 25 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
As a romcom, I always expect a fair amount of predictability so that isn't something that I am going to complain about too much in this review. Due to the plot, as mentioned above, I didn't actually know if one girl was going to back down or if either/ or would actually get married in the end so it was a nice surprise to be kept guessing for a little while. The plot on a whole though, was uninspired and fairly bland throughout. There were no really exciting parts or anywhere that I thought was done spectacularly. Nothing about the plot really stood out for me apart from the fact that I hadn't seen a film like this before.

Due to the plot being pretty boring, the comedy also suffered. I think that with different writers maybe, Bride Wars would have been a whole lot funnier. There were definitely many places which could have been hilarious but instead, I just found myself staring at the TV. Considering the girls are out to sabotage each others' wedding, nothing massive was done in order to achieve this. The pranks that they played on each other could have been a whole lot better and there was nothing here that really made me even giggle a little bit. The pranks were just mundane and thoughtless.

Even though I really disliked the film, the acting was a much better. Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway are both great comedy actresses and they didn't disappoint in this film. I think both did the very best that could have been done with the script they were working with and would have been really funny if the script was as well. Both actresses are very different so I thought that the friendship chemistry between the two was fabulous and the different personalities bounced off of each other well. I do think that Anne Hathaway was a little better than Hudson though but it would still be a pretty close call.

The male roles in this film were really not up to scratch. To begin with, the eye candy was seriously lacking and although the film is all about the girls, I still would have liked some hotter men to look at every once in a while. Daniel and Fletcher, the girls' fiancés aren't really in the film enough to have a good enough opinion about them. They only really popped up now and again and didn't do anything helpful for the film. I think they were only really there to back up the fact that Emma and Liv were getting married.

Overall, I didn't really enjoy this film. There wasn't nearly enough comedy or romance to keep me entertained and the script was extremely lacking. At least there were two actresses doing the best with what they were given though. I think this film will appeal to so many people though and I'm sure others will find it funnier than I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounded chick flick, 12 April 2011
By 
CATHERINE (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
Bride Wars is a great cheap and cheerful "chick flick". A welcome additional to my ever growing shelf of girly movies. I saw it in the cinema, and immediately knew I wanted it on DVD and finally I'm glad I have gotten round to buying it.

The price is brilliant for what you get, can't fault Amazon on that! The movie itself is even better, following two life long best friends who grew up together and are now living in NYC, holding down professional jobs and living with their partners of long term relationships spanning at least a decade. The women are still as close as ever, almost like sisters, and are proposed to around the same time.

However when planning their weddings they have dreamt of their whole lives, a error by a staffer at the wedding planning company means both their weddings at in the same hotel, at the same time, on the same day. It is both their dream for the date and location, but wish to be at each other's wedding. What follows is a huge fight where they won't change their dates and so end up planning their weddings without each other and childishly attempting to sabotage the other.

Great fun to watch and I can't get enough of looking at Kate Hudson's hair in this movie, she should have it styled like that all the time!!

The DVD itself doesn't have many extra features, and is sadly lacking a gag reel - something I know would've been great from this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched but funny, 12 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
Two best friends fall out because their weddings are double booked on the same day at the same hotel. Frivilous, yet funny with a few laugh-out-loud moments. Watch on your own or with the girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girly fun, 7 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
This film is perfect for some harmless comedy fun with your girly friends.
The film follows the story of best friends Liv (Kate Hudson) and Emma (Anne Hathaway) whose weddings are accidently booked on the same day. Both girls turn enemies as they both battle it out to have the perfect wedding at the perfect venue.
Sure it was never going to win any Oscars. Yes, it is very predictable. But who cares? Not every films has to be a complex dramatic masterpiece such as Pirates of the Caribbean or Avatar. Some movies need to be fun and light like this.
Kate Hudson puts on a very convincing and hilarious performance as the controlling, impatient Liv. While Anne Hathaway is clearly coming to terms with rom-coms and the comedy aspect of it, she puts on a reasonably good performance as the push over teacher, Emma. In fact, her slightly less confident performance is perfectly suited for her character.
As a fan of rom-coms and both Hudson and Hathaway, I loved this movie! I would definitely recommend to any comedy lover.
However, I must shout out a warning that this movie is DEFINITELY NOT for the guys! It would bore them...they don't understand the importance of having the perfect wedding and they defienitely wouldn't get this movie - be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for a rainy day with lots of treatsxxxx, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
We rented this film on a rainy weekend during the holidays and my 8 year old daughter loved it! she laughed out loud during the sabotage scenes and overall its just abit of fun xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn between two weddings, 5 April 2009
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
"If I were your wedding, I'd be sleeping with one eye open..."

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. BFFs Emma (Anne Hathaway) and Liv (Kate Hudson) dream of their dream weddings at the Plaza Hotel
2. This is the one thing that Emma has ever wanted
3. Liv always gets everything she wants
4. Oops! Both weddings get booked for the same day
5. Open warfare commences
6. For most of the movie
7. Bit over the top if you ask me
8. ... but funny anyway

This is a straight up chick flick, made watchable by Hathaway and Hudson. If I lost you at "chick flick", I apologize, but this is exactly what this is.

The sabotage scenarios are mostly funny, albeit highly improbable, but this is a good movie to rent for an afternoon giggle with the girls, over wine, cheese and chocolate.

Warning: Forcing menfolk to watch this may constitute grounds for divorce in some countries.

3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and very entertaining, 16 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
It's not easy to please me when it comes to films but this did it and I am not into Kate Hudson at all, but she made this for me. The many scenes of her stuffing her face while contriving against her former best friend were very funny. I loved it. It is a chick flick without the evil sister and the whole hard done contrived bitterness that goes with that(ala 27 dresses, the wedding date, American sweethearts need I go on..) This lovely film had none of that poorly conceived formula and was refreshing, original and very sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bride Wars [DVD] (DVD)
I don't actually like romantic comedies, or the type of films a 'girls night in' would consist of - but I thoroughly enjoyed this. Kate Hudson may have seemed unrealistic as the 'high paid city lawyer' but she played the comical role very well and Anne Hathaway, an actress I usually dislike, was quite watchable.
Despite other reviews, I did not find this contrived or 'done before' it's a great fun, lighthearted film that was not too long and I recommend it as something light to cheer up a low day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bride Wars [DVD]
Bride Wars [DVD] by Gary Winick (DVD - 2009)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews