Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars114
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2011
Just like everything Anthony Horowitz writes, this is brilliant. The story, on the surface, is about a major (and I mean MAJOR) car crash. However, as the series continues, it becomes the story of peoples past, the things they have done and how the crash has has an effect on their futures. With the story twisting and turning at every possible moment, Collision is a series everyone can relate to, with exiting moments throughout. To sum up, this series is AWESOME!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
Yet another solid English drama, 'Collision' is a major achievement in carrying a truck load of characters yet not being at all confusing. The use of travelling backwards and forwards in time enabled the writers to flesh out all the characters and allow the plot to unfold episode by episode.

Despite what one reviewer said about the actual collision scenes (and an actor's hair do - give me a break !), I felt they were terrifyingly realistic. As someone who drives long distances on major freeways every week, I was once again reminded of how completely abitrary, and calamitous, some accidents are. I shall be even more vigilant in maintaining my distance from other vehicles whilst travelling at 110 km/h. I'd almost go so far as to say that this should be mandatory viewing for all drivers, particilarly those that use high-speed roadways.

Prepare yourself for a bumpy but gripping ride with 'Collision', easily sustained through all five well crafted episodes. Highly recommended, except to those who live vicariously through attaching themselves to minor celebrities and think everyone working for The Met should have fab hair:-) This is the real world, and as such, not all characters are portrayed as catwalk models. Surpringly, not all of the uniformed Met workers get their hair done at Realhair in Chelsea, and their uniforms are not made and designed by Lacroix. If potential viewers think this may be an issue, this mini-series is not for you. If this is a serious criticism by the reviewer, then I think it clearly gives you an idea of her priorities in film production.
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 November 2009
I watched this on ITV, taking a bit of a punt as some of their dramas are pretty awful.

Collision is a mix of whodunnit (murder, deception, deceit, it has the lot) and people watching, as a combination of mundane lives are thrown together due to the fatal crash. The flashbacks tell how the drivers and passengers came to be in the accident, drip feeding more information to us as it builds up speed.

Holding it together is the crash investigator, whose story we learn throughout the course of the investigation.

All in all a fascinating story which doesn't lose momentum throughout its journey.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Compelling and gripping drama, initially focusing on an accident investigation then turning into a web of murder, people trafficking, drugs and infidelity. Fantastically filmed and great acting, but what happened in the end with the other cases e.g. the government cover-up and the people smuggling? What happens to the guy who killed his mother-in-law and tried to cover it up by taking off her seat belt? And what happens with Jane's affair with the married man? Too many loose ends to make this a complete drama. Yes, the cause of the accident was solved, but what would have clinched this drama and get 5 stars from me, would have been to see all the other cases solved and storylines ended. I still would recommend Collision.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
This is very much a boxset to watch all in one go, as it relies on the viewer being vigilant. Despite the show's flaws, it does have good re-watch value.

The premise is that there is a pile-up on the A-12, involving eight cars. There's some fatalities, some critical injuries and some escape with a few scratches and a bad arm. But our lead policeman John Tolin (Douglas Henshall) does some sleuthing and discovers that there are some dodgy dealings about. He is paired up with policewoman Ann (Kate Ashford) with whom he naturally has romantic history with. So, who are all these people and what's going on?

That is really the show's problem for the middle three episodes. In the opener, we see some intrigue and wait to learn more about that, only for more 'intrigue' and characters to keep piling up. Clearly this was done to stretch the show to five episodes (one was shown every weekday for a week). The criminal activity was all a bit vague and unconvincing, lacking any tension, though there is a pay off of sorts for the blandest one in the penultimate episode. If they'd left that, the show could have focused on the more interesting criminal activity; the dodgy secrets of a large company that one of the people involved in the crash, PA Karen (Claire Rushbrook) is on the brink of exposing.

Buried underneath all of this unconvincing no-tension dodgy dealings are the secrets of a private piano tutor (David Bamber), the rubbish relationship of roadside diner waitress Jane (Lucy Griffiths), the millionaire who wants to whisk her off her feet (Paul McGann), a man (Phil Davis) and his mother-in-law (Sylvia Sims), and a young black couple (Anwar Lynch and Leonora Crichlow). These stories are quite well written: because some of them are predictable, it means that others surprise you because of course, you're expecting everything to be predictable and lazy. And of course, it's an ITV drama, so predictable and lazy are par for the course.

Acting-wise, the dodgy dealers are passable but the main actors are actually quite good. True, they're not given outstanding material and due to the large cast, characters do not get a lot of chance to develop, particularly the relationship between Griffiths and McGann's characters. Their chemistry is more like daughter and father so it's a bit off-putting to imagine them as lovers but these characters were always looking for an escape route.

Personally I think the show was at its best when dealing with the personal consequences. Of course, we wouldn't get the irritating police couple or the good performance of Jo Woodcock as John's daughter, but it would be more interesting. Writer Anthony Horowitz was clearly capable of doing something more subtle but ITV clearly thought it would be more appealing as a police procedural show.

The end episode is satisfying and does leave you thinking about how the crash had such a vast effect (the butterfly effect). Though some characters obviously end up worse, others get the chance of freedom, so there's some interesting ethical dilemmas.

The show is worth a watch if you can pick it up cheap- it's on Amazon for under a fiver at the moment and it's just about worth that. Yes, it is mainly a stretched out police procedural but there are some interesting twists.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
A big pileup on the A12 reveals lots of secrets and lies. It's the job of DI John Tolin (Doug Henshall) to untangle it all and get to the cause of the crash, while he's still coping with the aftermath of his own personal tragedy.
The plot is fast and furious, involving crimes, theft, coverups, betrayal, murder and deception galore along with a bucketful of red herrings. It's all a bit unlikely, but the writing and the excellent cast manage to pull it off with aplomb. It kept me riveted and I watched the whole series in one night. It ends with a lovely series of montages showing what might have happened to the main characters if one small action in the first episode had happened differently - a sort of mini-"Sliding Doors". The final episode was a bit rushed and leaves several plot threads unresolved; I would have liked a second series!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
.
"A split second that changes everything." - host, David Tennant

Five RIVETING Stars! This Masterpiece Contemporary film, "Collision", is a long, but very interesting 3 hour plus film which is divided into five parts. It details the people and the factors that were involved in a fictional Friday evening multi-car pileup at 5:57 PM on the A12 route that leads into and from London, England.

The 2009 British film begins after the accident when the lead investigator, Detective Inspector John Tolin starts going through the files, after being warned the government might have been involved and legally liable. As he proceeds, he places the names of the survivors and deceased on a blank white board. Generally as each picture is revealed, the film follows the victims as they go about their day leading up to the tragedy and what they intended to do if the accident had not occurred: 2 unrelated secretive meetings, an opening speech, a leisurely drive, a family dinner, the mysterious "Home 2 Bed" panel truck driver, and so on. And when the accident happens, it is truly quick and awful, on both sides of the median. Then a lawsuit is quickly threatened. The most interesting part begins when the relentless Tolin investigates the occupants of each vehicle involved and finds in some cases there is less innocence than first suspected. Indeed, Tolin has his own problems, even with his female partner which is tracked throughout the film. While very long, it is often riveting material that unfolds long after the accident, as the truth about the participants is revealed. The thoughtful and unexpected ending is very well done. Starring Douglas Henshall, Kate Ashfield, Dean Lennox Kel, Phillip Davis, Sylvia Syms, Paul Mcgann, Lucy Griffiths, Claire Rushbrook, et al. Created by Anthony Horowitz. Directed by Marc Evans. Highly Recommended. Five COMPELLING Stars! (Masterpiece Contemporary. Rated TV-PG. Color. CC. Time-3:20:34.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
at theStunning creation by the writer. As the story unfolded I was spellbound by the various and different characters who eventually emerged from every crevice. The lies and receipt abounded in every scene.
The crash scenes were brilliant with over powering realism.
Every kind of person was involved as the story slowly moved from fiction to fact.
The settings at the end were out of this world as we were shown how the crash actions were actually made.
One of the best car crash accidents I have ever seen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
This is the DVD of a five episode television thriller which I originally watched when it was first broadcast but unfortunately missed one of the episodes
A well put together tale of the events surrounding a major collision and the lives of those affected by the event and subsequent investigation
Gripping stuff.............well worth watching to the very end!

Also included on the DVD is a feature showing how the production crew filmed the collision...........Magnificent!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Absolute positive proof that in this country and in this business of film making, we are beyond and above probably all our contenders, a brilliant script, concept, and above all else an emotional rollercoaster of a series. Loved every minute of it, actors and dare I say actresses of a phenomenal standard, and most, but not all, that I have never previously had the honor of seeing perform before. Bring it on time and time again. In a nutshell, Fabulous!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)