Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Contemporary British Television
Shameless, a BAFTA award winning comedy, set in Manchester's fictional Chatsworth Estate follows the lives of a varied set of characters. Who knows, you might even find yourself relating to one or two of them no matter how obscene some of thier actions and language can be. As the script writing and plot becomes more sophisticated and clever so does the editing and...
Published on 6 May 2009 by Kenneth Mckeating

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameless? More like Shameful
Swearing doesn't bother me, far from it, Reservoir Dogs is my favourite film if that helps any.

My big problem with Shameless is that it isn't funny. AT ALL. I watched four episodes on television and didn't laugh once. Everyone says that it's a well written show by a visionary, Paul Abbott and that it's amazingly realistic. Shakespeare was a visionary, Abbott...
Published on 22 April 2010 by John Q


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Contemporary British Television, 6 May 2009
By 
Kenneth Mckeating (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Shameless, a BAFTA award winning comedy, set in Manchester's fictional Chatsworth Estate follows the lives of a varied set of characters. Who knows, you might even find yourself relating to one or two of them no matter how obscene some of thier actions and language can be. As the script writing and plot becomes more sophisticated and clever so does the editing and production. It's a must see for anyone who has hit reality and needs to see some proper contemporary British Televison. Each episode focuses on various problems families and society really do encounter, no matter how ugly! Each series will leave you wanting more, especially when you reach the end of series six!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally somthing funny, 11 May 2009
By 
A. T. Storm "antstorm" (ecstasydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
finally something funny comes along that shows the dark and light side of lower end families , the humour is easy to understand and could easily be transferred into Aussie humour

its time to get rid of tripe like neighbours , home and away , coronation St and eastenders

this show is , in my book , a genius , and whilst i cant say i come from a working class family , its easy to empathise with these people and fall in love with them , warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure gold, 2 Jun 2009
By 
K. Ashley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion this is one of the funniest shows I have watched for years. I cannot think of another comedy that is so deft at making such social comments at the same time. The writing transforms to the screen at a crackling pace.
It is about time that comedy ' came out of the cold ' and gave us a gutsy performance. This it does !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm moving to England, 27 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
We have nothing on this barren side of the pond that approaches the drop-dead humor of this series. While some may find it a bit rude there are plenty of folks out there who are humor-challenged and never laugh at anything. If your funny bone is intact you'll just love both the bawdy fun and great acting this set provides. We've unlocked our DVD player to play region 2 offerings, well worth the simple doings. Bully!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shamelessly good., 21 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Clark (Gravesend, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
If like me you missed episodes and whole series of this great Channel 4 tv series, here's the antidote. The boxed set of series 1 - 6 allows you to relive, recall and recover lost ground. Top marks for bringing the full hillarious grotesque horror of the Chatsworth Estate in one boxed set. Lots of laughs and lots of groans of disgust and shock with the occasional flash of humanity to allow you to keep faith in mankind. Make poverty history...not if it means the end of the Gallaghers and the McGuires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shameless Box Set, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. Rachel Curtis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
This product was ideal and so easy and hassle free to purchase. Had been hunting around for the Shameless box set for some time but found it too expensive else where. The goods were delivered in the time frame that was specified, in perfect condition and at an amazing price. This DVD series always brings a smile to my face and now I can enjoy any episode at any time :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shameless Universe, 3 Sep 2009
By 
A. J. Osborne (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Immerse yourself in this award winning show.
The characters are not lovable, but challenging and human. The situations can be confronting and often hilarious. It manages to portray something warm and profound about relationships, family and community amidst the underbelly of UK sink estates and make you laugh out loud at the same time.

The extras on DVD are weak - but really who cares when the scripts are so strong. You really see characters develop and change, see the kids grow up over the 6 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great show crap packaging, 28 Mar 2014
By 
PAUL JAG "P J au" (WARRAGUL VIC AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
love this show got it for a great price shame zoverstocks did not use better packaging to get it to me in australia dvd casing was badly damaged had to tape it back together all 21 discs are in a hard plastic booklike setup about 6 of these were broken. it came in a padded bag should have been a box to protect it more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone needs to watch this, as it is so funny. Yes it is a little crazy here and there and the later series get worse, but this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] (DVD)
Great show :) Loved every second.
Couldn't stop watching just after the first dvd. This is awesome. Loved it. The only contra was that it ended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD]
Shameless - Series 1-6 [DVD] by Dominic Leclerc (DVD - 2009)
70.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews