Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with a Few Small Drawbacks
This ladder is great. the price I got was fantastic. Customer service from BPS who actually produce the ladder was a little wanting.

The ladder is long, it has stabilizers on both ends. It folds into many helpful positions for all types of jobs. I wash windows, so it's great for the many types and reaches of windows I encounter. The steel platforms are sturdy...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by Dave Kinsella

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ladder OK but BPS customer service non-existent
Happy with quality of ladder which arrived very promptly, but the necessary bolts to fit the stabiliser bars were missing. It took over three weeks, eight telphone calls and an e-mail before the missing bolts arrived!! Would not use this company again.
Published on 6 July 2011 by MC


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with a Few Small Drawbacks, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Dave Kinsella "Jesus First" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
This ladder is great. the price I got was fantastic. Customer service from BPS who actually produce the ladder was a little wanting.

The ladder is long, it has stabilizers on both ends. It folds into many helpful positions for all types of jobs. I wash windows, so it's great for the many types and reaches of windows I encounter. The steel platforms are sturdy and non-slip. The attach-on steps are also sturdy though it is recommended not to use them in the rain.

The ladder is a little heavier than I thought, but it folds down quite comfortably and will fit easily into a van or bigger car.

There were no instructions, but it was easy enough to figure everything out. there is a little assembly needed, and on one side of the ladder where I was to screw in the stabilizers the holes had been drilled slightly too low, which meant I could not then screw that side in. There were also slight dents in each end where the stabilizers attach which mede it a bit harder to fit in. I had bought the ladder on another website, and when I contacted BPS, they refunded me 17GBP to compensate for the problem. the stabilizers still seem safe enough though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BPS Access Solutions 4 x 4 rung ladder, 25 May 2011
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
Ladders are dangerous, but houses need maintenance. This looked like a versatile ladder that would be useful for a lot of different tasks around the house. I was attracted and deterred by the price in equal measure. Having read the reviews there were a few things to consider.

Stiff hinges - I can't say that I have noticed.
Too fiddly to put up even with two people - I can't say I found it difficult.
Too heavy - I would expect a metal ladder 15 and a half feet long to be reasonably heavy. I'm not Arnold Schwarzenegger, but don't have any real problem with it.
No manual - I got one.
Damaged - Mine was not.

What do you get for your money.

Four four rung ladders joined by what appear to be strong metal hinges, operated by lifting a lever which unlocks the hinge so that you can configure the ladder. You can move the hinge to the next lock position by moving it slowly or bypass the lock position by moving the ladder apart faster. The hinges can be unlocked independently so that you don't have to do both hinges at the same time.

There are two metal plates that can be used as a platform when the ladder is in one of the horizontal positions providing a useful platform.

Before use, you will need to bolt the wide stabliliser feet to either end of the ladder, for which you will need two spanners or pairs of pliers.

The ladder configures into 11 approved positions and feels re-assuringly stable in use. I'm reasonably sure that I can use this ladder for just about any task around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product but damaged in transit., 21 Jun 2012
By 
Roy Oxlade (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
Having ordered one of these at the Garden Show in Edinburgh it arrived in about 7 days, I assume it had left the warehouse in good condition and so the damage must have been inflicted by TNT during delivery. A phone call to BPS and I feel a little reluctantly they agreed to send a new one out. This arrived in a few days but this one was also damaged, and again it was a dent in one of the rungs facing outwards so I am now not sure if they get battered in the warehouse or during transit.

This is a shame because as a product it is really a good all round means of access and for the price is a sturdy piece of kit, so for the sake of some polystyrene packaging they are letting themselves down.

Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red combi ladder, 20 April 2010
By 
C. L. Illson "Spiderclaw" (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
I bought this ladder for the length and storage ability. This is an excellent product. I can clean the outside roof of conservatory and reach the guttering of a semi detached house. the ladder is very stable; I have added the extra safety feet supplied. Should be able to trim my tall conifers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Well-made Ladder, 9 Sep 2009
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
Ladder arrived promptly, and exactly as I was expecting. Makes a very useful hedge-cutting platform - two platform plates are included - and the ability to fold into unusual angles has already proved useful in gaining access to our garage roof. Strong & well made ladder, the catches are the only possible source of problem I would have thought; I have oiled mine as requested in the literature, essential I would think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile & very strong, but ..., 31 July 2010
By 
Small Scale "small_scale" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
Great combination ladders for reaching the upper outside of your house, or for just changing a spotlight bulb in the ceiling. There really is no need to have any other ladders or steps, as this will do all jobs. The articulated joints are very strong and will certainly last the course. The only donwside to all this strength and good design is that the ladders are pretty heavy, especially for indoor use. Some better instructions would have been useful as well. When folded down into their smallest "W" shape, each section doesn't line up exactly with the next (I did ponder whether this was a fault at first) but when extended into their "A" shape any misalignment disappears. All in, a good purchase which should last for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, 9 July 2009
By 
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
Item was as described. Easy to erect although you need to be strong so some may need a helper. Once erected felt very stable apart from the platforms which do not anchor down and move about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4x4 rung ladder, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Christopher Pratt (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
Very pratical ladder. Very light to lift, when collapsed. Nice and sturdy with firm footings. Good value for the money and will be very useful over the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 12 Dec 2011
By 
L. J. Peters (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
these ladders are a great peice of kit for a good price,they fold away nicely for storage /transport and very sturdy when in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REACHING NEW HEIGHTS, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: 4x4 Rung - 4.75m (15'7") Superior Superior Latest 'Big Red Foot' Multi Purpose Ladder with free Extra Strong 2-part platform - Free Next Working Day Delivery! (Misc.)
PRODUCT ARRIVED AFTER 2 DAYS. EASY TO USE ONCE YOU HAVE PRACTICED AND MASTERED ERECTING THE LADDERS IN ITS VARIOUS POSITIONS...WHEN THE LADDER IS IN ITS FULL POSITION IT IS A BIT ON THE BOUNCEY SIDE WHEN CLIMBING UP IT, BUT APART FROM THAT IT IS VERY GOOD AND FOR THE PRICE MONEY WELL SPENT.
LADDERS ARE WELL MADE AND ROBUST, SHOULD LAST A VERY LONG TIME.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews