Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very advanced!, 27 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
This software is aimed at profesional comic book/ graphic novel artists. I run it under windows 7, and it hasnt seemed to slow my computer down or cause any issues- though alot of that depends on how much work your going to save to your computer from it and at how high a resolution you like to work at. So, lets break this down.

THE "USERS GUIDE"
The inbuilt "help/users guide".... well lets see. Its practically infamous all over the web for how ridiculously useless it is- and it makes the programme seem about as user friendly as a bulldog with a crocodile strapped to its head, prompting most newcomers to the program to feel completely and utterly lost. When you register it you can pester smith-micro on thier live support... my experience with this? They told me to check the manual....NOT impressed. This is the reason MS got only 4 stars and not 5, because you are basically going to have to teach yourself, even with all the manuals in the world.

THE PROGRAM
As much as it infuriates me, as a graphic novel artist this is the best software you can get- no matter where your work fits in under the "sequential artwork" banner this is the ultimate labour-saving software. Instantly you will begin to discover and realise that this is software put together by people who truely understand the laborious nature of a comic artists work!
I love working with traditional media and was highly sceptical at how I'd react to the digital side of my work but now I've even switched to inking digitally as it has to be at least a million times easier and less tedious than if inking by hand, not to mention all the paper I've saved! In conclusion, there are far, far to many features to get into here but it is the holy grail for all those who want to save space (no need to store all that equiptment anymore when its all in a virtual form on your computer), time (set up shortcuts and macro's in seconds)and money (No more buying expensive screentones and fancy manuscript papers- yay)

CONCLUSION
A very complex, but incredibly well comprised piece of software which truely understands its intended market. Alot of money over here in the UK but compared to something as extortionate as "photoshop" or the like and you'll be absolutely saving the 's!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How ever did I manage without this program?, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Richard Bell "wildlife illustrator" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
Don't be put off, as I was by the name Manga Studio; this isn't just for Manga artists. If you've been in the situation that I was in a few years ago with 10 pages of comic strips - about 100 panels, yipes! - to draw before a fast-approaching deadline then I think you'll appreciate the simple things it does like helping you in ruling panels and placing word balloons.
If like me you go back to the days of Letraset rub on screen tones you'll appreciate the 3000 screen tones available. And of course you can use them as many times as you like without having to buy another sheet.
I'm not sure how much I'm going to use the 3D objects. For figures this is a bit like having one of those articulated wooden lay figures that you can move about to get the pose you're after. You can then drop it into your page as reference for your drawing (or apply effects and use the 3D object directly, but I like to draw everything in my strips). You can also import 2D photographs and artwork and manipulate them to suit the effect and printing method that you're after.
I felt that it was worth going for the EX version rather than the Debut. I didn't want to be working on a project and suddenly discover that I would really like access to one of the extra features such as exporting as a TIFF, facing pages layouts, saving your own word balloon as a material or vector layers (As a Photoshop user, I've never drawn in vector lines but I feel that it's worth trying).
I think that it's best not to think of Manga Studio as a program that's trying to push you into a certain style of drawing but as a box of tools, many of which you're probably never going to use, which can help take some of the donkey work out of creating your own artwork. That artwork doesn't just have to be comic strips; I can see a use for it, for example, in the picture maps that I produce to illustrate my walks books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt, the best piece of software out there for comic art and more, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
I'd already (stupidly) bought Manga Studio Debut when I tried the demo of Manga Studio EX 4 - and realised that there is a massive difference between the two programs. Manga Studio Debut offers a stripped out subset of the tools and goodies this full-fat version has. Vector layers, more vector manipulation options and a vastly increased subset of tools, layer options, templates and other goodies will get you off to a flying start whether you're new to digital comic creation or a veteran of comic artwork.

It's almost eerie - the way the raster tools work and offer beautiful ink-like lines and flows (particularly when used in conjunction with a Wacom graphics tablet). On the vector site you can nudge, tweak and perfect your line work to the nth degree - in fact there is no better tool available for digitally inking your sketch work.

It's not cheap, and some of the elements make it feel a little old fashioned (for instance, the fact that when you go to register the product for the extra goodies, you're expected to type in the serial number case sensitized and with dashes in place - and the installation method on Macs is bloody horrible if you've got a slow and noisy optical drive!) but it doesn't look like Smith Micro are doing an EX 5 any time soon so this really is the best thing out there.

Note: Though I mention comic art here, it's absolutely brilliant for any kind of digital art work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's pretty coo', 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
Haven't used it myself, but my girlfriend and her friend have made a LOT of use out of it. It's pretty damn good. Only used it on Windows 7, so can't comment on how it is on Mac, but I assume it's exactly the same either way.
User interface isn't bad, but it did take them a while to get used to. Not everything they were looking for was right in front of them, but it was, at most, two clicks away so it was fine after about 10 minutes of just messing around.
It was their first time using a Wacom Bamboo and Manga Studio 4, and they made some pretty nice stuff!
I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, 14 Feb 2012
By 
A. J. Mcveigh "andrewmcveigh" (Sevenoaks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
Don't be put off by the focus on manga - this is a superbly powerful (and somewhat complex) general drawing program with a number of features (such as ability to rotate the canvas) that put other pricier tools to shame. Supports my pressure sensitive wacom tablet without a problem. Perhaps best for those who tend towards monochrome work, but this version is much better for colour than previous incarnations.

The tool supports both bitmap and vector tools. It has a gazillion tones. You can import 2d and 3d models to allow easier generation of comic poses and scenes. A never ending supply of tools and palettes.

On the downside, you'll need to buy a separate manual or download a tutorial off the web. It's got an intimidating interface.

Make sure you get this version (EX) and not the debut version though. This is much more capable. And at just over 50 it's a complete steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strange but true - and runs on Tiger, 22 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this in UK, where things are double the USA cost... it was, however going at a bargain price at the time so I rushed an order in.

However, since I bought it, the price doubled, hung there for a while and now has plummeted to less than I paid for it. This may concern some prospective purchasers who have therefore got in on some part of the "do I buy now - or wait?" continuum of dilemma. Who knows where it will go next.

The programme, er, program:

In essence, the perfect natural pen and pencil simulation software. Wow!! Really. Amazing.

specifics?

The pdf manual is disgusting. Near useless: translated by someone who was not part of the team that translated the GUI, so everything is slightly different like it's referring to a different version of the software.

As the manual occupies the same work area as the artwork, it would be preferable to run this on an e-book reader. The current pdf is totally incompatible with this.. it's been formatted as a ghastly 2 column layout which is ONLY good for printed output.

It needs either a printed manual, one or two column, translated by someone from the English side of the desk or a similar e-book - in single column.

In the meantime, a good html manual might help.

Hurrrrah!!! this runs on osx 10.4 on a PPC, unlike most of the fashion-slave software which will only run on an operating system that won't run itself.

Amazon, please fix the product spec. It's a real plus point.

Apart from the crap manual and the slightly unusual GUI (which is very like Photoshop in some basic ways and oddly different in others, so it's harder to intuit the advanced features and therefore a manual is necessary once you're working beyond newbie capabilities,) this is a stunning, superb and capable piece of software. Not just for manga. Not just for comix. This is a great all round illustration program for everything but the finishy - softy, blurrified, transparent reflecty things for which you'll probably still need Photoshop to finish off.

For comic illustration, layout and pre-press it is absolutely amazing. It does stuff with tones, panels and speech in balloons that would have driven a traditional illustrator expensively insane over a very long time.

No more:
Ben Day cut and paste tones, Letraset rub-down halftones, Letterpress-printed baryta proofs to cut out and rubber cement into place.. ruling pens full of no-mistake, one-shot, unerasable Indian Ink. No fingermarks, blots or stray lines. Physical, fragile artwork, wicking paper... darkroom drudgery... storage problems, expensive kamikaze couriers, editing=starting again
nightmares

Some of this stuff has gone away gradually; some has hung on, like halftone patterning with mechanical tints. MS pretty much wraps up the last of the big problem areas in black and white illustration and makes them accessible digitally.
BIG step forward.

These things can now be generated - in layers, so non-destructively - by functions dedicated to the task which I am slowly learning to drive (Damn that manual) but which I have full confidence will do the job correctly and without compromising creativity.

It needs a good tablet to get the best out of, otherwise you're better off with Photoshop.

I finally found a substitute for white scraperboard in Manga Studio. This is not the black, scrape a white (or metallic) line stuff normally seen in craft and toy stores. This is the plain white clay-faced board that the black type is factory painted in order to create. No, this is pure white Unobtaneum that is drawn on in india ink so it can then can be scrape-erased, just like the black stuff, but with the predominant background areas starting white. With this, very fine engraving-type illustrations can be produced that print in a solid, monochrome ink yet can have the illusion of delicate, continuous tonality, like the metal-plate illustrations done by master engravers in Victorian times.

A bit of tweaking in Manga Studio and you can produce the same effect with a Wacom. Editable. Stunning stuff.

I love it. I hate the manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
Perfect program, with the appropriate value and price.
Arrived at time, and in nice conditions.
I haven't any problem. Work perfectly, support win7 (i was think i need a virtual machine, but no, works perfectly. I only need time for learn to use that program.
Recomended to everyone who wants make comics with profesionality, or simply love drawing.
Not another word, only Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars accurate product description, Brilliant costumer service., 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
accurate product description, Brilliant costumer service. Programme is essential for all comic creators or creators looking to go in that industry. Also good for common illustrations.
Defiantly by far a must have for people that are all about graphic comic design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice drawing tool, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
I've been trying to make the brushes in Painter behave like pen and ink for without much success- this just does it better than painter if you want that effect. Pressure sensitive with wacom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) (DVD-ROM)
Loved it it was a great program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD)
Manga Studio EX 4 (Mac/PC CD) by Smith Micro Software (Mac OS X, Windows XP)
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews