Customer Reviews

107
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 20 May 2009
This game is a popular new addition to the Diamond and Pearl games, following on from the Pokemon Teams trend of having a third game which is basically an enhanced version of the previous two. For examples, think of Pokemon Yellow or Crystal or Emerald. Personally I found the newer story mode to be a refreshing new take on the Diamond and Pearl set's in which you start at Twinleaf and you get a pokemon from the local Pokemon Professor. The way it's set this time is different, but you still have the basic, Fire, Water and Grass types to pick from and the other 2 go to the AI characters. Now. You may be thinking, "Why get this game if it's just the same as Diamond and Pearl?" Let me tell you this now. It's similar, but not the same. The main Pokemon this time, as you may remember, is Darkrai. This is explained through the game. There are yet more Pokemon to find and catch, and the return of the ever popular "Battle Fronteer" which I thought was an exelent choice.
All in all, this is a great game even if you have in fact already got both Diamond and Pearl, and it's well worth a go, even if just to see the new graphics and pokemon.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
109 of 116 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2009
Well I've played through the Japanese version of the game fully. It has many improvements and additions over the earlier Diamond and Pearl versions of the game, although most of them are minor things, so anyone who has played the older game to death needn't feel that Platinum is an essential purchase. If you can't get enough of Pokemon though, this is the best version so far, of course, and anyone who did not play the previous game could not choose a better value game for their DS than this! It is packed full.

The more substantial new additions in Platinum include an extended storyline, new transformations for a few key pokemon (see Giratina on the box cover), new animations for pokemon and trainers in battle, three of the gyms have entirely new interior design and puzzles, enhanced visuals or new design for many locations, more pokemon to catch (the Sinnoh region pokedex has expanded), the option to rematch key characters including gym leaders at a cafe, the massive new Battle Frontier area that provides hours of difficult challenges for advanced players, and the poketch on the lower screen now has two buttons so you can cycle through apps both ways!

Oh, and for those who care, both Dialga and Palkia can be obtained in Platinum, whereas in Diamond and Pearl you could only get one or the other depending on the version. The opportunity to catch both of them comes later in the game, because your first visit to the Spear Pillar atop Mt Coronet now leads to an encounter with Giratina in another world! Also the legendary birds Articuno, Zapdos and Moltres can each be caught after the player has defeated the Elite Four and visited Professor Oak when he goes to Eterna City.

Aside from content changes, gameplay is identical to previous pokemon games, so you know if you like it already. If you've never played a pokemon game, it's worth checking out and this is as good a place to start as any. x
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
After discussing the old RPGs I used to love on the SNES, a friend couldn't believe I'd be turning 30 next year and yet never played a Pokemon game, so with DS in hand I started playing Pokemon Pearl and got quite into it - but then I lost my DS (and the game along with it).
After buying a new DS, I happened on an opportunity to play the Platinum edition in the Pokemon franchise and decided to give it a go....

...Enthusiasts can tell you the differences between this and the Pearl/Diamond edition down to the most minute detail, but for me I couldn't see many differences. In fact, the first few hours seemed practically identical. That didn't bother me though as my previous experience of the game was my 'breaking in' period and so it was nice to start afresh armed with some basic knowledge of how it all worked!

If you aren't familiar with the Pokemon games then this game is the latest in a series of games which involve traveling around a fantasy region called Sinnoh and battling strange monstors called Pokemon. You can capture wild Pokemon and train them up, a big part of the game is seeing how may you can collect and serious gamers try to catch them all. Many of the Pokemon require very specific conditions to appear and capture, so it isn't just a case of wandering round and hoping every type will fall into your lap. Newbies may find it all a bit daunting as the game is massive, but as you advance through and talk to the other characters - they explain things on a very simple level to point you in the right direction.

The genius of the game isn't the epic scope, it's all down to strategy. Your success is determined by your choices when you create your 'team' of Pokemon and decide which one to use in battle and when. I'm still getting to grips with which types are weak or strong against other types, but after a while you do start to be more strategic in your choices rather than just opting for the cutest ones!

In a nutshell: When I first started playing Pokemon I thought it was a silly game for kids. And yes - it is a bit childish at times, but it's really drawn me in and there have been times when I've sat down to quickly level up my Chimchar, explore a cave, or check how many items I've collected - and before I realise it two hours have passed! This is an engaging title which combines the look and turn-based-battle gameplay of an RPG, and the forward thinking of chess. I can fully understand why some people obsess over the Pokemon games and make it their mission to do everything possible in the game. With a massive array of items to collect, moves to learn, and Pokemon to catch and personalise - you can have thousands of people playing the same game and yet each player would get a very individual experience from it.

The Pokemon world is a big one and there's a lot to learn - but it's a world worth visiting and when you do, you might end up spending a lot of time there.
review image review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 June 2009
Before someone comments saying "Oh its just like D/P. It's a waste of money". Yes some of the stuff in the game is the same. And Yes I already own both D/P so I know what I'm talking about. There are new features, some of the graphics are better (well to me they are). I would say buy this game. I ALWAYS buy the third game they bring out from nintendo, why? because the third one is always better. Nindento improve on the first games I dont know if they mean to but they do.

I believe this is not a waste of money, I enjoy playing the game again even if some of the things are similar. That's what makes it so good, cause I know what will happen, then suddenly it changes so it wasn't the same.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 17 November 2009
It's great, though sometimes it is a little bit hard (I am 9) but it is realy good fun. I like capturing the Pokemons and you can play it with your friends. It is my favorite DS game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 July 2011
I only recently got a DS for my birthday and I must admit one of the reasons for puchasing it was my old love of the pokemon games. I played through most of them - Red, yellow and blue, Ruby and emerald, silver (although my brother caught the glitch on this game and it no longer saves) and now this - Pokemon platinum.

As with all games Platinum has its up and its downs. Having grown up with the original pokemon and viewing the old games with some nostalgia I was rather distressed to see how few of the old pokemon were in this game and how hard it was to identify the different pokemon types - crucial if you want to get far in the game. This still confuses me at times and I often find myself saying "really?" when confronted with a new enemy and discovering it belongs to an element completely unknown to me. Over time I must assume this will become less of a problem but having now gotten 6 of the 8 gym badges and still being surprised I'm not sure that is the case. However the new pokemon are very interesting and if you are new to the series this shouldn't cause you any trouble - if you remember the classics though, be prepared to miss some old favourites.

The levelling system has thankfully been updated and it is now much easier to gain experience for your lower level pokemon from early on in the game. A well balanced time of equal levels does not take long to obtain and so its just a matter of picking the right pokemon types to fight for you. I only use four pokemon at the moment and have had little trouble.

The rival is refreshing, no longer the stuck up boy of the original games but now a fast and hyper person that has an odd habit of bumping into you. The fights with your rival are not too difficult but with improved AI he will often send out pokemon with an advantage over yours which means you do have to pay attention. Altogether the "bosses" of the game are not too difficult assuming you approach them with a strategy and so the game is very enjoyable - and not to frustrating- to play through.

Platinum can trade pokemon from diamond, pearl, heartgold and soulsilver which has been a great relief allowing you to trade harder found pokemon from one game to another. My friends and I have already taken the benifits of this particular part of the game. The national pokedex is achieved by SEEING all of the pokemon in game, thus unlocking more - a nice change from having to catch either 90 to 150 different pokemon.

Overall the game is very enjoyable but has lost some of the charm the original games had, as it has dropped in difficulty level. The new features (and trust me I've only mentioned a few) are very worth while. So whether an old pokemon fan or new to the series I would recommend this game - even if I am yet to find a charmander.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 August 2009
i have bought pokemon diamond, pokemon ruby, pokemon emerald, pokemon leaf green, pokemon fire red, pokemon pearl, pokemon battle revolution, explorers of darkness, pokemon ranger, and pokemon platinum. so i do like pokemon games quite alot.
i thought that pokemon platinum is an improvement on diamond and pearl and has other features like the battle frontier and at bucks house you get to battle the gym leaders when they have like lvl 58+ pokemon, and your very own villa which you don't have to buy (resort area).
there are lots of little changes like eterna forest and that you can get articuno zapdos and moltres after you get the nationaldex just talk to oak after a while. giratinas origin form is good, but don't be worried if when you catch him in the distortion world that he isn't in his origin form after you have done the pokemon league you can go up into the spring path and into the cave where cynthia was and go to the end and you will find the gricious orb which if you make giratina hold he will turn into origin form, this also boosts his dragon and ghost attacks so it is a good item.
you can also get palkia and dialga at spear pillar after going into the cave with a waterfall in (leads of from the first snowy bit), and then you can get the adamant and the lustrous orbs which are used to summon dialga and palkia, only one at a time voe (sorry don't know how to spell voe) but you will get both of them

i recommend that you get this game if you liked diamond and pearl
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 29 May 2009
Pros:

+Simple, yet addictive gameplay
+Deep, strategic combat system
+Touch screen controls make battling easier
+Wi-fi improvements
+Being able to battle trainers all across the globe and being able to trade with them is fantastic
+Game can keep you busy for hours with all there is to do, easily over 80 hours worth of gameplay
+Some new additions for those who mastered Diamond and Pearl

Cons:

-You can still only save one file
-Graphics and sound were outdated even in 2007, and they're still outdated
-The formula works, but there are bound to be gamers out there who are sick of the same old storyline
-If you mastered Diamond and Pearl you probably won't have much incentive to play through Platinum. This will change from one gamer to the next

When Pokemon Red and Blue came out, Pokemon Yellow followed just a year later to expand on the games. When Pokemon Gold and Silver debuted, Crystal followed shortly thereafter. When Ruby and Sapphire came out, it wasn't long until Emerald followed. It was only a matter of time before Pokemon Diamond and Pearl also got a third version into the mix. Pokemon Platinum. Just like the previous "third" versions of the games, Platinum adds in a few new things, though it's hard to say you'll ultimately want it if you've already got Diamond and/or Pearl and you've already worked your way through them. Then again, you might find some of the extras worthwhile.

Pokemon has been doing the same thing since it came about ten years ago. The formula is so familiar to gamers that there's a "been there, done that" kind of feel all over. You choose a starter and go off from home to collect several Pokemon, collect gym badges and ultimately defeat an evil team of Pokemon Trainers that are up to no good. All the pieces of the formula are there. If you've played any of the previous Pokemon games before then you've been here before. Yet it doesn't stop Pokemon from being an overall addictive game. While some will find Platinum (as well as Diamond and Pearl) to be a little too much of the same thing, the gameplay can't be denied. Pokemon has been doing the same thing for over ten years now, and it's still fun.

Pokemon is actually really strategic and in-depth. That is to say, it requires a lot of thought, and believe me, some of these battles require a lot of your skill. Battles are turn based, where you select a command and then watch a round of combat. There's a paper/rock/scissors effect here, however. Each and every Pokemon has a type, and some of the attacks they use reflect its type. This makes up what deals massive damage, what deals no damage and what deals just normal damage. Grass may be strong against water, for example but grass is also weak against fire, but in turn, fire is weak versus water. This effect plays through with seventeen and different types, and there is no best type because every type has a weakness. It's because of this element that Pokemon is so much fun to play. Just trying to construct the perfect team will take you more than a day, and with over 100 new creatures to collect, you can form endless amounts of teams. Just catching all the Pokemon alone will keep you busy for well over 50 hours. To add to the effect you'll face several other trainers as well, and you never know what they'll throw at you. Your strongest Pokemon may very well become your weakest in certain battles just because of its type.

The battle system itself is made even simpler by the touch screen. Where as before you were scrolling through menus, battling can simply be done by touching the different options on screen. It makes battling a lot faster, especially because the icons are pretty big. Luckily, there's never really a point where you have to use the touch screen if you don't want to, and battling can still be done the old fashioned way if you so choose.

As with Ruby and Sapphire there are also moments of two on two battles. Usually they come with either two trainers taking you on at a time, and you'll send out the two Pokemon in your top roster, or you'll be with another trainer who will send out his or her Pokemon with yours. It adds to the strategic feel of the game, but the moments of two on two battles are pretty few and far between.

Pokemon Platinum adds a couple of new things, though not much. Most notable is, of course, is the distortion world. Aside from this there's not that big of a motive to get Pokemon Platinum if you mastered one of the other two versions. It's great if you don't have either one, but it's hard to want to pick up Platinum just for the Distortion World alone. There are a couple of other little goodies sprinkled about, including improvements in the online factor of the game, but it's still essentially the same game you got two years ago. And for the most part, that isn't bad.

The Pokemon games in and of themselves are full of little hidden secrets. There's so much you can do after the main quest is over. You can also enter into different contests as well as go after legendary Pokemon. Pokemon can easily keep any gamer busy for well over fifty hours.

Pokemon has never really been a game you go after for eye-candy. There are some moments where some 3D effects come out, but not very many. The sprites are more or less the same sprites they've been using since the Red and Blue versions. Ideally, the game doesn't look all that much of a step up from Ruby and Sapphire, and they were not fantastic looking games either. It's really colorful, but the DS is capable of so much more than this. Likewise, in battle is still the same. Fun to do it, but the Pokemon still only flinch to attack, and there aren't a lot of animations going on, and we're still looking over the Pokemon's shoulder. Essentially, the combat engine hasn't changed since the series first outing in 1998. There are some move animations that look really good, but aside from that it's hard to look past the simple fact that the game's combat engine hasn't really evolved since the original games came out way back in 1998. This isn't the original Gameboy, this is the Nintendo DS.

The sound is also no exception. A lot of it sounds really tinny. Most of the sound effects such as the Pokemon's cries are ripped straight from--you guessed it--the original Gameboy versions released in 1998. That's not to say all the tunes sound bad, it's just to say that a lot of what you're going to hear is recycled. While the sound effects are dated, the music certainly isn't. It's upbeat and keeps you on your toes.

In the end, the production values aren't exactly something that'll disappoint you. Though it might still be nice if someday Pokemon could get an update. It's still an improvement.

Despite the games graphics and sound, Pokemon Platinum is still an excellent title. If you don't have Diamond or Pearl, you might as well pick up this one. If there was anything to fret about over Pokemon it would be that it's just too much of the same thing. Not to Pokemon Diamond and Pearl, but to the series as a whole. There are plenty of additions, but the truth still stands: We've been doing the same thing for ten years. But it's still a fun game regardless.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 2 March 2010
The boys in my daughters' class think I'm a cool mum. Not because of my parenting skills but because I play Pokémon! Being able to tell them I picked Chimchar as my starter Pokémon ranks high in the scales of coolness. Funny thing is that my daughter is a bit ashamed of me, when I ask visiting classmates of the male kind what Pokémon game they loved the best.
Gaming friends from over the world had told me time and again that I should try a Pokémon game, and every time I said that wouldn't be my cup of tea. After all, I knew the kids' series from television, and no way I would be into that too. But then Pokémon Platinum was released, and I read in one of the gaming mags that this would be the super de luxe version, including everything from diamond and pearl plus some extra's. And as I was looking for a new challenge in games, I thought "oh well, let's give it a try. If I don't like it, I can at least make one of my nephews happy with it".
Lo and behold my surprise! After some initial getting used to the very small characters it turned out to be a lot of fun. Lucky for me the bigger screens of the DSi helped in finding the even smaller pokéballs that you can find in the high grass, and if necessary I can put on my the reading glasses too.
Most apparent is the battling element in the game. But as that is in a turn based way it can be done in your own pace. You learn pretty quick that some combinations are the key to success. For example, it's better to battle a water-type Pokémon with a grass-type Pokémon, then with a fire-type Pokémon. You can carry six different Pokémon around with you, so diversity is the key. While battling you level up your Pokémon, and you learn new battle moves to enhance your chance of winning. And you'll need good Pokémon in your party to be able to take on the Elite-4 near the end of the game!

What attracted me most though was the collecting aspect. There's a lot of Pokémon to collect, and some you can only get by hatching an egg at the Daycare center, or by trading you "old" Pokémon holding a certain item with another player.
You can collect and grow severall kinds of berries, and the berries can be made into poffins, to help the Pokémon in battle.
Under the world where you're roaming about, Sinnoh, there's a whole different world beneath full of burried treasure and fossils. And these fossils can be turned into yet more Pokémon.

In Sinnoh there are 210 Pokémon to be seen, and after beating the Elite 4 in a fearsome battle (in my case, after 5 tries!) you get access to the National Pokédex, or in other words, 491 Pokémon.

I thought the exploring part to be equally fun, it sometimes takes some puzzling insight to be able to progress. But after you've explored all of Sinnoh the game is still fun, not in the least because of the wifi possibility. ideal for trading rare Pokémon with your friends, or to bake even better poffins together.
This game has kept me occupied for 3 months straight, and still I haven't caught all Pokémon. I even purchased a large and hefty Strategy guide, and the book has been used a lot! How else can I keep track of all the ways to obtain new Pokémon!

10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 June 2009
The game is fun and good but I must also point out that I've not played pearl/diamond. If I had bought them I probably wouldn't've bought this. However it is a good game. It took me 42 hours to get to the end of the main storyline and tournament.

The only drawbacks are if you already have the other games and also that you cannot get ALL the pokemon unless you own an older DS/DSlite with other pokemon games which is a bit disappointing though not unexpected.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pokemon White 2 (Nintendo DS)
Pokemon White 2 (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£10.20


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
DS Best Prices - Buy Sell Exchange CeX Stores across UK & Online