Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
I have to say I came onto this site having finished this game expecting to see mainly 4-5 stars and just wanted to add my praise so you can imagine I was quite surprised to see it has had quite a few negative reviews.

I thought the game was superb. The new Dons view was brilliant and really made you feel like you were actually running a crime business instead...
Published on 10 May 2009 by Whir25

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make your own mind up
I know a lot of people are on the fence about buying this, i hope my review helps you.

If you liked the first Godfather game you will like this too, no question. The gameplay remains the same, with some new features:

* Better graphics
* More weapons
* Your own family (crew members follow you & help out)
* 3 Places to conquer (New York,...
Published on 10 April 2009 by A. GILL


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make your own mind up, 10 April 2009
By 
A. GILL "ag55" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
I know a lot of people are on the fence about buying this, i hope my review helps you.

If you liked the first Godfather game you will like this too, no question. The gameplay remains the same, with some new features:

* Better graphics
* More weapons
* Your own family (crew members follow you & help out)
* 3 Places to conquer (New York, Florida and Cuba)
* Dons View
* Challenges (Cracking safes, execution styles)
* Bonuses (Bulletproof vests, armored cars)

The game has a good balance of action like shooting, executing people, driving, as well as the strategic stuff like taking over businesses, earning favours (call off police, put rival family members in jail), guarding businesses, making money, upgrading your family.

A few disadvantages are that the game does have some bugs, things like your crew struggling to get into your car sometimes or dumb AI. These dont impact the gameplay a whole lot, but are there -- hopefully the game will be patched in an update.

The reviews by places like IGN and Gamespot who totally murdered this game are over reacting i think, they called it 'unfinished' and to avoid it at all costs, but this is their opinion.

So if you are on the fence about getting it, just ask yourself if you liked the original, or have bought games in the past which were rated low and you ended up enjoying them alot (Assassins creed comes to mind for me).

Godfather 2 isnt an amazing game, but it is a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
I have to say I came onto this site having finished this game expecting to see mainly 4-5 stars and just wanted to add my praise so you can imagine I was quite surprised to see it has had quite a few negative reviews.

I thought the game was superb. The new Dons view was brilliant and really made you feel like you were actually running a crime business instead of just going round shooting people.

The first night I played on this, I thought I had been playing for an hour and I was so engrossed in it, that I had actually been playing on it for 3 hours.

The side missions and favours to earn money and upgrade your men are really fun. Graphically solid, the story was also very interesting and left you feeling tense and excited.

My only gripe was that it is a little bit easy. The gun fights are hard to lose and when you die, one of your medics usually revives you and then you just take cover and your health renews. I definitely would have given it 5 stars if it was a little bit more challenging.

But overall a brilliant game which I was so engrossed in, I was having 2-3 hour sessions wheras usually I spend up to an hour max on the playstation a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Offer that We Can't Refuse but an Offer that Leaves Much to be Desired, 31 Dec 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
As we all now this game is the secound and final installment of the godfather game, at first i was sceptical due to various negative reviews, but this game is way underated.

It adds many great features from its PS2 predecessor:

- Somewhat better graphics

- Building and upgrading your family and bussiness (i.e, your crew)

- The Don's View (an ingame map that allows you to manage your criminal empire)

- The diversity to conquer Miami and Cuba as well as New York

At first the game seems very repetitive and the opening could have captivated you a bit better, after creating your ideal mobster at first the game is quite linear however once you get out and about and throughout the story the various features are unlocked, then yeah, the game becomes a lot of fun, the feature that excited me most was having the ability of choosing your family members. This involves recruiting promising associates into your family each with a designated skill-set, for example a medic, or a arsonist, the medic of course can heal you when you're downed in a fight (when you're in the "life" these things are bound to happen) the arsonist can create a distraction while you muscle in on a rivals bussiness, you can also upgrade your crews attributes and apperal, and of course reward them with a promotion. They are all self-suffincent but can be given orders such as following you or sending them home. Also sending them to take over control of rival bussinesses through the don's view can can be great fun. I completed the game in about 18-20 hours, my tip to enjoy the game as much as possible, dont take over any bussinesses untill you have the story to require you to, i didnt so the game feeled more rushed and unfinished.

However I must say the multiplayer leaves much to be desired but the whole purpose of the online play is to earn licences for your crew so they can equip themselves with better weapons and a steadier hand to go along with it, you will have to recieve "honours" which are achieved by certain objectives such as "1st place on the winning team" or "revive 5 teammates", i would suggest these are really quite useless as your crew will stomp out the brains of any wiseguy who gets in your way without a high-grade firearm.

Also there are many collectables, such as doing favours for corrupt officals, upon completing these you are given the ability to either remove your wanted level, get a made man out of jail etc, but the most exciting is of course the executions, and the most entertaining of the game's combat, smash in some wiseguys face with a baseball bat, maybe ventilate the back of someones head with your tommy guy, or perhaps blast in thier pretty face with your shotgun, you get the idea.

Many other reviews (as well as my own) give you plenty of good reasons to get this game, i only gave this game four stars, as the graphics seem typical of a PS2 game, they're not terrible but not something we'd expect the next gen PS3 to give us, not only do the textures seem poor and faded but at times they can be glitchy, such as not focusing out in the distance. The AI can be at times (and i throw this word very loosely) dumb, at times when your crew are left behind, they will magically reapear in front of you.

Don't let the cons throw you off, the game is still great fun, despite the flaws you will find it hard to stop playing, however apart from the above critisisms, i would say this game could have remained truer to the movie its based on, which its predecessor did a great job off. If you enjoyed the previous game this is very similar with a few extra bonuses.

This installment wraps up the godfather videogame franchise, as EA announces this was the last game due to the expiration of its license, but who knows? Maybe in the future we'll have Godfather III.

this game features 42, all off-line trophies, all easily obtainable:

1 Platinum; 4 Gold; 9 Silver; 28 Bronze

A great worthy game that will take libertys with your time but Unfortunetly we cant say:

"No last Words, No last Requests".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad ..., 30 April 2009
By 
Muggy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
Yes - there are glitches. Yes - there are 'ghosts' that appear (particularly in Cuba). Yes - it can be a bit too easy NOT to die. (Would be nice to have more of a challenge.) BUT I'm enjoying it and more than I did the first Godfather game. This game isn't perfect though it's not so bad and I feel that I've got my money's worth (unlike a number of other, utterly rubbbish games I've bought in the past).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Godfather 2, 1 Jun 2009
By 
R. Dixon (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
Now,this review is going to be kept short(i hope!!).
This game is very enjoyable,more so if you played the first game,as it continues the theme,not only story wise but graphically as well and this is where a lot of people critised this game including so called magazine reviewers who get paid lots of money to do so.
The 2 godfather games have their own style grafically,if you can accept that,then there is no problem,but if anyone thought that these were going to be graphical master pieces,then thats their problem!!!
I'll be honest,we would all like the graphic quality of games such as Uncharted,Tomb Raider,Chronicles of Riddick..Assault on dark Athena,and i am so looking forward to Mafia 2,not only because of the graphics,but i'm hoping for a great story line as well.
The point i'm trying to make is judge the game(s) for what they are,an adaptation of 2 of the greatest films ever made set in a period of underworld violence trying to give that grainy feel to them,as they did with the movie Raging Bull,filmed in black & White,if it had been in colour it would not have been acknowleged as it was,it gave the feel of that period in time.
The game is a great game if your interested in that period of time of gangsters and accept that if they had completly changed the graphics i.e Mafia 2 style,they would not be 2 games in a series but 2 seperate games related by the titles.
If anyone didn't read magazine reviews and looked on line before the game's release,then they may well be disappointed,but anyone who did, knew what the graphics were going to be like and therefore knew what they were purchasing.
This is definately a game that not only you must persevere with as you play it the 1st time,but actually enjoy more the more you play it,2nd/3rd time,(like the baseball bat execution..say no more).I enjoyed this game alot because i accepted it for what it was(and i checked it out before i purchased it,mag reviews and on line).so i didn't waste my money.
The only niggles i have are these one's,call me boring,old fashioned even,but it was dissappointing to know that you would never get your crew to maximum attributes unless you played "online",which i think is a kick in the teeth by the game makers,i paid my money i would like the whole game as i'm sure i'm not the only one who has no interest what's so ever to play online.This i think is starting to creep in on certain games,Fable 2 is another(in the derilict old guild building,where there is a chest,that you cannot open unless your playing online),i think all gamers should start a campaign,either to stop this practise,or have 2 seperate games single player and online versions!!!!!!!
I think that's all i have to say with regard to this game,but my advise to all those who felt dissapointed,check the games out that you maybe thinking about buying before you purchase,that way you will not waste your money,then start complaining,or have sour grapes about the game(s) saying they are rubbish!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 31 Dec 2013
By 
M. Staley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good buy and well worth adding to the growing collection of DVD hoarders - could be family heirloom almost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
Game is utterly incredible. Campaign is very long if done thoroughly but always extremely enjoyable, also the family system made this one of my favourite all time games. multiplayer isn't too amazing though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 6 April 2011
By 
Michael (Prague , Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
I had Godfather on PS2 and to be honest......if you liked that , don't buy this one as it is very dissapointing....slow and too many cutscenes and too much talk.

It feels like they just needed to make a bit more money on people's love for the Godfather.....not good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fun game, 8 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
if u are someone who likes a cahllenge then you will hate this game but if you like somthing to pick up play and talk with m8s or u want to relax then this game is amazings it's simple it's funny and it fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars actually can't find a negative in this., 25 April 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Godfather II (PS3) (Video Game)
I started righting an essay, but i can sum it up in one phrase. This game was great on all levels for me. Just pure fun. If you are looking for problems, like with everything, you'll find them.... no-one is perfect and that extends to products too.

Trust me this is not the worst thirty five to forty quid you'll spend. Don't listen to the negative reviews because as earlier said, this works in all the right areas, its exciting, fun and has a great story and 3 locations which you can move freely between.

I have ended up writing an essay. either way, buy it, don't buy it. whatever. but look at it like this. it wont be the worst decision you ever make. and if it is (and with some of these reviews you'd think it was) then you've had a privelaged life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a4e240)

This product

The Godfather II (PS3)
The Godfather II (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews