Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best country album ever
I have listened to this album many,many times over and i still am not bored with this mix of great music by one of the greatest country artist ever.
To start with a song like the gambler is pure genius, and songs like daytime friends and when two fools collide still pull at my heart strings, and songs like coward of the county and long arm of the law are songs that...
Published on 15 May 2004 by Mr N Sandell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Ok
This is an ok cd but does not sound original. I would still buy similar ones because I like the music.
Published 7 months ago by Spokei


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best country album ever, 15 May 2004
By 
Mr N Sandell (ludlow, England) - See all my reviews
I have listened to this album many,many times over and i still am not bored with this mix of great music by one of the greatest country artist ever.
To start with a song like the gambler is pure genius, and songs like daytime friends and when two fools collide still pull at my heart strings, and songs like coward of the county and long arm of the law are songs that will make any man feel manly.
i reccomend you buy it and see for yourself.
if you are a true country listner you will agree with me when you listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of Kenny�s music, 22 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
All Kenny's important British hits are here except Islands in the stream (a duet with Dolly Parton that can be found on her compilations) although Ruby don't take your love to town (a UK number two hit), Something's burning (a UK top ten hit) and Reuben James are solo re-recordings of songs that Kenny originally recorded with the First Edition. They don't sound very different from the originals.
Kenny had two number one hits in the UK (Lucille, Coward of the county) and a top twelve hit with Lady (his biggest American hit - it spent several weeks at number one). Three minor UK hits - Daytime friends, She believes in me and We've got tonight (a duet with Sheena Easton) are also included. All three fared much better in America, where Kenny had many other hits.
Of Kenny's American hits that failed to chart in Britain, the most famous is probably The gambler, which is here along with Don't fall in love with a dreamer (a duet with Kim Carnes), Till I can make it on my own (a duet with Dottie West), You decorated my life, Sweet music man (written by Kenny but covered by several major country singers including Waylon Jennings, Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette and Reba McEntire) and Every time two fools collide (another duet with Dottie West).
There are many American hits missing (among them being Love lifted me, Love or something like it, Through the years, Love the world away, Love will turn you around, Scarlet fever) but Long arm of the law (first released on the Lady compilation in the early eighties) is here, together with Kenny's excellent covers of Son of Hickory Holler's tramp (O C Smith), Green green grass of home (a country hit for Porter Wagoner that later became an international pop hit for Tom Jones), Desperado (Eagles) and Abraham Martin and John (an American hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles but a British hit for Marvin Gaye).
There are many compilations of his music to choose from including double CD's and boxed sets, but as an introduction to Kenny's music, this is exactly what British customers want - plenty of his own hits and a few choice covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't beat Kenny!!, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a Kenny fan since my late teens and this album definitely does him justice - nothing to fault - love it, love it, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Kenny's classics together, will be played many many times., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A CD filled with some of the all time greatest country hits. Somehow this CD keeps being reloaded into our CD player. I reckon it must be worthy considering this one of the greatest of all the many greatest hits cds available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly as expected, very happy with my purchase thank you very much. I cant think of anything else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. CA Robinson (Sleaford, Lincs.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Kenny Rogers and this CD has most of his best songs. Have played it lots - very pleased with it. Good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the very best of Kenny Rogers., 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent cd. All my favourites are here and it still sounds as good as when the songs were first released back in the 70s. I shall probably play it as much as when I used to play the songs on my old tape recorder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Besto kenny, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny at his best!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good singer and nice songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews