Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars49
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2009
Not at all like World War 1 in colour - this is not a history of the war, more like personal views from various aspects of the war. If this is what you were looking for then 'World War 2 In Colour' is fine.......but I think they are using the title to deceive unsuspecting buyers!
11 comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
A big disappointment as only the USA's war is recorded. How anyone could produce a WWII documentary and not include the Battle of Britain in the 'Air War' section is, frankly, appalling - and an insult to the men who died, both British and Allies. I gave it away to a charity shop a few days after watching it. Was cheap, though, so...
66 comments|76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This documentary is narrated for the kept-dumb American public. It grossly neglects all but the american participation in WWII. Furthermore, and this really frustrated me: there are no subtitles. Not for the hard of hearing, nothing. For the great mayority of people, I suppose this is not essential but still, what's the effort of including a readily available text file in a DVD when formatting it? A big shame there is no governing body checking on this sort of disdain..!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
I wish I'd read the reviews. I am an actor and was hoping for a UK based viewpoint for research. The picture of the RAF plane threw me a red herring. THis is an incessantly glib, non stop narration of a very simplistic view of the war- from an American perspective. Informative if you want that, and don't like to think too much about the history you're being spoon fed. But if you can listen to the terrible terrible TERRIBLE acting voiceovers without reaching for the remote, you did better than me. The "english" voice overs need to be heard to be believed.

The thing I learned- read reviews before buying.
11 comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
The boxset maybe long, but from start to finish it seems to forget any other country other than USA exists. Shame really. Do not buy.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
I was very dissapointed with this box set as it portrays the americans as winning the war, its their Education system or is it Hollywood Movies Glorifying the American Contribution,Leading Americans to believe they won it themselves?

I often hear Americans say ''We saved your Butts'' But this obviously isn't true and quite offensive to the memory of the British men who gave their lives in the World Wars.

Great Britain was the only Allied Country to fight non stop all the way through World War One and World War Two Britain also fought the in war completely alone for three years and dis-swayed The Nazi's invasion plan in the Battle of Britain and later joined Allied Forces in Liberating Europe.

Over Three Quarters of the D-Day Landing Forces were British and Canadian,

The Naval Combat Vessels On D-Day Were approximately 79% British & Canadian; 16½% American & 4½% other Allies.

Even U.S Landing Craft were manned by British Sailors.

Oh and the British War Debt to America was paid up on 29th December 2006.

Britain does not owe the current American population anything in terms of gratitude,But we do owe your brave Soilders who gave their lives in World War Two Respect and we will continue to Honour and remember the sacrifice they made.
2727 comments|155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
It is average & not as good as I expected. It covers mainly on pacific-islands & Us marines.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Britain at War in Colour is far superior, narrated by John Thaw. Also available from Amazon.
However the length is half the length of this one, but at 3 hours is enough for me !
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Although almost identical titles, they have very different content. This version is a modern TV dramatization of WW2, perhaps not as factually accurate as it could have been; whereas "world war II in colour" is original film footage that has been enhanced by the use of modern computer re-processing techniques and is based on actual events with brilliant narration, that I would highly recommend for anyone interested in the history/events of WW2 (or I should say WWII).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
This box set is worth viewing. The hour on submarine warfare is particularly interesting. All other content is original and informative. The title of the set was misleading for me. I bought it under the impression that it was the six-part series issued by The Telegraph some years back, but it is a History Channel production.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)