Customer Reviews


563 Reviews
5 star:
 (459)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio FX 83 Calculator
I bought this for my son who was starting secondary school on the recommendation of the school. The display on the calculator allows for more readable sums, fractions for example allow you to actually see one number abover the other one instead of using some weird symbol like the calculators when I was at school. The calculator is very simple to use, as well as the...
Published on 29 Aug. 2010 by C. Buck

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disapointed
it does what is told on the box but for one obvious problem. I have had several calculators before and I have never known the numbers and the addition signs etc to start rubbing away after 3 months .
I am not using it any more than any other calculators I have had, so did I just get a bad batch or have other people also encountered this problem ?
Published 21 months ago by mark


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio FX 83 Calculator, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
C. Buck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
I bought this for my son who was starting secondary school on the recommendation of the school. The display on the calculator allows for more readable sums, fractions for example allow you to actually see one number abover the other one instead of using some weird symbol like the calculators when I was at school. The calculator is very simple to use, as well as the standard numbers and mathematical functions, you have a joypad which enables you to move to different parts of the sum (useful if it is a complex one) and make changes without the need to erase everything back to the point where you need to make a correcton.

The FX-83 uses AAA batteries to run but you will get plenty of notification that they need replacing so you shouldn't get to the situation where it fails during a crucial exam. The calculator comes with it's own hard plastic case for ultimate protection when not in use.

The calculator is endorsed for use by all of the major examining bodies, making this a super choice for any schoolkid. The calculator is also great for adults too, it's ease of use makes it a winner all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well design, perfect for the OU science courses, 1 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
Perfect for the Open University science modules that require a non-programmable calculator that can be brought into the exam room (I take S282 and S283 this year). Sturdy and fit well in the palm of the hand. Large display screen that goes easy on the eyes and its ability to display maths formula in a natural way is definitely a plus. The ratio features over price is hight! I would recommend it to any Open University student without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased., 3 Nov. 2010
By 
DR T. S. Hall (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
I really like it. I looked at more expensive models but to be honest they are totally unnecessary. This has everything you need for up to and including degree level, so why pay more? It's also the current incarnation of the model recommended by the Open University, so all their course material refers to this model.

Cheers

Tim...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 5 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
Bought this calculater for a distance learning course, which specified the model. I wasn't sure it was worth splashing out on ANOTHER calculator, but it has proved beneficial.

Being able to follow the instructions in the course exactly has made life so much easier, and the calculator is very clear and aids learning. Very happy with the purchase. The screen is easy to read and editing your calculations gives you so much freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who said good things cost big money?, 27 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
I own a much more expensive (TI89 Titanium) calculator as I'm studying engineering, and now that I've had to buy this for an exam where I couldn't use it and I hated the other "regular" calculators I had, I gave this a try. Now I like this better than my TI. It does everything, it does it simply, you can go back, change a value in an operation and obtain the respective result with utter ease. I saw a lot of people using it in my University afterwards, I guess I should have noticed it earlier. Well, when in doubt between this and other calculators, other models are more expensive for details like solar panels when an AAA battery will last 2 years with the calculator on. It's a lifetime of maths. (Hope I don't need it! :X) Don't let its low price scare you - it does every operation, it shows square (and other) routes on the screen, as well as fractions, and you can chose if you want them displayed one way or the other (fractions vs. approximate number). Very, very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio Calculator, 12 Oct. 2010
By 
R. A. Simacek (Baldock, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
I purchased this calculator in order to use its functions on an Open University course - it was the type they recommended. It is very simple to use and the best feature is its ability to display formulae 'as they are written'. The price is very reasonable for a great gadget; I will continue to find it invaluable during my studies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casio Calculator, 26 Oct. 2011
By 
Sebastian Larsen "pirateMAN" (The Clouds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
This calculator is great value for money as I am using it for Higher(A level) maths and physics. One thing that annoyed me was that answers were given in fractions and would end up converting the fraction to the wrong number, i.e. 5/9 would convert to 0.5 when infact it should be 0.555556 which when rounded becomes 0.6. BEFORE YOU STOP READING THERE IS A SOLUTION! Simply press [SHIFT][MODE][1:MathIO] in other words shift button, mode button then the number 2. Great calculator, great price and I highly recommend it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
I brought this as a cheap calculator to use at work and the gamble I took paid off.
This is a great calculator with all of the usual scientific buttons.
I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for a cheap calculator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good calculator, easy to use, perfect for OU maths, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
Mrs. J. B. Philips "EMFields" (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
I'm doing a number of OU maths courses and this is the updated version of the calculator they recommend. The screen size is amazingly large and it shows complex equations with ease - it's easy to use, even though it has hundreds of functions - I've found it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scientific Calculator for Exams, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator (Office Product)
This is an excellent scientific calculator that can be used in examinations.

I has all the necessary functions, with a clear display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casio FX-83GTPLUS Scientific Calculator
£7.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews