Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with regard to the above
I try generally not to court too much controversy but on this occasion I'm prepared to stick my neck out. This album is so good, that if there is the occasional weak track it just doesn't matter when you've got songs like 'The pursuit of farmer Michael Hayes'. Honestly you can't underestimate the sheer power of it. Recall the horse chase in 'The legend of sleepy hollow'...
Published on 8 Jan 2008 by Mr. D. M. Butcher

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After the Break : Planxty
original line up of christy moore, andy irvine, liam o'flynn, donnal lunny and more.

This irish traditional band have a good mix of some immensely infectious songs and reels. Their great talent is reflected in the crisp instrumentals and distinct vocals. The band knit together with ease to create some superb songs such as the tale of 'The Good Ship Kangeroo'. A...
Published on 21 May 2006 by hannah win


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with regard to the above, 8 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. D. M. Butcher (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After The Break (Audio CD)
I try generally not to court too much controversy but on this occasion I'm prepared to stick my neck out. This album is so good, that if there is the occasional weak track it just doesn't matter when you've got songs like 'The pursuit of farmer Michael Hayes'. Honestly you can't underestimate the sheer power of it. Recall the horse chase in 'The legend of sleepy hollow' or the intensity of O'Connor's The star and the sea' and you've got the idea.Other songs of note include The rambling suiler and the Rambling boys of pleasure.
I saw Planxty live a couple of years ago and heard 'Words and music' some time ago but this is the one that gets me dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 6 Nov 2006
By 
Eoin Jordan (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After the Break (Audio CD)
The first Planxty album that I heard was their debut, which I honestly thought that they could not top, but "the break" obviously did them a world of good, as this album is just amazing. Right the way through, the choice of material, the playing, the singing and the production is faultless. Listen for "The Good Ship Kangaroo", "East at Glendart/Brian O'Lynn/Pay the Reckoning", "The Pursuit of Farmer Michael Hayes" and "Smeceno Horo". The latter two are especially outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well chosen selection of music, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Break (Audio CD)
Good foot tapping music, beautifully rendered. Highly recommended. Wonderful musicians giving of their best, Planxty at it's very best undoubtedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars After the break, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After The Break (Audio CD)
I bought this for one track in 16/8 time but the rest of the songs are excellent

and gopod service too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: After The Break (Audio CD)
Planxty.
How can you go wrong with the most talented line up in Irish music.
Worth getting even if you have other Planxty albums because the arrangements differ.
Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After the Break : Planxty, 21 May 2006
This review is from: After The Break (Audio CD)
original line up of christy moore, andy irvine, liam o'flynn, donnal lunny and more.

This irish traditional band have a good mix of some immensely infectious songs and reels. Their great talent is reflected in the crisp instrumentals and distinct vocals. The band knit together with ease to create some superb songs such as the tale of 'The Good Ship Kangeroo'. A few good memorable songs stand out but the rest are just a little muddy and merge into each other. Still the album holds some intresting traditional songs but this just doesnt live up to the standrds of Planxty's previous albums. Give it a try if your a die hard fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After The Break
After The Break by Planxty
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews