Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YORK LEATHER BELT
I bought this belt for my son who is into weight training at the moment. Decided it safer he wear a belt and this one is excellent both on use and price. The belt is padded where it fits to the back and he says its very supportive. Be aware though that it comes in three sizes and as a 30/32 waist he required the MEDIUM size. We originally purchased the small but this only...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Adey J

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once you put it on, you don't take it off. Seriously.
Where should I start with this product?

The packaging. When the delivery guy knocked at my door with a box the size of him with my name on it, I didn't have a scooby-doo about what it's contents would be. I opened it up and saw a belt. One belt. This belt. I estimate fourteen trees died for this to be safely sent to my house. So it wasn't a good start, but this...
Published 16 days ago by Anon


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YORK LEATHER BELT, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
I bought this belt for my son who is into weight training at the moment. Decided it safer he wear a belt and this one is excellent both on use and price. The belt is padded where it fits to the back and he says its very supportive. Be aware though that it comes in three sizes and as a 30/32 waist he required the MEDIUM size. We originally purchased the small but this only just fitted on the last fixing holes and was returned for the larger one. Thanks Amazon for another great item and quick delivery of the replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent belt but make sure you buy the correct size, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
It is an excellent belt for the price, you just need to make sure you buy the right size. I have a 36" waist and the medium size belt was unsuitable for me as it was too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Support, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
The belt arrived earlier than estimated. I got this for my husbands birthday and he loved it. A good quality belt, great support and does the trick. Be sure to get the correct size as i was advised by another purchaser, Large fits 34-36 inch waist, medium fits 30-32 inch waist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once you put it on, you don't take it off. Seriously., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
Where should I start with this product?

The packaging. When the delivery guy knocked at my door with a box the size of him with my name on it, I didn't have a scooby-doo about what it's contents would be. I opened it up and saw a belt. One belt. This belt. I estimate fourteen trees died for this to be safely sent to my house. So it wasn't a good start, but this is nothing to what I was about to find.

I thought, still in my pyjama bottoms and nothing more to try it on to see how it worked. It looked very durable, but the belt prongs looked about three-foot long and pointing the wrong way. 'What the heck', I thought, lets put it on anyway, I'm sure the clever muscly people at 'York' would be more than qualified to do this. Apparently not. Sadly, their GCSE in PE didn't cover common sense. It was pretty hard to put on, and I put it on tight, wanting to keep my back from breaking and all that. My back felt pretty good, so I thought 'happy days', no back pain for me. Nope, no back pain, just a loss of dignity and self respect...

I thought, seeing as it was morning, it would be a fair while until I did my workout for the day so I attempted to undo the belt. Just like any normal belt, I pulled one bit of belt while trying to pull out the metal prongs from the incredibly cosy holes I managed to wedge the metal into. I pulled and I pulled, with very little luck. Sadly, only my mother was in the house, so I called for her help. She pulled the belt while I attempted to pull the metal out of the holes, and after several minutes it became obvious this wasn't going to happen any time soon. Starting to fear I would have to go to college, eventually work and be buried in this thing, I started to panic slightly.

'Damn, I thought'. 'How does anyone ever get this thing off?'. Looking back on the reviews... apparently they don't. I am writing this so you don't have to go through what I did. Back to my story...

With my mum being as much use as the box the belt came in, I started to think of some alliterative therapies to get this thing off. Sadly, due to how tight it was, I couldn't pull it off past my legs. Having only just gotten up, I literally had my pyjama bottoms on, and it became apparent very quickly that this thing wasn't coming off while those were on. So, totally naked I attempted to pull it off with one less layer on, but I accomplished nothing. Looking around my room for inspiration, with nothing but a belt on, looking like an ex-WWE star who went into the porn industry, I saw a little pot of hope. Vaseline. Yes, vaseline. I started to rub the vaseline all over my nether regions, hoping to loosen my new found chastity belt. With my greasy hands, I accomplished nothing but getting a bruised ball where my hand slipped off the belt.

With that option dead in the water, just like a few of my little swimmers, I decided to lather up with something slightly different. Moisturiser seemed like my best bet. Well, I thought it was moisturiser. It turns out to be 'Veet Hair Removal Cream'. Oh good. If you've ever used hair removal cream, you probably know the fierce, fierce burning pain that occurs almost every time. Especially down there. So as things escalated quickly, I found myself in a freezing cold shower, still wearing this belt, with hair quite literally falling off me to try and stop the searing pain that I was in. Now I had two pretty big problems.

An hour later, soaking wet, wearing this belt and less hair than I started the day with, I admitted defeat. Thinking I was now home alone, I sauntered downstairs without a towel in search of a sturdy pair of scissors. Cutting the leather was tough, but I would have done anything to get it off at this point, two hours after I dared to put it on. At the moment I cut the last piece of leather, I heard the backdoor open, where I was in direct view. Not only did my mum come home, but she brought my grandmother and grandad too. Yes. Yes, really. With a rather red nether region, a colour which matched my embarrassed face, and a sliced belt on the floor, I jumped to protect my dignity, which I failed to do so as I still was holding the scissors. Did I remove the belt? Yes, I did. Did I remove a piece of my gonads? Yes, I did that too.

So, if you are thinking of making this purchase. I wouldn't. I really, really would not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
Although cheap this belt is very poorly made. I could overlook the fact it arrived covered in mould if it was any good. The main part of the belt and padded suede lining were okay but the leather loop holding the buckle to the belt was thin and poorly riveted to the main belt. The main problem were the prongs on the buckle. They are badly shaped and as previous reviews have stated make it virtually impossible to take the belt off and very difficult putting it on. I cannot believe a reputable company like York have marketed such a shoddy product. Surely they must have some sort of quality control that should have picked up this terrible design fault.
I made the mistake of not taking the previous reviews seriously, thinking it couldn't be that bad but now realise it is. I also checked the same belt in Argos and saw that it was exactly the same.
I have been weight training for over 25yrs and have used belts extensively in the past so take my advice and steer clear of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
It is ok but it leaves a lot of rubbed material on your clothes each time you use it, it gets better after using it for a while but not great. Either way worth the money to try a belt out but I would buy a better quality next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
I saw this in argos for more than double the price so I was a bit worried I might get something inferior at first. It's fine though, it's a good quality belt and a good price. I got the small for my 30" waist and it's a perfect fit, It could also be used for 32" or 28" with no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great belt quality, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
great belt quality, bought large size, fits fine, should have gone for an xl , im 15 and a half stones, so anyone else have a waist over 38, go for the xl, awesome belt though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper at half the price, 10 May 2011
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
Another exellent product from 'York Fitness'. The cheapest I could find this in any high street store, was in 'Argos' at 19:99. I am a 40 inch waste and the large was just the right size, as I intend to loose weight around my waist. Any bigger than 40 inches and you would really need a bigger size. The width is just right to give enough support, while not to wide to restrict your movement. There is just enough padding to make it comfortable, without loosing the support too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid back injuries, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: York Leather Belt (Sports)
Bought to replace a belt my husband has used for many years, good comfortable fit,padding in back for extra comfort. Good quality leather at an affordable price. Check you order the correct size, especially if there is a bit more of you to fit into the belt than there used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

York Leather Belt
York Leather Belt by York Fitness
10.00 - 15.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews