Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Didn't Realize This Was an Afterschool Special."
Skeeter Bronson (Adam Sandler) is the maintenance man at a luxury hotel in Los Angeles. True, when his father sold the location to hotel mogul Barry Nottingham (Richard Giffiths), Barry promised to make Skeeter the manager when he grew up. But that's never happened. And now Barry has plans to build an even bigger hotel in the area and make Kendall (Guy Pearce) the...
Published on 8 April 2009 by Mark Baker

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as painted
One review that I read of this in the press said something along the lines of Adam Sandler destroying the magic of Disney. It's certainly not that bad but it's not that good either. Unfortunately I'm not a fan of the leading man and his brand of goofiness but he does a decent enough job and Russell Brand isn't as bad as painted either - he's just Russell Brand. He...
Published on 7 April 2009 by PJ Rankine


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Didn't Realize This Was an Afterschool Special.", 8 April 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Skeeter Bronson (Adam Sandler) is the maintenance man at a luxury hotel in Los Angeles. True, when his father sold the location to hotel mogul Barry Nottingham (Richard Giffiths), Barry promised to make Skeeter the manager when he grew up. But that's never happened. And now Barry has plans to build an even bigger hotel in the area and make Kendall (Guy Pearce) the manager.

Meanwhile, Skeeter's sister calls. Wendy (Courtney Cox) needs Skeeter to watch her two kids while she is out of town looking for a new job. Skeeter hasn't had any contact with them for four years, but he agrees.

That night, he tells the kids a bedtime story that gets pretty crazy. And yet the next day, it seems to come true. Excited, Skeeter can't wait for the next bedtime story. Has he figured out a way to make his every wish come true or is something else at work here?

I'm not normally an Adam Sandler fan, but the previews for this movie intrigued me so much, I just had to see it. And I'm glad I did. There were laughs all the way through. In fact, I'd say the best laughs weren't spoiled in the previews. Bugsy, the hamster, has some hilarious antics. And the story gets so crazy at times you can't help but laugh.

Yet the laughs are supported by a decent story. Yes, the broad outline is predictable, but the journey to the end is fun, so you really don't care. Beside, the kids add a few random plot points to the film, which keep things from being too stale.

The stories that Skeeter tells vary greatly in location. I was actually surprised at just how elaborate those sets were. They didn't spare any expense with this film.

My only complaint is what appears to be a dropped plot point. It was a sub-plot, but I really was looking for it to be paid off.

But that is a minor complaint. This is a fun film that left me with a smile on my face. It should entertain kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family comedy, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Mad Mel (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
We watched this film on holiday with friends, and loved it so much that when we returned i bought it for us. It was a great price for a great film. Packed with laughs, and can be watched again and again without it losing it's appeal (unlike some films aimed at children!). Watch out for Bugsy, a Guinea Pig with enormous eyes, and many famous people in the film, most noticeably a cameo role from Buzz Lightyear! Brilliant. I'd recommend it to anyone who loves watching films with their family. Good wholesome entertainment from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised, 15 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I love Disney films and had never heard of "Bedtime Stories". I'm glad I bought this DVD as the lead actor, Adam Sandler, can sometimes be a little too much for me. The only other film of his that I've enjoyed is Anger Management, but he doesn't disappoint here.

Skeeter (Adam Sandler) is asked to babysit his sister's kids over a couple of evenings. The dayshift is taken by the sister's best friend. Skeeter is a little horrified to find that his sister hasn't got a TV and therefore his first night babysitting actually requires him to interact with his niece and nephew rather than plonk them in front of the screen. He decides to try his hand at telling a bedtimes story, the way his Dad used to tell him stories when he was little. Luckily he's a natural story teller although a little self-absorbed in his story telling the kids change his stories so their they're a lot more fun.

Fun, imaginative film to watch with the whole family or even on your own. Filming covered wonderful sets and locations, a Greek ampitheatre; a medieval palace; the wild west - all lovely scenes and the acting was better than I thoughtt. There's the flitting between modern day, real scenes and ho they could be imagined in the bedtime stories - Motorbikes as horses and a woman as a mermaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bedtime Stories, 8 Jun 2009
By 
M. Loudon "film buff" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bedtime stories provides a fantastic route to escapism. I love watching the 'real-life' interpretations of the children's stories (e.g. the gum balls falling from an up-ended truck, making it look like it was raining).

I'm not normally a fan of Adam Sandler, but I think he was brilliant in this. He didn't go over the top or too silly. My friend's 7 year old daughter loved the guinea pig- she squealed with delight whenever it appeared on screen! Russell Brand was perfect as the oddball friend-cum-dream-sidekick.

All in all a great family film, or one for twentysomethings wanting a little break from reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Madison Productions At Its Very Best, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I've just sat and watched this film with my son and wife and can say we all loved it, Adam Sandler is back to his very best. I think I can say it is the best feel good movie he has done since Big Daddy.

You always know where you are with Sandler movie, there is no swearing (well nothing hard), no guns and no nudity just plain old fashioned fun. If you have kids they will love this film. I know you can read the synopsis if you want to know what the film is about so I won't go into that.

The Blu-ray offers amazing quality and sound so would urge you to spend the few extra pounds to see it on Blu, but if you can't afford Blu then standard won't disappoint.

Very funny film, very well put together story, great quality production. 5 Stars. Please get it.

Don't let the title kid you into thinking this film is just for children it is hilarious for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Skeeter's the coolest, and I'm the nerd.", 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Skeeter is a hotel handyman whose life changes when the bedtime stories he tells his niece and nephew magically start to come true.

The idea of the film is hilarious, and Disney have managed to pull it off very well. When I saw the trailers I personally thought Adam Sandler wasn't going to be the perfect 'Skeeter', but he is! Russell Brand steals the show though, as he plays Mickey, Skeeter's best friend.

The stories Skeeter tells Bobbi and Patrick are lavish and hilarious. I went to the theatre to see this film, and both children and adults were laughing. The big joke throughout the film though, was Bugsy the Guinea Pig, and Skeeter wasn't kidding when he said: "Those eyes would be big on a cow!"

Overall a great family comedy, and should be in every families DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Family movie given the blu-ray treatment!, 23 Dec 2009
Adam Sandler tells bedtime stories to his niece and nethew,which come true for him the very next day.Very funny and a great family movie given the Disney
Blu-ray treatment. 2 disks which includes the Blu-ray movie and special features.Also included is a dvd of the movie.Sound and picture are exellent and really show the C.G.I. A future disney Live-action classic.reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Disney Film., 2 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bedtime Stories is a must see for all the family. Why? Because it has a heart-warming story, a cute animal that kids would adore and well known stars playing some excellent characters. Adam Sandler is the lead, having to look after Courtney Cox's children while she's away. He tells them some amazing bedtime stories, funny and out of this world. But when the next day comes, it suddenly comes true and he soon believes in winning the heart of Keri Russell and getting back the hotel from the hands of Guy Pearce. Russell Brand is his friend who is a classic to watch and the two kids are also funny to see. It's highly recommended for every family out there to either rent or buy this movie, Disney has make a great choice to do this film and adds it's magic with certain scenes. Great movie, just see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as painted, 7 April 2009
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
One review that I read of this in the press said something along the lines of Adam Sandler destroying the magic of Disney. It's certainly not that bad but it's not that good either. Unfortunately I'm not a fan of the leading man and his brand of goofiness but he does a decent enough job and Russell Brand isn't as bad as painted either - he's just Russell Brand. He doesn't act, he just appears as himself in everything he's in. The story line is simple, Sandler looks after his sister's children for a week and finds that the bedtime stories he tells start to come true the following day. He soon realises however that only the parts told by the children themselves come true and so he tries to influence them with predictable consequences and of course it all ends happily ever after. Your kids will probably love it, you can probably bear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I cannot believe all the great reviews of this film. it is simply not worthy. obviously money was spent making it, but it was lacking in anything of meaning or substance. The lead part is not what I regard a role model to children in his behaviour and basically, after pre viewing, did not show this to the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008]
Bedtime Stories [DVD] [2008] by Adam Shankman (DVD - 2009)
£3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews