Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stupendous!
A couple of positive reviews kindled a desire to try this little film out. After it became apparent that it wasn't going to appear too soon in any local rental establishment, I took the plunge and ordered the disk. This turns out to have been one of my very best DVD acquisitions - and if you get a copy, you'll be delighted to own it, too.
My wife was reading when I...
Published on 15 Feb 2005 by Plom de Nume

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Half of film missing
Bought the DVD to have a copy of a film that I had seen in the theater. Half of that film has been edited out.
The theatrical release starts with a mad horse chase that opens the story of one of the couples not being allowed to have another child so the wife keeps insisting that there will be no sex until the husband goes to the city to by condoms. All of that...
Published 5 months ago by Tenzin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another world., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
This was a glimpse into a world so different from my own that it was a real eye-opener. It is amazing to think of the people who still live a nomadic life, lovingly tending their camels and sheep and living such in close and supportive families. I was deeply moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very gentle and heartwarming film, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mum as a gift. We have both watched it and thoroughly enjoyed it. It moves along at a slow pace and of course it is spoken in the native language and sub-titled in English. If you love animals and are happy to watch a very gentle film then I would definitely recommend this. I did read previous reviews before purchasing and they were all very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great humor and ethnography, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in the cinema because I'm interested in Siberian peoples' lives. You really see how people live for real. There is good humour too, despite little dialogue. I liked the scenes of playing the morin-huur (Mongolian horsehead fiddle) because I own one and it was great to see little children learning to play it much better than I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Documentry worth watching, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
Great watching for all the family, & the camel does weep. It shows the hard life that these camel herders have,& how happy they are inspite of the difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best film ever - IMHO, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed this film many times over and never stop telling friends about it.
It is such an amazing story & well filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Touching Story, 8 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth looking at. Don't expect a multi-million blockbuster feel to this film. however, that is part of it's charm. Nothing much happens, but it is engrossing. it is a touching, gentle story of family life in a land far away.
There are parallels to be drawn though that can speak to us in our western situation.
I will leave you to draw your own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
Safely received and well packed, my friend leant me her copy and it is a very special story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to weep your leg off., 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the best Mongolian camel film you'll see this year. A story of real magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting film, 13 Nov 2007
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
it's amazing that a film in Mongolian about camel herders should be so captivating. The personalities of the shepherds and their extended families transcended language barriers and one felt such sympathy for the camel and her calf. That goodness it has a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely beautiful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD]
The Story of the Weeping Camel [DVD] by Luigi Falorni (DVD - 2008)
£4.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews