Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant T.V. drama
UNFORGIVEN has been one of the best T.V. dramas that I have seen for a long time.
The story centers around Ruth Slater (Jones), a woman who is released from prison after seving 15 years for the murders of two policemen. Not only do you get to see Ruth slowly trying to adapt to life outside of a prison cell, you also get to see the stories of her younger sister Katie...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by Brida

versus
0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift
As gift was a present I haven't seen it but the person who received the gift was very pleased with it.
Published 8 months ago by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant T.V. drama, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
UNFORGIVEN has been one of the best T.V. dramas that I have seen for a long time.
The story centers around Ruth Slater (Jones), a woman who is released from prison after seving 15 years for the murders of two policemen. Not only do you get to see Ruth slowly trying to adapt to life outside of a prison cell, you also get to see the stories of her younger sister Katie (renamed Lucy and adopted following the crime), the two sons of one of her victims and the couple who move into the house where the murders took place. Slowly, all of these characters come together in order to reach a dramatic climax.
Like other reviewers, I did guess a twist at the end, but this took nothing away from my enjoyment of UNFORGIVEN. Because the story is so well done, and the cast all put in brillinat performances, any hints at what happened all those years ago took nothing away from the themes of Ruth's story.
This is a brilliant drama dealing with many different issues - guilt, redemption, revenge and retribution to name a few. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 29 Jan 2009
By 
S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
I started to watch this drama with some trepidation as I had found it difficult to forget that Suranne Jones played Karen in Coronation Street for some time (I thought she had been good in Coronation Street, but I just felt I was watching Karen afterwards). I soon forgot the actress however and became engrossed in the character she played in Unforgiven, with such skill that the character's vulnerability was palpable and believable. My partner was visibly moved by the depths that she brought to the character and we concurred that we do not believe anyone else could have brought more to the role than Suranne did.

I did guess the twist at the end, but that did not detract from the viewing experience. I strongly recommend viewing the DVD, even if only to watch the outstanding performance of Suranne Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Drama in Years, Best Actress Too, 11 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not much of a talented reviewer but I just wanted to say that I was totally blown away by Suranne's acting. The storyline and way the film was made was superb but I do think it was the acting that left me feeling that what I had just watched was a very special piece of film/TV. The other top rated reviewers are totally acurate in this case, so I don't need to say any more, except that I totally recommend this DVD if you enjoy a great British drama with some added emotion and empathy with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suranne Jones "Unforgiven.", 1 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
Thought-provoking writing. Method acting, maintaining viewers' interest right to the end. Excellent to near-perfection direction. Whoever scouted for location(s) ought be given a pat on the back for a job well done. In conclusion, keep up with the "recommendations" and we thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality adult TV drama with a brilliant central performance., 27 Jan 2009
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
I must confess to a parochial interest in ITV drama Unforgiven .It was shot in and around my home town of Halifax and the writer Sally Wainwright is not only from Sowerby Bridge where i currently reside but was in the same year as me at Secondary School though obviously she made better use of her time there.
I must confess her previous works ("Jane Hall [2006]", "At Home With The Braithwaites - Series 1-4 - Complete", "Playing The Field - Series 1 And 2 - Complete") have held little interest for me but Unforgiven , an adult drama concerning themes of redemption, guilt , revenge and family ties seemed more like my cup of tea. And so it proved for Unforgiven aired over three separate Monday 1 hour episodes turned out to be the most compelling British drama i have seen for some time .
Ruth Slater ( Suranne Jones) is released from prison after serving 15 years for the murder of two policemen gunned down when they came to help bailiffs evict her and her younger sister from their remote family farmhouse "Upper Hanging Stones Farm". Her sister, re-named Lucy Belcombe ( Emily Beecham) has now been adopted and is living in York. Ruth wants to contact her and is helped in this by lawyer John Ingram ( Peter Davison ) against the wishes of his wife Izzy (Siobhan Finneran) after he hears her tale and takes pity on her .They have bought the farmhouse where Ruth used to live and John's help offers her hope of redemption, something that is hard to come as she struggles to integrate back into a normal work and home life. This is not the worst she will face however.. The sons of one of the unfortunate policemen Steve Whelan ( Matthew McNulty ) and Kieran Whelan (Jack Deam) are in vengeful mood and on hearing that Ruth is out plot the best way to inflict it .
Despite the plot occasionally relying too much on coincidences and the gaping plot flaw that a murderer would never be released and housed back into the community where he/she had committed their crime Unforgiven seemed to me a realistic uncompromising work. The script crucially avoids sermonising and lets the viewer make their own mind up how they feel about Ruth. The eventual truth about that happened on the day of the shooting is never signposted but i guessed what had actually happened ...he harrumphed smugly .However it makes the resolution even more moving .
Where the series really triumphs though is in the performances. The whole cast are good but Suranne Jones as the troubled Ruth is a revelation. Her preoccupied visage , not an unattractive one it must be said, has stayed with me for days after each episode and her body hunched over like she is forever expecting some form of violent or verbal attack is a masterpiece of physical acting . Each mood passes palpably across her face seemingly in synch with the brooding changeable Pennine weather. Even her Yorkshire accent is spot on. Putting aside her roles in tripe like Harley Street [2008] in any right thinking world Suranne Jones would be festooned with awards for her portrayal of Ruth Slater. Without doubt the best acting i have seen from a female performer for yonks.....since Natalie Portman in "Closer [2004]" in fact
Unforgiven has a seemingly spurious sub-plot about the farm house being haunted . But you see it is haunted...by Ruth and by what happened there 15 years ago. Compelling well written , well acted adult drama's are a rarity , especially over here, but Unforgiven emphatically bucks the trend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Location location location!, 20 Nov 2011
By 
Zoonie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
The acting is top class (bravo!), the story grabs you and makes you keep watching, but the star is surely the location. How they transformed the exterior of a dilapidated, neglected old farm house into a chic and classy modern dwelling is just miraculous.
I sent for this DVD after I caught the first, tantalising, episode on TV a few weeks ago, having completely missed the series first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting TV drama, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful TV drama that ticks all the boxes. Carefully worked out and a very difficult subject is aproached with a gentle touch that makes sense. All the performances are outstanding but Suranne Jones performance touched me greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Acting, 7 Jan 2010
By 
L. Edwards (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this DVD. I thought Suranne Jones was very well cast in this part. It left you not sure what had really happened on the day that the two police officers were shot. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suranne Jones comes of age, 9 Feb 2009
By 
Stephen Pearson "Kebabmeister" (Hadfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
For a good actor to attain greatness many things are needed not least of which is luck. Finding the right vehicle for their talents is difficult: there can be few roles around as meaty as that of Ruth Slater. All of the characters are brilliantly drawn by Sally Wainwright though the plot does have a few well documented holes and perhaps the most telegraphed plot twist of the year.

There would have been many actresses suited for this role and doubtless some with a better pedigree than Jones. I have read that the part was written with Suranne Jones in mind and if that is true then, it was an inspired choice. Her performance has such vulnerability and emotional pain that one could imagine many a tearful night away from the set as Jones struggled to contain the character. The scene where she first discusses her sister with her parole officer is played by Jones with such honesty and subtlety as to move even the hardest of hearts. The acting credits don't end with Suranne Jones either: Peter Davidson is excellent, as is Jemma Redgrave and indeed the whole cast. But it is specifically Jones that lays a marker for the rest of her career in a performance that says, no matter what the part, she can deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unforgiven [DVD] (DVD)
As usual .. British crime drama excellent. Great story line and great acting from all involved. Highly recommend it - great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unforgiven [DVD]
Unforgiven [DVD] by David Evans (DVD - 2009)
8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews