Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorists beware !
Yet another solid English drama, 'Collision' is a major achievement in carrying a truck load of characters yet not being at all confusing. The use of travelling backwards and forwards in time enabled the writers to flesh out all the characters and allow the plot to unfold episode by episode.

Despite what one reviewer said about the actual collision scenes (and...
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by Roderick Keech

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but full of filler
This is very much a boxset to watch all in one go, as it relies on the viewer being vigilant. Despite the show's flaws, it does have good re-watch value.

The premise is that there is a pile-up on the A-12, involving eight cars. There's some fatalities, some critical injuries and some escape with a few scratches and a bad arm. But our lead policeman John Tolin...
Published 9 months ago by Miss Scarlett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorists beware !, 4 Dec 2009
By 
Roderick Keech (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Yet another solid English drama, 'Collision' is a major achievement in carrying a truck load of characters yet not being at all confusing. The use of travelling backwards and forwards in time enabled the writers to flesh out all the characters and allow the plot to unfold episode by episode.

Despite what one reviewer said about the actual collision scenes (and an actor's hair do - give me a break !), I felt they were terrifyingly realistic. As someone who drives long distances on major freeways every week, I was once again reminded of how completely abitrary, and calamitous, some accidents are. I shall be even more vigilant in maintaining my distance from other vehicles whilst travelling at 110 km/h. I'd almost go so far as to say that this should be mandatory viewing for all drivers, particilarly those that use high-speed roadways.

Prepare yourself for a bumpy but gripping ride with 'Collision', easily sustained through all five well crafted episodes. Highly recommended, except to those who live vicariously through attaching themselves to minor celebrities and think everyone working for The Met should have fab hair:-) This is the real world, and as such, not all characters are portrayed as catwalk models. Surpringly, not all of the uniformed Met workers get their hair done at Realhair in Chelsea, and their uniforms are not made and designed by Lacroix. If potential viewers think this may be an issue, this mini-series is not for you. If this is a serious criticism by the reviewer, then I think it clearly gives you an idea of her priorities in film production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful drama, cleverly interwoven, 16 Nov 2009
By 
MartinRG "martinrg" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I watched this on ITV, taking a bit of a punt as some of their dramas are pretty awful.

Collision is a mix of whodunnit (murder, deception, deceit, it has the lot) and people watching, as a combination of mundane lives are thrown together due to the fatal crash. The flashbacks tell how the drivers and passengers came to be in the accident, drip feeding more information to us as it builds up speed.

Holding it together is the crash investigator, whose story we learn throughout the course of the investigation.

All in all a fascinating story which doesn't lose momentum throughout its journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Drama, 6 Jan 2010
By 
I. A. Kaye (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Compelling and gripping drama, initially focusing on an accident investigation then turning into a web of murder, people trafficking, drugs and infidelity. Fantastically filmed and great acting, but what happened in the end with the other cases e.g. the government cover-up and the people smuggling? What happens to the guy who killed his mother-in-law and tried to cover it up by taking off her seat belt? And what happens with Jane's affair with the married man? Too many loose ends to make this a complete drama. Yes, the cause of the accident was solved, but what would have clinched this drama and get 5 stars from me, would have been to see all the other cases solved and storylines ended. I still would recommend Collision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High speed action., 10 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Just like everything Anthony Horowitz writes, this is brilliant. The story, on the surface, is about a major (and I mean MAJOR) car crash. However, as the series continues, it becomes the story of peoples past, the things they have done and how the crash has has an effect on their futures. With the story twisting and turning at every possible moment, Collision is a series everyone can relate to, with exiting moments throughout. To sum up, this series is AWESOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story but full of filler, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is very much a boxset to watch all in one go, as it relies on the viewer being vigilant. Despite the show's flaws, it does have good re-watch value.

The premise is that there is a pile-up on the A-12, involving eight cars. There's some fatalities, some critical injuries and some escape with a few scratches and a bad arm. But our lead policeman John Tolin (Douglas Henshall) does some sleuthing and discovers that there are some dodgy dealings about. He is paired up with policewoman Ann (Kate Ashford) with whom he naturally has romantic history with. So, who are all these people and what's going on?

That is really the show's problem for the middle three episodes. In the opener, we see some intrigue and wait to learn more about that, only for more 'intrigue' and characters to keep piling up. Clearly this was done to stretch the show to five episodes (one was shown every weekday for a week). The criminal activity was all a bit vague and unconvincing, lacking any tension, though there is a pay off of sorts for the blandest one in the penultimate episode. If they'd left that, the show could have focused on the more interesting criminal activity; the dodgy secrets of a large company that one of the people involved in the crash, PA Karen (Claire Rushbrook) is on the brink of exposing.

Buried underneath all of this unconvincing no-tension dodgy dealings are the secrets of a private piano tutor (David Bamber), the rubbish relationship of roadside diner waitress Jane (Lucy Griffiths), the millionaire who wants to whisk her off her feet (Paul McGann), a man (Phil Davis) and his mother-in-law (Sylvia Sims), and a young black couple (Anwar Lynch and Leonora Crichlow). These stories are quite well written: because some of them are predictable, it means that others surprise you because of course, you're expecting everything to be predictable and lazy. And of course, it's an ITV drama, so predictable and lazy are par for the course.

Acting-wise, the dodgy dealers are passable but the main actors are actually quite good. True, they're not given outstanding material and due to the large cast, characters do not get a lot of chance to develop, particularly the relationship between Griffiths and McGann's characters. Their chemistry is more like daughter and father so it's a bit off-putting to imagine them as lovers but these characters were always looking for an escape route.

Personally I think the show was at its best when dealing with the personal consequences. Of course, we wouldn't get the irritating police couple or the good performance of Jo Woodcock as John's daughter, but it would be more interesting. Writer Anthony Horowitz was clearly capable of doing something more subtle but ITV clearly thought it would be more appealing as a police procedural show.

The end episode is satisfying and does leave you thinking about how the crash had such a vast effect (the butterfly effect). Though some characters obviously end up worse, others get the chance of freedom, so there's some interesting ethical dilemmas.

The show is worth a watch if you can pick it up cheap- it's on Amazon for under a fiver at the moment and it's just about worth that. Yes, it is mainly a stretched out police procedural but there are some interesting twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thriller/Drama., 6 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this DVD, I think Douglas Henshall is a brilliant actor and to carry a 5 hr story through to its conclusion was well worth watching. Arrived in expected time frame. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
i bought this DVD for two reasons: Amazon reviews and having loved Foyles war i felt that the writer Anthony Horowitz can do no wrong.

This is a very clever story about a tragic accident and the people involved whose lives were effected by it. It is not just a story about a crash, but five interwoven stories that have been brilliantly pieced together by the writer. Why it happened,is an anti-climax and i won't spoil it for you, but you will have to wait till the end to find out why, and when you do you may feel like i did, in that the "why" is not really relevant. As the plot unfolds, all is not what it seems and this is what endeared me to the series. The story developes slowly as Detective Inspector John Tolin puts it altogether piece by piece and you actually kick yourself as you naturally come to the wrong conclusions. Like a detective novel, you are sure you have got the right killer only to get to the last page and you ask yourself, "why didn't i think of him"?

In conclusion, do what i did and put an evening aside and watch it one go. First class British entertainment like only the Brits can do !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many-Layered, Suspenseful, Intellectually Challenging, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Collision [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
"Collision," an excellent ITV British mystery/police procedural television series, concerns a Friday 5:57 PM rush hour, six-car collision on Great Britain's busy A12 near Chelmsford that has left two dead on the scene and two critically wounded, with further deaths to come.

And it's quite unusual for a British mystery, in that the mystery to be investigated will be this major automotive crash, on which Detective Inspector John Tolin (Douglas Henshall-- If Only [DVD] [1998]) will be assigned, after a lengthy leave of absence, to work with his former lover, Senior Investigating Officer Ann Stallwood (Kate Ashfield --Shaun of the Dead - Limited Edition sleeve design (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [2004]). It has a large cast, is complex and suspenseful, and, furthermore, is consistently intellectually challenging, relying on none of the lazy plotting you might see in a similarly-themed American TV production. It has also been well filmed, on location, with the typical first-class British production values, and mise en scene, with no stinting on cast, supporting characters, extras, cars, or interiors.

It appears that a quiet, little-known piano teacher, Sidney Norris (David Bamber) initially loses control of his car. Thereafter, personal assistant (P.A.). Karen Donnelly (Claire Rushbrook), on a secretive errand, smashes into him. Next up, Daniel Rampton (Dean Lennox Kelly), driving a van bringing furniture from the Netherlands, runs into them and jumps the median. Whereupon Rampton is hit by a handsome young black couple in a silver BMW, speeding en route to the woman's 23rd birthday party, with a police car in hot pursuit. Then Brian Edwards (Phil Davis), who is driving his difficult mother-in-law (Sylvia Syms--Thatcher - The Final Days [DVD]) in his SUV, on another somewhat shadowy errand, runs into them, as does wealthy executive Richard Reeves (Paul McGann), in his chauffeur-driven limousine. Finally, after the police arrive on the scene, Rampton flees it.

You would think this production must bear some relation to the American Oscar Winner Crash [2004] [DVD] [2005]. But, aside from the fact that both center on fatal, multi-car crashes near major cities - "Crash" is set near Los Angeles--the resemblance is surprisingly little. Perhaps most obviously, while many of the large British cast come bearing familiar faces, the British TV production boasts no real stars, whereas the large cast of the American theatrical movie "Crash" is star-laden. The largest difference, however, must be in the reputed preachy, cliché-ridden nature of Paul Haggis's American film, which I have avoided seeing, versus the many-layered, cool intellectual risk-taking of the British series, as created by that brilliant scriptwriter Anthony Horowitz (Foyle's War - The Complete Collection (Series 1-5) [DVD]).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant script, concept, 30 Aug 2014
Absolute positive proof that in this country and in this business of film making, we are beyond and above probably all our contenders, a brilliant script, concept, and above all else an emotional rollercoaster of a series. Loved every minute of it, actors and dare I say actresses of a phenomenal standard, and most, but not all, that I have never previously had the honor of seeing perform before. Bring it on time and time again. In a nutshell, Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe I 'd never heard of it, 14 April 2014
I was gripped from start to end and what and ending it was! Fantastic viewing with superb performances. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collision [DVD] [2009]
Collision [DVD] [2009] by Marc Evans (DVD - 2009)
£5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews