Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Rabbi
You just gotta love Jackie Mason! Still shooting from the hip after I don't know how many years he guides you from a gentle smirk to a broad chuckle and then on to a full blown "spit-your-dentures-out" cacophony of raucous laughter! Best time to watch it? A Friday night when you've been stressed out all week, this genius will help you blast away all you frustration with...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by Tortoise

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The same old same old ....
Received this the other day and I must say that I was very disappointed.

When interviewed in the "bonus" section of this DVD, Mr. Mason explains that this is his last Broadway show as each one contains "brand new material" that takes a long time to prepare. Well, as with so many of his shows, this is frankly just a re-hash of old routines we've all heard...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by Music Fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Rabbi, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
You just gotta love Jackie Mason! Still shooting from the hip after I don't know how many years he guides you from a gentle smirk to a broad chuckle and then on to a full blown "spit-your-dentures-out" cacophony of raucous laughter! Best time to watch it? A Friday night when you've been stressed out all week, this genius will help you blast away all you frustration with his spot-on observations, attacking everything that winds you up. I worship at the feet of this man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The same old same old ...., 1 Oct 2010
By 
Music Fan (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
Received this the other day and I must say that I was very disappointed.

When interviewed in the "bonus" section of this DVD, Mr. Mason explains that this is his last Broadway show as each one contains "brand new material" that takes a long time to prepare. Well, as with so many of his shows, this is frankly just a re-hash of old routines we've all heard before. It comes across as an extremely lazy exercise and to be honest, he doesn't perform as though his heart is really in it.

I became a big fan of Jackie Mason when he debuted his first Broadway show (and subsequent DVD) "The World According To Me" but over the years, he's had a tendency to rest on his laurels and roll out the same old gags again and again. Maybe Mr. Mason's decision to retire from live performance is timely .

I'd say if you already have a couple of Jackie Mason DVDs in your collection, you probably won't need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Mason retiring performance, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
I have never seen Jackie Mason before and I only found out about him because I jeard him on Desert Island Discs. Although the DVD showed he was telling some of the same jokes, he was overall extremely funny and relevant to present day issues (at the time of retirement). Certainly would recommend this for anyone who needs their spirits lifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too Jewish?, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. J. Allsop "Jake Allsop" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
Jackie Mason revels in his jewishness, and is amused by those who say he is too jewish. His observations on fhe faiblesses of his fellow human beings, jew and gentile alike, are delivered with rapid-fire wit, expressed in the inimitable cadences of yiddish speech. This is his farewell performance, and it really is the crowning achievement of his long career as a humourist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want cheering up, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
Has made all my family laugh hysterically. First Jewish comedian who really makes us laugh. Style of delivery quite old fashioned but you could listen to him again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ever, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
Jackie Mason will always be 1 of the best stand ups ever.this dvd just confirms it,brilliant!!! hour and a half flew by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was not form me but the person who I gave it to was over the moon! It was a very reasonable price and arrived in very good time.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good in bursts, 12 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
Some great laugh out loud one-liners (my favourite and probably worth the price is 'now you can get into USA if you have AIDS; if you got fruit, you can't') but otherwise dull to sit through - you really can only tell so many jokes on the basis 'I'm Jewish so it must be funny' - but he has made a career of it as he reminds us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Mason (Mason? Where does that come from?), 13 Aug 2010
By 
Patricia K. Cymbal (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
Jackie Mason is a hoot. I think he is very funny.I realise that, at times, he can seem rather offensive but then he's always offensive about the kind of people I don't like so who's complaining? I really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivery of Jackie Mson DVD, 9 May 2010
By 
Dr. Edward Gatner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD and asked it to de delivered to a friend in Nice (along with 2 'Thick of it' DVD). He tells me the goods arrived with the packaging mangled although the DVDs were playable. Ther DVD is excellent (if you like Jackie Mason)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD]
Jackie Mason - The Ultimate Jew [DVD] by Jackie Mason (DVD - 2009)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews