Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cringemaking, compelling comedy!
Seen through the eyes of the characters, Peep Show's real genius is in the fact that you can share Mark and Jez's thoughts as they go about their everyday lives. It sounds fairly mundane, but believe me, you will CRINGE as they have problems with their love lives careers and their friendship.

From Mark urinating in his boss's drawers at work, his problems with...
Published on 15 May 2005 by C. Gordon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intermittently funny
These, I think, have become a bit dated. After Mitchell and Webb's recently hysterically funny 'Ambassaors' series I was really looking forward to 'Peep Show', but it only occasionally raised a laugh. I think they tried too hard.
Published 10 months ago by Pam


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cringemaking, compelling comedy!, 15 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seen through the eyes of the characters, Peep Show's real genius is in the fact that you can share Mark and Jez's thoughts as they go about their everyday lives. It sounds fairly mundane, but believe me, you will CRINGE as they have problems with their love lives careers and their friendship.

From Mark urinating in his boss's drawers at work, his problems with the local kids, his obsession with his workmate, Sophie, Jez's conviction that he's a musical superstar, the pepperspraying incident, and possibly the shocker to end all shockers - Jez's recollection of the 'bad thing' *shudder* - you will be constantly muttering at the screen, 'You can't do that', 'you sick little monkey, etc etc etc.

This series is by far the best British comedy to come out since 'Spaced'. After years of crap comedy, Britain has something that is truly new and innovative. It is at times subtle, and at other times completely in your face. The reality of the whole thing, thanks to the character's interior monologues, is a joy, and easy to relate to your own life (and I suspect this is why it is so cringemaking - the 'I've been there, done that' feeling).

I want series 2 on DVD!

Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - The Best British Comedy of the last 20 Years, 3 Dec. 2004
By 
I include The Office in that! Mark and Jeremy are, in my opinion, the two funniest characters to grace the small screen in my lifetime, primarily because we all know people like them and wonder what makes them tick. More the original odd couple than The Odd Couple, the two main characters capture post-2000 Britain perfectly.
We've all seen David Brent doing his dance and cringed - you haven't seen anything until you watch this DVD. Like the previous reviewer, I'm only commenting on the series rather than the DVD, but if you get the humour, you will love this! I warn you now that you WILL try and convert people to this series, and not everyone gets it. I don't want to sound patronising, but if your idea of a good laugh is My Family or that awful "comedy" series starring Jasper Carrot, All About Me, don't buy this. Seriously. You won't like it. If however you liked Jam, Alan Partridge or The Office, buy this DVD and spread the word. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true modern classic, 7 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 to 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Surely most people reading this will be aware of the basic premise of peep show, but for the as-yet-uninitiated, a brief synopsis: Mark and Jeremy (David Mitchell and Robert Webb) are flatmates in suburban London. Mark is a reasonably successful executive in a finance company, Jez can be accurately described as a bum. The two of them have an oddly symbiotic relationship, with the massive character flaws in each of them strangely balanced out between them. Mitchell is quoted as saying that they both take comfort in the fact that they aren't the other. The series follow their exploits in a quirky style, with footage mainly shot from the perspective of the two characters, and a voiceover of the thoughts running through their heads adding another dimension to the comedy.
This unconventional style of filming is just one of the factors that makes Peep Show stand out from the crowd. The comedic talents of Mitchell and Webb are probably at their most sublime here, with spot-on timing and biting sarcasm seemingly second nature to both of them. The support characters are all unusually strong as well, with many cliches avoided and even minor characters contributing hilarious lines of dialogue (most noteworthy of all is Matt King as Superhans, Jez's bandmate, who is utterly sublime and ridiculous).
However, what really makes Peep Show is the writing. It goes without saying that good comedy needs a good script, but this is something else. The writers (Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain) clearly know Mitchell and Webb exceptionally well, and it's plain to see that Mark and Jez are massively grotesque versions of the actors that portray them. This, added to the razor sharp wit of all the contributors, means that the dialogue is always perfectly matched to the performers, and is also supremely well constructed.
In the hands of a less talented group of people, the idea of a POV sitcom with a voiceover of the characters' thoughts could have been carcrash television at its worst, but in the capable hands of Armstrong, Bain, Mitchell, Webb, and all the other contributors, the shooting style and voiceover ideas add new dimensions to the comedy. Beautifully crafted dialogue and plots follow in the rich vein of footlights comedy, with Blackadder an obvious influence. But Peep Show has a place of its own, as a modern take on these ideas, with cultural relevance and incicive wit. Somehow it has remained fresh (and even become more refined) since its inception, and long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Office Squared, 22 Jan. 2009
By 
Graham Mccarthy "gmccarthy15" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peep Show: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Whether you find Peep Show funny will depend a lot on your taste and sense of humour. If you like The Office and Extras then there is a very strong possibility that you like that brand of excruciating humour that has you thinking of excuses to look away or leave the room; if you do then you really should take a peek at Peep Show. The humour comes from the uninhibited, politically incorrect, and uncensored internal narrative of Mark (David Mitchell) and Jez (Robert Webb), as the two immature, social misfits inhabit a sequence of excruciatingly embarrassing, self-inflicted situations. Watching Peep Show is like watching a motorway pile-up, you'll want to look away but really can't.

David Mitchell managed to infuse every word with sarcasm and irony and Robert Webb is outstanding as the selfish, talentless and inadequate Jez, they both live the characters and never once look as if they're acting. Peep Show is The Office with its sleeves rolled up and spoiling for a fight - you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Comedy that deserves your attention, 8 May 2010
By 
B. Tamlyn "tamo49" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peep Show - Series 1 to 6 [DVD] (DVD)
All 6 seasons for £25? (correct at time of writing this) Madness! That's just over £4 a series. So why would you not want to purchase it? Peep Show is one of those shows that becomes part of British Culture and regularly pops up in those "50 Greatest Comedy Shows/Comedy Actors" programmes. And rightly so! I cannot compare it to anything I have seen in the last 10 years.

The POV style of filming is what gives Peep Show its best moments. To hear the inner workings of Mark and Jeremy and what they really feel is hilarious and shocking. "I would literally stab a baby" When I heard that I did recoil as I couldn't believe Mark had said it. However these are his private thoughts, shared with just us. There are plenty of moments throughout all the series that will stick with you and when you hear people around you quoting them, it's difficult not to smile and say something back. The writers have got the thought process of Mark and Jez spot on and we can all find a Mark or Jeremy out there. During the Election 2010 all I see is Mark!

Series One is by far the best for me. You get to see just how conniving and treacherous Mark and Jeremy can be and also for excellent framework for each subsequent series. Series One is full of some of the best quotes and funniest moments. I don't feel that there is a weak series at all. Mark gets more anal and Jeremy begins to lose the plot a bit. If you are still unsure about Peep Show, I highly recommend the episodes involving Jeremy and Mummy the Dog, Marks Big Day and anything with Super Hans. Most of the extra's on the DVD's are basic enough and add some further enjoyment once you have watched the whole series.

Thankfully a 7th series is on its way and can only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Show Were You'll See Your REAL LoveLife Up On Screen!, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
m.bison (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peep Show: Series 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
When most people think of The Peep Show, they tend to focus on the POV (point-of-view) camerawork were the audience sees everything through the eyes of the characters. Granted, this does make the show very unique, but it would be a crime if this made people overlook how intelligent, true-to-life and downright funny this show is. It's certainly one of the best British TV shows ever made. It deserves the acclaim and global recognition of something like The Office.

The way the grey areas of relationships is articulated and made light of is incredible. All the secret thoughts, anxieties, and dysfunctional behaviour that we all go through with the opposite sex is laid bare in every episode. The only other show that comes close to shining a light on these intangible grey areas of life and love is maybe Seinfeld, which isn`t as stuffy, inhibited and British as The Peep Show. Take the relationship of Mark and Sophie as a prime example. This isn't your typical King Of Queens, Mad About You, Chandler and Monica sit-com couple who have their ups and downs but basically love each other. Mark has such contempt for Sophie and feels completely trapped in the relationship. I've been there -- and I'm sure there are many, many other people out there who have also been stuck with someone they don't really want ... until of course that person dumps them! As Mark says to Jeremy in Series 4: "So now she's finished with you, suddenly you're in love with her again." As if Mark is the stupidest person alive, Jeremy says: "Exactly. DUR! That's how love works, Mark."

Absolutely brilliant. Buy this show now! ... Although with Series 5 currently being made, you may want to wait until the Series 1 to 5 boxset comes out if you`re looking to buy every Peep Show in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh so good, 12 Nov. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't want to repeat all of the other reviews, but I feel some things about this show deserve to be mentioned again; the characters in this show are superb, the most worrying thing is that most people can relate to them, either by have knowing someone like them or even having the same problems as them, if perhaps in a slightly less embarrasing format (hopefully). Also it is really cleverly thought up, not all jokes are 'in your face' and are really very clever, the camera angles make it quirky, and it is so refreshing to see a good british comedy rather than a cheesy american sitcom. I think that this show deserves to be in the limelight, it definitely is the best show on television at the moment and is completely underated for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They're laughing, Jeremy. They're having fun!", 18 Dec. 2004
I was, I have to admit, quite dubious about this comedy series when I first saw trailers for it on television. Oh no, I thought, another sitcom with a so-called quirky gimmick (the point-of-view camerawork). However, it seems that this was just a stealthy way of sneaking a well-written sitcom under the radar at Channel 4, perhaps in order that the press releases could go on about it being "innovative" or something.
Because what you have here is very simply a superbly crafted - and very traditional - piece of work; the story of a couple of blokes living in a shared flat and their inability to get on with the opposite sex or even communicate properly with their neighbours and friends (the fact that we hear the inner voices of Jeremy and Mark, the protagonists, reinforces the discrepancy between what they think and what they say).
Largely a comedy about embarrassment and social mores, there are some stand-out scenes on this DVD worthy of being celebrated alongside the best of The Office or Men Behaving Badly (although this is more Men Behaving Sadly). Unfortunately, taking them out of context does this show no favours at all (Mark trying to extricate his hand which has inadvertantly become trapped under Sophie's bum on a bus seat, Jeremy exacting revenge on Mark by filling his bed with pork products that spell out the word "Judas", SuperHans requesting a pint of Guinness with "no logo" - see, it doesn't seem funny written down). But somehow it all seems to work. The performances are uniformly excellent, the scripting is tight and often takes off in surprising and pleasing directions (the lead actors also contribute, according to the credits, which makes sense as we live in their heads so much). The naturalistic style and lack of laughter track also help. After watching this I find it hard not to think in the voices of Mark and Jeremy myself; it's full of so many quotable lines.
My favourite sitcoms of recent years have been Phoenix Nights, Black Books, Father Ted, Spaced, League Of Gentlemen, The Royle Family and Alan Partridge. This strangely under-rated (and under-ratings-achieving) sitcom deserves to rank amongst them. A BAFTA for series two, I reckon.
The DVD presentation is sound, although I would've preferred more commentary (first and last episode doesn't really cover it, especially as episode three is one of the best), and the extras are worth a couple of views if you want to know more about the characters' wants.
So, if you like your humour to mix the vulgar and the pathetic in the most excruciating of ways, do splash out on this DVD. To not do so would be "a bad thing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute genius, 29 Dec. 2004
By 
D. WHARTON (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I almost missed this absolute gem but luckily was recommended it by a mate.
Pure genius, much in the same way Pheonix Nights didn't quite get the recognition it deserved with it coming out at the same time as The Office, Peep Show may be overlooked by most with the mighty Little Britain being the peoples choice at the moment.
You can get a brief synopsis of the series in another review but it's simplicity allows you to get straight into it. Filmed in third person this wouldn't be anything special. Filmed in point of view style like this is makes it a classic. Hard to believe that a camera angle can make the difference but watch it and you literally find yourself in the character's places.
If you've never seen it, and like me missed the original airing, then buy it now, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two lovable losers watching telly in an ex-council flat, 21 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first few series of Peep Show have some truly classic moments of British comedy. This was before the characters morphed into caricatures, and before the writers became overly reliant on the, "Oh, no: they didn't!" type of shock humour which became tiresomely predictable some time around series five.

Peep Show stars two twenty-something best friends who met at uni: Mark and Jeremy. They are also co-dependent losers; who have struck up a bond of co-habitation as a fix for each of their most significant personality flaws.

Jeremy is the socially successful partner, on account of him having one other friend: the outlandish and infinitely cooler "Superhanz". Mark is the vocationally successful one, on account of him not being unemployed and because he owns the ex-council flat they live in.

Each character is terrible at what the other does best. Jeremy can't get a job, can't pay Mark rent, and his "band" with Superhanz isn't much more than an excuse to take drugs and a vehicle to try and impress girls with. Meanwhile, Mark is completely unable to pluck up the courage and ask out his love interest at work: "Sophie"; getting railroaded into the friend zone while watching a more stereotypically alpha male colleague have his way with her.

However, each character is also objectively terrible in their own sphere. Jeremy was recently dumped by his girlfriend, and spends the series unsuccessfully trying to impress their married neighbour. Mark, on the other hand, is a corporate drone, working as a loan officer at JLB Credit -- which has got to be the most depressing job title ever -- and gets passed over for promotion in favour of his love interest.

These two come home in the evening, and like real people they sit around watching telly, cracking awful jokes about whatever bit of mundane rubbish is on; they leave horribly embarrassing misjudged voicemail messages to people they like; and they make total idiots of themselves at parties. Finally some sitcom characters I can relate to!

This show is shot entirely from first-person camera angles, while Mark and Jeremy annotate the dialogue with their own neurotic internal monologue. This is truly a fantastic innovation, giving us gems such as Mark's series-long personal debate over whether his swollen testicals merit an embarrassing visit to the doctor, while it lets us know that Jeremy is just as insecure as the rest of us.

In later series Jeremy becomes a shallow, self-centred, and implausibly successful sex machine; while Mark becomes his prudish up-tight counterpart, a million miles away from the guy who smoked weed in a bowling alley toilet cubicle to impress a teenage goth (S1E3). I just wish Channel 4 would stop ruining my favourite comedies by commissioning them long after they've overstayed their welcome. I'm not grumbling because the later series are objectively bad, just that they are not nearly as good as what came before. Peep Show series one and two will always reside high up in my personal pantheon of all-time comedy greats. People new to this show must -- seriously, must! -- start off from the very beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peep Show - Series 1 to 6 [DVD]
Peep Show - Series 1 to 6 [DVD] by Tristram Shapeero (DVD - 2009)
£53.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews