Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather II (Xbox 360)
Arrived quickly and well packaged from Amazon. Great game, which allows you easily control your family and make progress through 3 different cities, each with different aspects to the main story. Good game for people who enjoy a shooting game with a little bit of strategy because the 'Godfather View' allows you to control all aspects of your family and eventually your...
Published on 27 May 2009 by Mr. M. J. Perry

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Godfather II. Wasted chance to improve ? UPDATE
Good morning/afternoon or evening.
Well I have played for a few hours now (360 version) and have to report to being very underwhelmed. I played and owned both the xbox and 360 versions of Godfather, and enjoyed massively, hence buying the almost identikit 360 revamp.
Anyway back to 2. The intro movie does set the scene well, and you of course get a chance to...
Published on 14 April 2009 by Duffster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Best enjoyed by fans, but great game, 19 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm probably a half to two thirds of the way through the game and have become hooked. I played the original game and loved it, I think this will bias me a bit.

First, the bad points. The graphics, for a 360 game, are terrible. As is the driving (I have never had a worse experience!) and the shooting, if you consider that the game really hasn't progressed from the previous one. There are some aspects of the game system that aren't ideal - for example, there is very little punishment for dying mid-mission and the teammate skill system can be worked around by instantly juggling the group you've got with you.

However... if like me you love the Godfather story/style, and are more turned on by the immense strategy experience than the technical side to the game, then you can, honestly, overlook the uninspiring graphics and driving. Your two focuses will be doing the missions, which follow a nice story, and getting on with taking over cities business by business. It's possible to get bored with one of these and then change what you're doing and get totally engrossed in the other side of things. The way you can dispatch whatever level of manpower you think is required to defend your turf, which is frequently tested, and balance this commitment with the skill set you need for your current job, combined with the aspect of gaining/deny your rivals Crime Rings and last but not least gradually whittling away at their family tree with special assasinations is great fun. I also enjoyed customising the skill levels, specialisms and outfits of my crew, and looking out for weapons, execution styles and so on which give the game some longevity for completionists.

I totally recommend this game to anyone wanting a unique, interesting game. If you're obsessed by graphics ("Oh my God the new COD/Halo has amazing graphics") then it might not be for you. But this is a more focused, strategic (but not overly strategic) alternative to GTA which I think is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather II X360, 26 Sep 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like the Godfather films, you should definitely buy this game! (likewise, if you haven;t seen the films, you should see them first) The storyline of this game (and the first game) closely follows that of the first two films, so it is first class. The combat in the game is also great fun, and very satisfying - the developers obviously put a lot of effort into creating particularly brutal finishing moves for each weapon. Personally, I preferred the gun combat from the first game, but that doesn't mean this game is lacking much.
In my opinion, these games are much better than the GTA series, particularly in the "career" aspect, as you actually control your empire and your family/crew in this game, and there is a reasonable character development system in the Godfather games.
If you are a fan of crime/gangster films, and like brutal combat, you will love this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 4 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a really good game, bought it cheap from a private seller which was quick and good service. The game is very fun however a little hard to get to grips with the controls at first but once I got the hang of it I was away. The game allows you to build your own family, control your empire and attack those familys against you, the Don view is very well put into the game allowing you to monitor everything in your family and the wolrd around you allowing you to put hits out on people and attacking (or destroying) a rival familys racket. Very good game overall, strongly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAM!!, 5 May 2009
By 
Loco Joe (Stoke-on-Trent) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I never played the first Godfather game so I cant compare them but The Godfather II is a GREAT game!

Im guessing theyve used everything from Saints Row because it has that feel (the way you change weapons is the same) and it looks very much like it.

The only problem I've had so far is that when i raided a bank and tried to get away police officers were spawning everywhere. I'd kill all I could see then turn round and four more had appeared out of nowhere!

All in all a good game, if you like the kinda game where you run around killing people, beating people up with some running of businesses thrown in buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did you like Godfather 1?, 31 May 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, firstly answer that question, your responce will make a huge difference.

If you liked Godfather 1 (like me) then this will be like a better version of that with some real improvements in both gameplay and size.

If you DIDN'T like the first instalment of this series I would avoid this. Like I say, it's basically a step on from that and not a massive step either.

Overall a good, fun game but don't go into it expecting GTA style realism. One for the funs of the first game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the godfather11, 4 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have this game on my pc and it is much more challeging on x box
I feel it was very good value for money and will buy games from this site again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Für deutsche Kunden, 11 April 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wieder mal deutsche Infos zum Game : 1) keine deutsche Sprachausgabe 2) kein deutscher Untertitel.
Stört aber eigentlich nicht, weil man die Typen ganz gut versteht und man dann auch weiß, um was es geht und was zu tun ist.
Gameplay ähnlich wie bei GTA, natürlich kommts nie an GTA ran. Aber für zwischendurch und für den Preis hier ist es ganz OK. Habs gebraucht bei nem hop hier gekauft und nach 12 Tagen wars da. Gibt aber auch Shops die schneller sind. Am schnellsten gehts direkt über Amazon.uk.

PS:auch wenn die englischen Kunden es nicht so gerne sehen, wenn hier deutsche Reviews sind werd ichs weiter machen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather 2, 21 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fantastic game with excellent executions. There is all manner of upgradeable weaponry, the cut scenes are lengthy which gives the game depth to understand the importance of each character. A must for GTA fans as you can move your crew into strategic points through the different scenarios when attacking rival gangs or doing jobs. Upgrade men and weapons to the highest then if you want you can roam the different cities, New York, Florida and Cuba. 5 stars for sure with hours of fun and entertainment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godfather II is brilliant, 14 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay. Firstly you have to understand that the graphics and gameplay hasnt changed dramatically except for a few new added features eg don mode etc etc. but i would definately say that if it aint broke dont fix it and i think thats what they've tried to do hear. the game was brilliant before and its still brilliant now. the levels are fantastic (though loosely sticks to a storyline). overall i would say this game is a 5 out of 5, and is the best shooter/ganster game of the year! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High amount of fun for too little time, 3 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you enjoyed the first Godfather game then you will likely enjoy this but ultimately you'll probably feel like me that it was far too short and too small a game. The first game contains hundreds of business and fronts to take over and portrayed what felt like an accurate portion of New York, stepping over into New Jersey. This game includes Cuba, Florida and New York and both of them I felt as if I could cross them as quickly running as I could driving in a car.

What's really frustrating is that the improvements they have made to the actual process of progressing through the game (compared to the first) are so great that you just wish you had more to do, as it is it's incredibly easy to complete the game and I in fact intentionally slowed down just to try and make the game last longer. I got 1000 out of 1000 achievements and the only thing I needed help with was finding some of the rare guns.

It is not worth purchasing at it's full retail price but if you see it's price get slashed then maybe it's worth grabbing just for a bit of random violence in a familiar film setting.

I don't know what the online play is like though, that might give it some replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Godfather II (Xbox 360)
The Godfather II (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£21.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews