Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful interpretations
This is an album of superb Dylan interpretations and it's enlightening to hear his songs from a female perspective. I heard some of Dylan's songs here first and only later experienced his own versions, for example I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine which is definitely very different (and more beautiful to me) in Baez's version. Other great tracks include I Pity The Poor...
Published on 28 Nov 2004 by Pieter Uys

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars simple repackaging of Any Day Now
Not sure why this cd is so highly rated, it is basically just the entire Any Day Now album with just 4 extra tracks. To make matters worse they have randomly left off the impressive "Sad Eyed Lady" from the original collection and totally ignored the numerous alternate versions of Dylan songs that Baez has recorded over the years.

So what could have been a...
Published 9 months ago by manbearpig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful interpretations, 28 Nov 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
This is an album of superb Dylan interpretations and it's enlightening to hear his songs from a female perspective. I heard some of Dylan's songs here first and only later experienced his own versions, for example I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine which is definitely very different (and more beautiful to me) in Baez's version. Other great tracks include I Pity The Poor Immigrant (still as relevant as ever), Love Is Just A Four Letter Word, the heart-breaking Walls Of Redwing (about inmates in a jail), One Too Many Mornings, Boots Of Spanish Leather and Restless Farewell. Everything about this album is just so right: her phrasing, the choice of songs and her elegant delivery. This is a classic folk album of the 1960s and also essential listening for Dylan fans. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly splendid compilation from a wonderful singer!, 12 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
With the passage of years, one can forget just how exceptional Joan Baez was. This is a very fine compilation from the '60s.
The songs need little comment, for me the highlights include Farewell Angelina, Boots of Spanish Leather, Restless Farewell (a superb song and - joy - new to me) and North Country Blues.
Buy something from a singer with a tremendous voice - and not just a 'sweet singer' (too often applied to the feeble and wispy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insights into Dylan's music, 8 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
This is the closest re-release we have to Baez's 60's double set, "Any day Now", and includes a few numbers not on that set. At first appearances it might appeal most to those who find Dylan's singing voice at times mannered and irritating in his original or live recordings. However, the real virtue of this set, and the reason why it should be more popular with Dylan fans, is in the way it lifts a veil to reveal the superb quality of the musicality of Dylan's songs. Whereas Dylan himself frequently clips and flattens his music, all is revealed here, albeit at the expense of the some emotional content. An added bonus is a great performance of one of his finest songs, "Love is Just a Four-lettered Word", which he did not record himself. A gem of a gift to Baez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baez and Dylan..Made in (Folk) Heaven, 20 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this CD!! Dylan's songs are pure poetry and Baez's voice is poetry -how can you go wrong with a combo like this? I hate hearing people say that her voice is too angelic and sweet to sing these songs -it's not, if anything, it was made to sing these songs. I also hate how so many people take it upon themselves to protect Dylan and say that no one is worthy of covering his songs, like he's some semi-divine prophet or something.
I love Dylan, but, come on, there's no need for people to feel like they own him and bash everyone who covers his songs. In my opinion, his songs were made to be covered by different people. They're just too good to only have one version of them. His lyrics are lucid and multi-faceted, with many layers and dimensions to them and so it seems only natural that different artists shed their own, unique light on them. And, the versions of his songs on this CD are heart-stoppingly beautiful. Baez also knew Dylan and was his lover for a while so her interpretations of his songs are that much more special. Someone once said that it was like the musical equivalent of reading someone's love letters.
The highlights on this CD are "Love is Just a Four Letter Word" (which was never recorded by Dylan). It is my favourite song on this CD and one of my all-time favourite Baez songs of all time. Then there's "Boots of Spanish Leather", "Farewell Angelina", "North Country Blues" (which Baez infuses with a hearbreaking melancholy that is lacking from Dylan's original), "Love Minus Zero/No Limit" and "Restless Farewell". Her voice is in fine form here, you can hear how much she loves the material she is singing. Her voice expresses a breadth of things and manages to do so all at the same time -joy, happiness, ecstasy and also, great sadness. It is as pure as snow and her distinctive vibrato gives it a lovely tremulous quality that many have coveted, but none have ever been able to imitate. This CD is glorious. Buy it and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST., 10 July 2009
By 
T. A. M. Smith "Dog lover" (Worlington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
This is a hauntigly beautiful album by an inspirational artist. It has remained on my cd player since it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of both, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
Joan Baez has a tremendous and distinctive voice that is so well suited to singing the works of Bob Dylan. This album is a must if you are a fan of either or both. You can see what is on it from the track listing published by Amazon and most fans would agree that the selection has been well made. Joan Baez is one of those singers who those who don't know who she is go 'who's that...wow!' whenever they hear me playing one of her albums. Of her huge catalogue of albums this is one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as Ever!, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
Joan Baez sounds just as good as ever. Have been listening to her on and off for years and she sings great songs as well as having a great voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Her beautiful voice never fails., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
High rating because it is an excellent dvd bu l was slightly disappointed that not many of my favourite Dylan songs were on it.
I guess this was recorded a long time ago, so that would explain it.
Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a necessary album, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
I think it's clear that Dylan was the most original lyrist in popular song of the last 50 years, with perhaps Paul Simon and Bruce Springsteen, in very different ways, being candidates for that title -- but great as Simon and Springsteen at their best are, the sheer volume of really outstanding work that Dylan produced is what sets him apart. Here Joan Baez sings 20 of his songs, and we could probably think of as many more that have achieved iconic status. Hearing the ones on this CD (from albums recorded between 1963 and 1968) is to be reminded that not only is Dylan a great lyrist -- he's a great melodist too. His own singing sometimes undersells the sheer beauty of the melodies, and that's what Baez's singing makes clear. That's not to say that her versions are better than Dylan's own -- some are as good, and some not quite as good -- but the voice is lovely and the diction impeccable, two things that couldn't always be said of Bob! It's fascinating to hear the songs from 1963-65 -- "Farewell, Angelina," and "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" especially -- and hear the higher voice of Baez's earliest recordings. The 1968 selections (most of this CD) are down in the voice, as if the vocal problems that marked her later career had manifested themselves, perhaps. But still, they're great songs -- my favorites are "Love Minus Zero," "It Ain't Me, Babe," "One too many Mornings," "Boots of Spanish Leather," and "Don't think twice . . ." But what the heck -- they're all good. So get this for Baez, and get it for Dylan. This is history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars simple repackaging of Any Day Now, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baez Sings Dylan (Audio CD)
Not sure why this cd is so highly rated, it is basically just the entire Any Day Now album with just 4 extra tracks. To make matters worse they have randomly left off the impressive "Sad Eyed Lady" from the original collection and totally ignored the numerous alternate versions of Dylan songs that Baez has recorded over the years.

So what could have been a great collection is actually incredibly mundane, I wish I had just got the recent remastered version of Any Day Now. Somebody could have made a great cd with a simple compilation of Baez singing Dylan songs but sadly this is not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baez Sings Dylan
Baez Sings Dylan by Joan Baez
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews