Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats To Beat The Blues.
In these hard times it's refreshing to find a compilation of fine tunes at such a cheap price. Every track on this album is great in it's own right. So get your cat clothes on and enjoy a rollicking time of quality blues, jazz, rock 'n' roll and crooners. Worth the price alone for "Good Morning Judge" by Wynonie Harris and His All Stars. Try Listening to David Rose...
Published on 28 Feb. 2009 by Mr. R. C. Neil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not really what I expected from the track titles
Published 1 month ago by SUSAN L BARTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats To Beat The Blues., 28 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. R. C. Neil "spirit of vambo" (Prestwick Ayrshie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
In these hard times it's refreshing to find a compilation of fine tunes at such a cheap price. Every track on this album is great in it's own right. So get your cat clothes on and enjoy a rollicking time of quality blues, jazz, rock 'n' roll and crooners. Worth the price alone for "Good Morning Judge" by Wynonie Harris and His All Stars. Try Listening to David Rose Orchestra's "The Stripper" without recalling Morecombe And Wise making breakfast.
Fifty classic tracks and a girl with big red pants well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50 Burlesque Classics, 11 Sept. 2010
I teach Burlesque dancing to students of all ages and was looking for "The Stripper" but came across this album. Whilst not all the songs are strictly Burlesque, and not all of them are suitable to dance to it is great to have such a large number of songs to use as background music for my classes. A huge number of songs for a very reasonable price - I am a happy lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imagination Candy, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
Victoriana probity killed the bawd and it took a whole new liberation to finally release the shackles.

Alan Freed noticed white kids buying "race" music at the beginning of the 50's in Ohio...so the term rock and roll became a standard to rebrand a segregated cultural existence to make it nice and palatable for white folk to imbibe. Rock and Roll didn't refer to just a beating off single file excursion but the rhythm of a joint sexual union.

So this is the link to burlesque, the beginning of a rethink of morality, when women caroused the streets as oil paintings and men bestrode thumping Harleys, Triumphs, Nortons, then drove garishly painted hot rods, encased in a leather, blue denim jeans and slick back greasy hair. Aesthetics were never sharper. Many a zygote was released to the passion created due to this primal beat.

The connection? Well these tracks hark back to that magical explosion before the arrival of mr and mrs "moderne" and plank spank berdy rock.

These tunes are reverential, so get down on bended knee to take communion before the sacred pole as each invokes the magic rituals of tension and release. From the opening of Harlem Nocturne, the beat noir jazz refrain baritone coos, to announce...then Screaming J suddenly arrives, banging to be let out.

These tunes have already gained their pedigree without any hype as the backdrop to the greatest sexual explosion ever occurring in human development. In between you are introduced to the missing Link, gulp to the Swallows, get hot and sweaty to Wynonie Harris and jangle to Bull Moose Jackson. Each are amongst an elite corps of bang gangers, whoopers, smoochers, sliders, twisters, cornholers and lickers.

You would have to be dead from the waste down not feel something tweeking between the midriff and the thighs.

Either that or a disciple of muddern kulcha with its bland sterile X manufacture, doused in constant need for happy pills. These songs take you beyond the valley of the dulls back to a time when teenagers composed their songs in seedy halls and banged out records to other local delinquents. Each sells one product they knew would be bought, because it was in the Bible...well there were two actually liquor and sex. Produced in a period when women lured, before they seduced men with temptation and thrills. Within this world men magnetised women with power, speed and rhythm and the end of the night was a perfect scream.
Comment Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Owning a piece of History, 12 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
At one time, you could purchase a song you liked on a 45 with A and B sides. Then there was the LP and everything changed for me with the CD's. This is a double CD of 5o classic works. The most notable track is David Rose and his orchestra "The Stripper".That alone is worth the price of this collection. Just to mention a few others, "Just a Gigolo" "I ain't got nobody" "Fever""Let the four winds Blow""Big Ten Inch"" I want to make Love to you" and on and on. I am proud to have found this collection and recommend this selection to live the history in privacy or even better, shared with someone special. Thanks for making my search of one selection turn 5o fold. Buy, play it and live it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Selection, 8 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
Whether its Burlesque music or not i wouldn't know - but it's a good selection of interesting tunes - some just Quirky, some good Jump Jive, some Jazzy, and a few Bluesy - but most are pretty jolly and lively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes, not just for feather and tassel antics!, 31 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD, excellent not just for tassel teasing etc but as back groud music for dinner/parties and when doing the house work!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get 'em off. S-l-o-w-l-y., 3 April 2009
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
The subtitle on this compilation reads, "50 Original Club Classics", and I have to confess the term `Club Classics' strikes fear into the heart of even a seasoned music writer, like myself. It evokes images of bell-ends in techno-clobber, the shrill sounds of atonal referee's whistles, luminous fishing tackle being swilled around the mouth of a slack-jawed moron. It makes me picture Brian Harvey, Tim Westwood, and an endless procession of identikit, headphone-wearing twats.

It's this that blights my day and leaves me frozen - not from the wintry, snow capped, vistas visible from my upper-storey window - but from the cold chill of the suggestion of dance music that so ices my veins. This concern even overrides the first part of this title that causes me concern, and that is the fact that this is a Various Artists release: a compilation. A mix-tape.

It can be difficult to critically assess work that is essentially just the art of making a recording comprising of the works of many other artists and a mere list of the tracks contained herein might serve you, the reader, better than this review. But I'll struggle on for you.

If you've ever been to a burlesque night, a Fifties night or anything that similarly involves women in period garb taking their clothes off for your entertainment, then you have nothing to fear as you'll be quite familiar with the tracks on this release. I too was pleasantly relieved to find that it was indeed the sort of music that accompanies such hedonistic, yet classy, nights.

If, like me, you have even a passing penchant for rock-a-billy chicks, Betty Page, the art of seduction or even good old-fashioned rock `n' roll, then you'll not be disappointed by this excellent collection of sexy lounge tunes. If you need a sleazy soundtrack to your speakeasy, or vaudevillian vulgarity for your vampish vixen to strip to, look no further.

J Capeling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
not really what I expected from the track titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
Ok but more random tracks than raunchy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classics indeed, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Tim Stevenson (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics (Audio CD)
A great selection of tunes from the heyday of burlesque, even though some of them aren't exactly burlesque tunes! It would've been great if it had the version of 'The Man with the Golden Arm' from Dennis Potter's classic TV series 'Lipstick on Your Collar' as well, but you can't have everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics
The Best Of Burlesque: 50 Original Club Classics by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews