Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point
Made this when I was a kid and had plenty of fun putting it together. Twenty years later I decided to try my hand at model making again, and despite having made numerous ones as a child, this was the one that stayed with me (well...this one and the Bismarck), and was my first choice to try again.

The kit is great. Brushes and paints mean you can get started...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Ms. Sl Hole

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value
Loved the airfix model and it would have gotten a 5 for the value and product type. However although it says that all the colours are included they are not. Would have been disappointed if it had been for the full price.
Published 14 months ago by jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Ms. Sl Hole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Made this when I was a kid and had plenty of fun putting it together. Twenty years later I decided to try my hand at model making again, and despite having made numerous ones as a child, this was the one that stayed with me (well...this one and the Bismarck), and was my first choice to try again.

The kit is great. Brushes and paints mean you can get started straight away, and there is a surprising amount of detail in the actual model. What is contained in the box is enough to make a perfectly good, basic model of the Ark Royal. However if like me you want to go into a bit more detail, you'll require some more paint. The White Ensign Models website also has extra details available which are designed to specifically fit this model, and I'd highly recommend them for the more advanced model makers.

All in all, this is is a great model for beginners, and a great starting point for more experienced model makers. The fact that it is an aircraft carrier and therefore not loaded with the deck detail of a battleship doesn't detract from the finished product at all, and if you take the time, effort and patience, you'll be left with an outstanding replica of a legendary ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected pleasure, 7 Dec 2010
By 
J. Acs (Hemel - Hertfordshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
I had one of these as a child and it survived several house moves for about 20 odd years. The aircraft on it and the multitude of guns and a little imagination and I had far more fun out of it than from battle ships of which I had a few also. Don't expect a work of art or a pleasing presence. The ship is quite functional and unexciting to look at but the lifts, AA guns and launches make up an interesting model and one whic is easy to make look good even for the inexperienced model maker. Note that this is i:600 not 1:700 scale as many competitive naval kits are. All the better for beign a slightly larger scale though. Shame Airfix don't churn out more of these things - especially WW1 ships which can be quite exciting craft. Their Vosper and Eboat are well worth looking out for though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Loved the airfix model and it would have gotten a 5 for the value and product type. However although it says that all the colours are included they are not. Would have been disappointed if it had been for the full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice kit, 2 Aug 2013
By 
D. Craggs-Hinton "Christine" (Tenerife) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
I made this kit years ago, I thought it would be nice to revisit it especially as you now get all the paints with it.
One criticism is that the paints were not as described, two of the colours were missing and two duplicated. This is the 2nd modern Airfix kit I have purchased with quality control issues but it didn't stop me enjoying the kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Models, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
The parcel arrived in good condition, no dents or splits. Very well packed and sealed which means the original packaging of the model (Airfix) was still in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - fast delivery, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Bought this as a christmas present came in good time, very good product....he loved it and built it straight away its a genuine Airfix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
This arrived promptly and was well packaged. It looks good as far as the box goes. I can't say any more until my grandson unwraps it and tries to put it together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Air fix, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Bought this for my nephew to build. He's delighted with it . He's 13. Yet to try putting it together though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars airfix ark royal kit, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
great kit with good detail andwell presented. all you need to make a good model, need some modelling experience. would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50070 Royal Navy HMS Ark Royal 1:600 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Bought this for my step dad for his bday! He absolutely loves it and will keep him occupied on those rainy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews