Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


180 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kind of Blue
Just browsing through the Miles Davis products the other day, I was amazed to see that the average rating for "Kind of Blue" was only 4.5 stars. Intrigued as to what kind of person does not regard this album as truly exceptional, I scanned the reviews. Those that did not give the album five stars fell broadly into two categories. The first consisted of people who had no...
Published on 21 Mar 2006 by James Beer

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of Blue? With this mix YES!
What only 3 stars I hear you scream - well yes. This is one of the best jazz albums of all time so as far as performance is concerned we all know it is superb, 5 Stars. But the remastering is frankly very poor for such a classic standard. I would question if this was mastered from the master tapes and the engineer should be ashamed - did you actually sit down and listen...
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by Beethovens 9th


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

180 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kind of Blue, 21 Mar 2006
By 
James Beer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
Just browsing through the Miles Davis products the other day, I was amazed to see that the average rating for "Kind of Blue" was only 4.5 stars. Intrigued as to what kind of person does not regard this album as truly exceptional, I scanned the reviews. Those that did not give the album five stars fell broadly into two categories. The first consisted of people who had no jazz records and, having read the reviews, thought this classic would be a good one to start a collection with only to discover that,oops,they don't like jazz.
The second group appeared to be afficianados with a slightly sniffy attitude who view the album as jazz for people who don't really like jazz. There is some truth in that as it is by far the most accesible Miles album to non jazz fans and was my starting point in an apppreciation of jazz and of Miles in particular.
The point of this review is to ask, beseech and implore the reader who does not own this album to ignore these reviews and BUY Kind of Blue immediately. Your life will not be same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless masterpiece & more!, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Kind of Blue' is often cited as the greatest jazz album of all time and SONY have now released this sumptuous box set to mark its 50th anniversary. Apart from the original album which appears here re-mastered on CD and 180-gram vinyl, there are alternative takes, all the studio tracks from the 'Jazz Track' LP of 1958 and a 17-minute live performance of 'So What' recorded in Holland in 1960. The DVD features 'Celebrating a Masterpiece:Kind of Blue:Documentary' plus a 1959 TV broadcast 'The Sound of Miles Davis' and a photo gallery. There's also a 60-page hardback book of essays on the music.
This sextet of Miles Davis(trumpet), John Coltrane(tenor), Cannonball Adderley(alto), Bill Evans or Wynton Kelly(piano), Paul Chambers(bass) & Jimmy Cobb(drums) came together in 1959 to create a haunting, timeless masterpiece which Herbie Hancock described as 'a cornerstone, not just for jazz but for music'.
I first heard 'Kind of Blue' in the early 1960s and never tire of playing it. Although expensive, many fans of Miles Davis' music will want to acquire this lavishly produced box set which is bound to become a collectors' item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of Blue? With this mix YES!, 10 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What only 3 stars I hear you scream - well yes. This is one of the best jazz albums of all time so as far as performance is concerned we all know it is superb, 5 Stars. But the remastering is frankly very poor for such a classic standard. I would question if this was mastered from the master tapes and the engineer should be ashamed - did you actually sit down and listen to your final mix in a proper 5.1 system?. There is a complete lack of double bass. Where is the LFE (.1) channel content??? This album has a beautiful double bass most of which comes out the centre speaker but apart from hearing the notes there is very little depth or feel to the bass. The piano is poor also. The actual CD layer sounds better.

I also have the JSACD (Japanese SACD) version on Sony of this album and it is a much better. I would not purchase this Columbia SACD version - get the Sony version it is far superior.

Please don't judge this review with the "this is 'Kind of Blue' so always deserves 5 stars" mentality. I am purely reviewing the quality of the mastering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, poignant, cool, passionate.... a masterpiece., 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
Referring to "Kind of Blue" as the best jazz album of all time might actually be doing it a disservice. Jazz is one of those complex artforms which many people shy away from, afraid that they will not be able to understand it. So extoling its virtues might frighten people even more. But "Kind of Blue" is simply beautiful music. When listening to it, you forget everything you might feel about jazz, whether good or bad, and can only listen to it, amazed and excited. Miles Davis has created something so powerful yet full of simple, memorable melodies. Every note takes you further into that state where you simply hush up, tell whoever you are with to shut up, and listen. It is certainly not the type of music I would put on when friends come over for a chat. But it is an album which I can listen to, over and over and over again. Definitely something for MUSIC fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're no heretic frank_fan, just missing the point somewhat, 25 Mar 2004
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
There are swathes of jazz listeners who only seem to rank a piece of work if it has a kazillion notes, all played frenetically and showing extraordinary technique yet wouldn't know a beautiful album if it hit them in the face, frank_fan is obviously one of these. Not an heretic, just a tad misguided I feel.
I was chatting with a friend recently and he is of the opinion that if someone plays very little or is economical with the amount of notes being played, that they are wasting their musical talent. I have one word to say to that:- Bullsh*t. Sometimes, it pays to strip back the playing to define the overall sound, Kind of Blue being one of those occasions. The playing is sublime, each musician contributing a little conversation and the others only chipping in when they have something to say.
This is arguably the most popular jazz album in the world EVER and it's not hard to see why. It has everything. The arrangements allow each player to breathe, to reflect on what's being said. There is no clutter, no wasted notes. It's as if something great is at work here, as if each musician is a channel for the music to flow through. It's a moving, gently evolving document that thankfully has been preserved for all time.
Whether you like jazz or hate it, give Kind of Blue a listen. You will either warm to it or be left cold but it's an album that has to be heard at least once, after all greatness only comes along occasionally. Catch this slow train to musical Heaven. Wonderful. Classy. Unsurpassed. This is Kind of Blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 4 Nov 2008
By 
A. J. Loader (Oxfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's just arrived and the package feels like it is worth the money. I already have all the music bar a few fragments of studio sequences and the "previously released in unauthorized form" 17:28 version of So What, but for the Miles completist it's wonderful to have.

Now - to sit back and luxuriate in this sublime music once again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars - but for which CD?, 7 Jan 2013
By 
J. G. Hastie "GogolH" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
Of course this is one of the greatest albums ever made in any genre. But I see that Amazon are selling numerous editions, since the copyright has expired and everyone is out to make a few bucks off the back of this sublime work of art. Each of those editions carries the same customer reviews, though one product itself may vary markedly from another in terms of sound as well as liner notes etc. Yet Amazon is quite happy, apparently, to preside over this chaos, where the customer may purchase something only to discover it is not exactly the product as advertised (and recommended by 180+ customers). Add to this the general sloppiness in product descriptions (it would help if those responsible knew something about music) and the advantages of being able to go into a shop and buy exactly what one wants are clear - unfortunately, there aren't that many shops left, are there Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kind Of Blue, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Words cannot really do justice to this album. If it catches you just right it is all about the experience and not some intellectual definition. It's a classic for a reason and a great introduction to Miles Davis and jazz in general. Lower the lights, open a bottle of red wine and put this on, it's what jazz is all about!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buyitbuyitbuyitbuyitbuyitbuyitbuyit, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kind Of Blue (Audio CD)
This was the first jazz album that I ever bought and not knowing anything about the style, I didn't know what to expect. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be a complete understatement but to say that since that day the only music I've listened to has been jazz (be it Benny Goodman or Jaco Pastorius!) would be about right. From the opening bars of "So What" you know that you're listening to a masterpiece and a piece of history that could never be repeated. The 50 minutes just disappear and I guarantee when it's over you will go and press play again - I have been listening to it for years and I'm still finding new bits that I've missed! There is not one fault to be found with this album - it is pretty perfect...As albums go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now You Understand, 4 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Kind of Blue is the recording on which, to the uninitiated, jazz suddenly makes sense. Its discovery almost always precipitates a slap of the forehead and a loud but ecstatic groan of 'Now I understand!' But it's not just for the once-were-lost-but-now-are-found: this is also the favourite album of many, nay most, dark glasses wearing, echt-jazz aficionados. This is the only music to which these grizzled 50's era bebop-veterans and us musically bereft ex-Stone Roses fans may have, in these polarised times, a similar response. And in a popular culture which tries hard to deny the existence of anything other than what sprung from Elvis and the Beatles, Kind of Blue is probably the sole representative in the broad public imagination of another, now otherwise submerged, tradition In this way it has a role also as a way out of the pop culture: this is the album through which more people (myself included) have been introduced to jazz and escaped than any other. More than anything else though this is an album to which it would be worth listening to every day for the rest of your life. It is never the same twice. It always has more to yield up. It continues to improve and expand after being subjected to prolonged and serious listening. This is music that inspires rapture, music that invites you to become absorbed, to slip away from the to ordinary, to become, in Van Morrison's words, 'a stranger in this world'. Anyway, its unique mood and atmosphere have been wondered at and analyzed elsewhere by better than the likes a me but, for what it's worth, a personal highlight is Coltrane's first solo on Flamenco Sketches. Bill Evans and Miles are thrilling everywhere etc etc If you have become bored with the endlessly annihilating cycle of pop culture and if the thin emotions and vague thoughts of rock music no longer excite you, then think of this album as a way out. It is an invitation to anybody for whom music matters, an invitation to the high ground of jazz, to the clean air and the open spaces, to the excitement and adventure of this most absorbing of musical forms. Step on up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

Kind Of Blue
Kind Of Blue by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews