Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Justice - Lone Justice, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lone Justice (Audio CD)
had this album as a kid... borrowed the vinyl, bought the vinyl, had the tape and then for ages nothing... and i missed it... it's one of my "key" albums... Maria Mckee's voice is quite an instrument ... the band are amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Miss L. M. Boa "crimeworm" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lone Justice (MP3 Download)
Since seeing them perform this song on the Old Grey Whistle Test and Maria McKee's incomparable rock'n'roll performance, this has been a mainstay of my collection. God knows how many times I've paid for it in CDs/downloads (is that not one of the most annoying things ever - repeat purchases and hence payments? Anyway, love her, love the band. Def in my all-time top 10. The music? A little bit country, a lot of rock'n'roll, the angelic voice of Maria, with songs that are undeniably catchy. Go for it - it ain't that expensive, and you won't regret it. (Musical fact: Maria wrote "A Good Heart", covered by Feargal Sharkey, when she was only 16 or 17, depending on which age you believe.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and different country-pop on speed, 30 Jun 2013
By 
Jan Patrik Sahlstrøm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very difficult to describe this album, as it blends many different genres. Start out with 80s pop-punk, add dashes of folk and country, season with excellent vocals, and you get a pretty good record. Bit rough around the edges, it sometimes seems like the band can't quite decide what they want to sound like. Definately recommended, but be aware that you are heading into uncharted waters with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly impressive debut drawing on rock and folk influences., 12 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lone Justice (Audio CD)
This album bursts forth and grabs the attention right from the off, with the lead track, 'East of Eden'. It doesn't, however, bore you into submission by repetition, mixing up the pace within a cohesive whole, aided by the lyrical theme of troubled relationships expressed in a refreshingly knowing way and with a sense of irony. Probably the best known track is the Tom Petty and Mike Campbell composition, 'Ways To Be Wicked'. It has a strong pop-rock feel, but is followed by a yearning ballad, 'Don't Toss Us Away', written by Bryan MacLean. Whilst these tracks work well it is with their own material that the band really shines. For me, there are two stand-out tracks, the first of which is the wonderfully manic 'Working Late' penned by Marvin Etzioni on which the singer works herself up into a frenzy, convinced that her partner is having an affair. The guitar touches are excellent but also allow the vocals to breathe. The other track that I really like is the more conventional 'Pass It On', written by Maria McKee herself and perhaps a hint at some of the material to follow on the second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, youthful, and ever fresh rockist spin on country, 26 Mar 2004
By 
J. H. Bateman "jembateman" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lone Justice (Audio CD)
The singles 'Ways to be Wicked' and 'Sweet Sweet Baby' struck me as very enthusiastically sung and played when I first heard them ('85), so I bought the cassette when I saw it cheap in '86. Maria McKee's voice enables these songs to retain their freshness whenever I dig the CD out. It's like country rock on speed, with canny lyrics from McKee, her half brother Brian MacLean (ex-Love), and LJ's Marvin Etzioni ('You are the light' is a magnificently hope-filled ballad, similarly themed to LJ's 'Shelter' and Maria's later 'Life is sweet').
These lyrics - and their delivery, remarkable from a voice so young - show fantastic narrative irony on 'Wait till we get home', 'Working Late', and 'Soap, Soup and Salvation': witty but admiring rockist spins on country.
An essential youthful prelude for anyone impressed by the tremendous growth and maturity in Maria's more recent solo albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite 80's-alt.-country-sound, but good in my opionion, 13 May 2011
By 
Per Heiterer "Alter Schwede" (Österreich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lone Justice (Audio CD)
Quite 80ies alt-country-sound, but good in my opinion. With a little help from their friends like Benmont Tench... Also with a song, penned by McKee's half-brother, Bryan McLean of Love, writer of Alone again or ... Nevertheless I prefer McKee's solo efforts like 'Sin to get saved'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lone Justice (MP3 Download)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dance? What?, 7 May 2012
By 
George Leak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross (MP3 Download)
So this kind of french dance type music isn't my usual thing. But I can dig this, it's not the greatest album I've ever heard and it won't make my top 10 all time list but for something to listen to that's a bit different I'd recommend it.
I don't think there's much to say that hasn't been said really...look up D.A.N.C.E. on youtube, if you like it then buy the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Daft Punk fans.., 5 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross (MP3 Download)
The first time I heard [[Justice]] I was totally amazed, this clever melange of dirty techno/funk sounds,wrapped in a maze of twisted Moog loops,held together by amazing chords ;left me breathless with anticipation and craving for another throbbing of the deep filtered bass line . Justice's playful,spooky,infectious,multidimensional blend of sounds,samples and loops brings dance Meister's Daft Punk to mind.So enjoy these songs,but after a few listen;you will come to realize that these are no copycat tracks,but Mana from your favorite Machine Gods bestowing more aural candy under another guise....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross
Cross by Justice
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews