Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2003
The musical arrangements are simple, the guitar is placed in the mix in an up front and in your face level yet it all works out perfectly.
The beauty of this CD is how it can distract and soothe your mind from the ethic overload of daily life.
This is the perfect CD to place in your sound system when you are having friends over for a meal and you want to create a warm and friendly ambiance.
The music is elegant and not pretentious. A great CD.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2006
In the CD cover notes Metheny writes: "This record is essentially about one sound, basically one mood, and taking the time to go deep inside that single world." Showcasing his custom-made baritone guitar and using a "special low Nashville tuning", One Quiet Night does draw you deeply into the improvisational space of one of the leading current exponents of fusion guitar. While there are a handful of covers, including Keith Jarret's My Song and, astonishingly, Ferry Cross The Mersey, the album mostly comprises Metheny originals - reminiscent perhaps of New Chautauqua - that sometimes sound like sketches for Pat Metheny Group pieces. Although bound to appeal to guitarists, it's a solid and harmonically initriguing album, mostly recorded at the artist's New York home in November 2001, and illustrating yet further Metheny's extraordinary talent for creating music on the fly. As he writes: "I hope this... will offer some peace and enjoyment." And it does that.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
I know people who call this background music. Is that true ? Yes, in so far that almost every kind of music from Bach and Mozart to The Rolling Stones can be used as background music. But it's not true if you take the time to listen carefully. There can be a lot of variety, compare for instance 'Song For The Boys' with the dreamy 'Another Chance', but variety is not the message of this CD. You have to listen to the recording as a whole, pretty much as a symphony in classical music. Let's hear what Pat Metheny has to say: 'This record is about essentially one sound, basically one mood, and taking the time to go deep inside that single world'.
One thing: if you're not familiar with the sound and the tuning of this baritone guitar, it may take a little while to get used to it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2004
Heard 'Don't Know Why' on a Jools Holland repeat over Christmas, bought this album to hear that track again, found the rest to be just as great. Stunning.
This has now become my perfect 'wind down' album at the end of the day.
Deserves a much wider audience and greater acclaim. A truly breathtaking album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2003
Well worthwhile.It is Metheny in total laid-back mode with mostly home recordings on his special Baritone Guitar. Some of it is improvisational. He also takes-on favourite tunes like Don't Know Why and Ferry Cross The Mersey. The mix is upfront but his playing is so gentle and sparing, making the whole project a joy. Much better and more inspired than his recent Pat Metheny Group recordings
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2004
Ideal late night listening ! Great music to accompany a glass of wine !! Get a grip, man !!!
This was essentially a couple of rehersal tracks augmented by a handful of well-known tunes that was released to demonstrate the sonorities of his new baritone guitar, as well as an opportunity to employ some unfamiliar tunings on his instrument. Unfortunately for other guitarists, what may appear to be a bit of practice for Mr. Metheny has effectively thrown down the gauntlet to his fellow instrumentalists. Having tried to learn jazz piano for a few years with little success,I have whetted my apetite for re-harmonising standards. From what meagre knowledge I have acquired, I would suggest that there are very few musicians who have "ears" as good as this remarkable musician. (Mike Brcker & Herbie Hancock spring to mind as examples.) I suggest that listeners start with the Norah Jones' cover that uses some amazing modulations. Put simply, Metheny is a harmonic genius. On top of this , you then have to consider his phenominal technique. I would imagine that musicians would get alot out of this record - certainly I am discovering new things each time it visits my CD player. Better musicians that me would be able to explain what exactly is going on on this album.It would make fascinating listening to have this music properly explained.
The success of Pat Metheny is due to the fact that he has given technically very advanced ideas the accessibility of pop music. "One quiet night" should not be considered muzak to be played in the background anymore than Bach. Whilst it is true that the music is very approachable, this CD represents a window into the private world of one of today's truly great musicians. This is a record that will be treasured by future generations of both jazz and guitar fans.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 March 2012
Pat Metheny is a great musician,who just happens to play guitar. His approach is more akin to that of a keyboard player-looking to create a breadth of feeling and sound through the exploitation of the harmonic and tonal possibilities available to him by his chosen instrument.Pat is a rarity in the guitar world because he tends to focus on composition,atmosphere and arrangement rather then 'hot' licks. This makes him incredibly adaptable as a musician and very listener friendly, hence the artistic success of such projects as this truly beautiful album.

'One Quiet Night' is about Pat the craftsman,using all his considerable knowledge and technique to create a a truly personal piece of work. Essentially it's an engagingly folksy-jazz amalgam that is both delicately intricate yet pleasingly warm, involving and melodic.There is considerable virtuosity here but it's all in the service of the music,so if you are hoping to hear Metheny letting rip, it might be best best to avoid this set altogether.

My advice- put this disc on in the evening and sit back and enjoy- it's a wonderful collection that will bring you the lucky listener a lot of pleasure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 November 2003
I have been a fan of Pat Metheny for many years now and didn't know what to expect when I discovered that this album was simply him playing the baritone guitar with no overdubs. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this album. The two tracks from it that really stick in my mind are "Don't know why" for the sheer beauty of the melody and also "Ferry across the Mersey" for the quirkiness of the arrangement and for also making a familiar track like that seem so fresh. Overall, every track works well and the album as a whole is a masterpiece of jazz guitar.
The other point worth noting is that the recording is excellent. The sound and range of the baritone guitar really come though and the level of reverb on the tracks makes them feel warm and big without swamping the recording or distracting the listener. In summary, buy this CD! I have the majority of Pat's work and this is definitely one of my favourites.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2003
I heard a couple of tracks from this CD on Late Junction (Radio 3)
and thought - I've just got to have that! Quiet, thoughtful music
to soothe after a busy day. Pat's guitar playing is full of character and this comes through with the sometimes weird
harmonies, but it's all so right....
A must for all Metheny fans.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2004
I bought this exceptionally beautiful peace of work the day it was released, notice the intentional spelling mistake as "peace" is what this album will give you, it dont matter whether you like pop, rock, R&B or Jazz for which Pat is know more widely for, this album is totally stimulating, relaxing and calming and most of all uplifting. I cannot stress how much you will get out of listening to this excellent guitarist concentrating on playing a single Baritone accoustic guitar, first take live in his own home. A truly rewarding experience which for me is Pats best solo effort and totally blows away for example "New Chauataqua", I just wish he'd come over to the Uk and do a combined performance of this and another favourite the excellent "A Map Of The World", just buy it do yourselves a favour!.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£10.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)