Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nikwax solarproof
excellent product...set up tent sprayed it all over took about 20 mins to dry.. then the heavens opened..after 1/2 an hour of driving rain which left puddles 3 inches deep around the tent there was not one single leak.. i cannot recommend a better product does exactly what it says in the bottle BRILLIANT buy some now....
Published on 16 July 2011 by John T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced.
I'm not sure how long this stuff is supposed to last, one season and my pack is soaking up water, shrugged the rain off pretty well for most of year.
As with all these applications, they're very expensive, for what is essentially a bunch of PVAs and some other cheap chemicals in a nice 'small' spray bottle.
Published 4 months ago by Macca69


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nikwax solarproof, 16 July 2011
excellent product...set up tent sprayed it all over took about 20 mins to dry.. then the heavens opened..after 1/2 an hour of driving rain which left puddles 3 inches deep around the tent there was not one single leak.. i cannot recommend a better product does exactly what it says in the bottle BRILLIANT buy some now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterproofing Tent, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Ms. Dawn Matthews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Easy to use and very effective. Used less that 400ml to cover a 4 man tent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NikWax Solar, 20 Oct 2011
It keeps the sun off your Microlight Wing and extends the life. But burns your eyes so wear eye protection!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nikwax spray on., 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikwax Tent And Gear Solarproof Spray-On Tent Waterproofer (Sports)
If you follow the instructions then can't fault this product.
Only improvement could be to the spray nozzle to obtain finer spray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic..., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought a sail for the garden which should have been waterproof, but in the first shower it leaked. Have since sprayed the sail with this product and not one rain drop now leaks through. Brilliant product, easy to use but would recommend wearing gloves as it is very sticky when you get it on your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to apply, 21 Jun 2013
By 
BM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikwax Tent And Gear Solarproof Spray-On Tent Waterproofer (Sports)
Does exactly as it says. Waterproofs. I've completely re proofed
The gazebo, 2 x rucksacks , by cycle Lanier bags, walking boots and shoes and still got 1/4 of this wonderful product left
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prolongs life of waterproofing, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for guinea pigs hutch rain cover as starting letting water in, worked a treat! Should work well on our tent. only problem does not come with a spray to spray it on! Really quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikwax Tent And Gear Solarproof Spray-On Tent Waterproofer (Sports)
Bought the 2.5l version to deal with a 20ft x 10ft gazebo. It comes with its own pump and the instructions say to wet fabric and then spray evenly. That quantity is (by manufacturer's literature)only just enough to do this job.
However: the pump/spray worked ok but it is impossible to get an even spread on a very large area. So I sprayed anyway and then smoothed over with a soft brush on an extension. (Note: the brush will get waterproofed too!) This produced an even coating and after removing excess it was left to dry. By using this method I actually used a lot less than the manufacturers predict.
Drying is quite fast in reasonable weather and a brief shower the following day showed the fabric to be pretty well waterproof.
There was enough liquid left to re-wax my wax jacket using the same technique which now seems ok, and there is still enough left for other jobs.
Beware: The finished article needs to breathe for quite a while as the smell of the liquid can give eye irritation. Ideally leave a tent or bit of clothing outside in fresh air for a day or two before bringing inside or packing up.
Overall well satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not sure how long this stuff is supposed to last, one season and my pack is soaking up water, shrugged the rain off pretty well for most of year.
As with all these applications, they're very expensive, for what is essentially a bunch of PVAs and some other cheap chemicals in a nice 'small' spray bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nixwax tent waterproofer, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikwax Tent And Gear Solarproof Spray-On Tent Waterproofer (Sports)
Leaves a milky residue on the tent, so sits on teh fabric rather than deeply penetrating it.
Seems to work, although I wouldn't bet on how long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews