Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen even if not all the tracks appeal.
Whilst some of this music is not to my taste, I appreciate the opportunity to download the sampler for free. I have now started to investigate the composers and find out more about their music and that is surely partly what a sampler is about. Hence the 4 stars.

I am not sure whether all the pieces can really be described as contemporary though - if that was...
Published on 6 April 2012 by C. Gadsby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Easy listening - I only chose it as it was free, but I enjoyed it.
It isn't what I usually listen to, but worth a freebie!
Published 15 months ago by Tizer_0189


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen even if not all the tracks appeal., 6 April 2012
By 
C. Gadsby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NMC Sampler (MP3 Download)
Whilst some of this music is not to my taste, I appreciate the opportunity to download the sampler for free. I have now started to investigate the composers and find out more about their music and that is surely partly what a sampler is about. Hence the 4 stars.

I am not sure whether all the pieces can really be described as contemporary though - if that was the intention (a proper description is not really given as far as I can see). For example Track 2 is an arrangement by Benjamin Britten of a piece by Rossini and which Britten originally used as part of the soundtrack for a film called 'The Tocher'. This was in 1938 so hardly contemporary. It is a fun piece though and worth a listen - it later became part of the suite Britten called 'Soirées Musicales'.

I didn't know the Malcolm Arnold 'Severn Bridge Variations' (track 7) but guessed this was also rather unlikely to be contemporary. It turns out to be one of a series of variations written as a collaborative venture by Arnold, Alun Hoddinott, Nicholas Maw, Daniel Jones, Grace Williams and Michael Tippett and written in 1966 according to Wikipedia. I found the 1 min 39 secs track a bit frustrating, being so short - but perhaps that will encourage me to listen to the whole work!

'American Rounds' by Martin Butler was written in 1998 and commissioned by the Schubert Ensemble and I found it quite appealing and will try to hear more of this piece - I found information about it on the OUP music website if anyone else is interested.

I shall spend some time looking into the other pieces/composers I am unfamiliar with but I wonder how many people will bother to do this. With so little information about the tracks it makes it a much less interesting download than it could be but I hope it will be a challenge to others to do some further listening and investigating the composers represented. It does however highlight one of the objections I have to most MP3 downloads that there are no 'sleeve notes' to accompany the download. I sometimes download better quality files from the Linn website and these almost always come with notes - they are not usually free downloads however, to be fair to Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NMC Sampler (MP3 Download)
Easy listening - I only chose it as it was free, but I enjoyed it.
It isn't what I usually listen to, but worth a freebie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars How did anyone get this free?, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: NMC Sampler (MP3 Download)
There's obviously something going on here... why 7.49 if it should be free? Is there a secret password to be used or a discount code?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 April 2012
This review is from: NMC Sampler (MP3 Download)
This is a fantastic contemporary classical album! I specially enjoyed 'After the Rain: Chorale'.
Will definitely check out the rest of the label's releases, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'M GLAD IT WAS FREE!, 17 April 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Samuel "Stevie S" (Yorkshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NMC Sampler (MP3 Download)
I'm just glad it was free. It is so varied in content that each track has little relationshhip with any of the others, and therefore offers a most disjointed assembly of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Geographical restrictions!!!, 6 April 2012
By 
L. Koprivica "luka3rd" (Belgrade, YU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NMC Sampler (MP3 Download)
I will never get how is that my money is wors than others! I am buying from Amazon on monthly basis, regularly for several years... but any discount or free item is not available to me!
BS!!! Shame on Amazon & vendor and whoever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

NMC Sampler
NMC Sampler by various
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews