Customer Reviews


9 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eight days a week, 24 April 2009
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (Audio CD)
The marvellous 25 O'clock EP from XTC's alter ego Dukes of Stratosphere, finally gets a solo CD release (previously included with `Psonic psunspot' on the `Chips from the chocolate Fireball' CD). But not just a an ordinary release we get a mini hard cover book reproduction of the original sleeve copious notes from sir john and red curtains and the other band members, written in both a humorous and informative manner. We also get 9 bonus tracks 6 demos from the period the demo of '25 O'clock' in a completely different tempo and adding much to the history of the song.
Finally you get a Quick time movie for `Mole from the Ministry' playable on your computer.

Fans of 60's Psych music will love this pure pastiche and have fun spotting the influences before reading the album notes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eight days a week, 24 April 2009
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (W/Book) (Audio CD)
The marvellous 25 O'clock EP from XTC's alter ego Dukes of Stratosphere, finally gets a solo CD release (previously included with `Psonic psunspot' on the `Chips from the chocolate Fireball' CD). But not just a an ordinary release we get a mini hard cover book reproduction of the original sleeve copious notes from sir john and red curtains and the other band members, written in both a humorous and informative manner. We also get 9 bonus tracks 6 demos from the period the demo of '25 O'clock' in a completely different tempo and adding much to the history of the song.
Finally you get a Quick time movie for `Mole from the Ministry' playable on your computer.

Fans of 60's Psych music will love this pure pastiche and have fun spotting the influences before reading the album notes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassed psychedelia, 5 May 2009
By 
Mr. N. MCCUTCHEON "Neil M" (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (Audio CD)
If you like crazily trippy effervescent mind-blowing kaleidoscopic psychedelia in the English style of I Am The Walrus etc, don't hesitate! This album is just endless fun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beam me up Scotty !, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. David J. Garrett "dizzy" (uk, sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (Audio CD)
Wow - like.... trippy Maan!
XTC take some kind of mushroom and slip inside this house as you pass by...
As a pastiche it is SO good that it stands up against any of the original classics such is the fondess and talent of mr.Partridge and Co.
It leaves you wanting more and is a true Psychedelic document all on its own. 5 stars is not enough my personal fave is "Your Gold Dress" but they could all be zooming around your brain if you buy this and listen with open ears, this also stands up to repeat plays as new sounds do appear out of the creative soup.
Lovely - the music is the drug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars far out man, 2 Sept. 2009
By 
A. kennedy "dogs of war" (dublin ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (Audio CD)
just one hell of an amazing record, loved when it came out, got the remaster, love even more, far out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious music by a recluse, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (Audio CD)
While I did get - as most everyone else - Senses Working Overtime - at its release, I was unaware for a long time that there was a parallel story to XTC, namely this. I chanced upon a few LP:s with The Dukes of Stratosphear at a local used LP store, and was smitten. And yes, once the needle dropped, it did - it was unmistakably the product of at least parts of XTC. I am very glad that Mr. Partridge had this parallel career, since a lot of the music The Dukes offer are every bit as good as that of XTC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Issue of old XTC being old, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (W/Book) (Audio CD)
Good fun music, excellent retro, ... and great sleeve art for all you similarly well adjusted Psychadelic silver surfers.

Retro, but new, back in the eighties. ... outsold the album by the kosher band, at the time!

Good tunes, of Beck, Floyd Beach Boys and so on 'esque style played on real old kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far Out, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (W/Book) (Audio CD)
How many different styles of 60's music can you cram on to one LP? (Sorry CD!!) As ever, Andy, Colin & Dave don't skimp. This expanded version is definitely one for the collection of any XTC collector. Look out for "Tin Toy Clockwork Train" it's brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pretty mind expanding music, 14 April 2009
By 
the phantomn thinker (directly above the center of the earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 25 O'Clock (Audio CD)
in a year thoughly infected with white plastic soul ( compleatly ignoring
the fact that the definative one was done 10 years previosly )
this record came as an absolute blast of fresh air
top hole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25 O'Clock
25 O'Clock by XTC (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews