Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
Taare Zameen Par is honestly one of the most beautiful films i have ever seen. I have watched this about five times in Hindi. I only know english and didn't understand a word, but the film has such a wonderful meaning, despite the different language the meaning is the same. I am Dyslexic and struggled through school not being regongnised, all i wanted to do like Ishaan...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by Miss S. Kidd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This is an audio CD, not the movie!
Hi, this is actually an audio CD and not a DVD of the movie. It was a real shame as i was looking forward to watching the movie!
Published on 3 Sep 2012 by AK47


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Every child is special, 21 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
You just have to watch it to feel it! Even my kids were moved!Its a definitely a family film. A big reccomendation from myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like stars on Earth, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Monica "Monica" (Qatar, Middle East) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
A powerful portrayal of what a good teacher ought to be: caring and seeking to meet the needs of all the students in their care; diligent and helping each student to reach their potential. This film is a must-see. The art teacher called Nikumbh who helps 8-year-old Ishaan overcome his problem is simply amazing; he does not give up on this 'problem' child while every other teacher has! Shame on them, but well done Nikumbh. If more teachers were like Nikumbh the world would be a better place for the many children who struggle daily at school all over the world. The strongest message is caring: show a child you care and they will thrive, no matter what their 'intelligence' is. I loved the story, loved the music, loved the songs that were all all in Hindi. I don't keep many films but I shall be keeping this as one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, tearful, beautiful, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on the recommendation of my sister in Australia. My 6 year old, 11 year old, husband, my mother and myself watched this and we were overcome by emotions of frustration, sadness and happiness. The actors were superb and believable. It does have subtitles which didn't detract from the film at all other than occasionally having to read them for my 6 year old who struggled to keep up. He asked many questions which was good. I would strongly and highly recommend this as it can't help but touch you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like Stars on Earth, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
This is a gem of a film although some might say could have done with a little further editing. It is a film to encourage people to watch world cinema as it draws people in who ordinarily would not watch a film with sub titles. A classic watch it with your friends and kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a MUST BUY, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. WA Bowman "a-bowman" (Spain formerly UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those films that almost everyone you know has never heard of. That is a pity because it is one of the best and most moving films I have ever seen.

This is THE film that you really must buy and that, from me, is a very rare recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and interesting, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
This movie tells a story about a boy in a different world than I know. Its a good story and it makes you think about how things can be different in the world and that your first thaught is not always a good one. The actors are great and the bollywood style makes it different than other movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and moving, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. N. Moffatt (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
Aamir Khan was made for his influential role in the film. It is an inspiration, and with enough surprises to truly delight.

Not as good, in my view, as 'Three idiots', but what could? (See my review if that film for my feelings on it).

Still very worthy of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You can't write, idiot!", 4 April 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
The film starts with an overload of words appearing on screen, a confusing mess of characters mixed with background noise and the word "fail" flashing in big red letters while a teacher reads out exam scores - this is academic life for young Ishaan who consistently finds his school performance becoming a public humiliation. His claim that the letters in his study books are "dancing" is assumed to be insolence rather than a genuine learning difficulty and he is discounted as a "retard", dismissed and expected to have no future.

Ishaant seems lost in his own little world, daydreaming and in need of constant pushing by his parents to get dressed or brush his teeth, his lackadaisical approach is in direct contrast to his disciplined, very academic, elder brother. After failing his year at school for a second time, his increasingly frustrated father (convinced that his youngest son's issues stem from a lack of self-discipline) decides it's time to send Ishaant to boarding school, his naughtiness is an embarrassment for the middle class family and can be tolerated no longer. Boarding school proves to be even more of a misery, feeling useless, stupid, and frustrated he becomes introverted. His silence reflects the depression he feels at such a young age, and as his mother tells him they won't be able to visit at the weekend a single tear rolls down his cheek - it's a heart breaking scene. He has no sense of self-worth. The depressed child is an inconvenience to the system, until the new art teacher arrives...

Bursting into the classroom in costume and extolling the virtues of informality and having fun - Mr. Nikumbh is a breath of fresh air in a stuffy classroom. He trades insults for inspiration and demonstrates that looking at the world differently from others can be a great asset. For the first time Ishaant's condition is seen as something beyond insubordination and Mr. Nikumbh identifies with his young pupil - he understands how he perceives the world and encourages him to thrive - as any child ought to. The film uses clever devices to give us insights into how Ishaant views the world, we actually see the words moving around on his page and observe how his mind wanders, his imagination creating bright adventures to stimulate his senses and escape that which otherwise frustrates him. The opening sequence to the film involves a similarly animated scene, the opening credits are impressive and hint at the films modern style. Instead of bombastic song-and-dance routines, songs are played in the background, often accompanying a montage which advances the story along. I recently watched Lagaan which also feels toned down in terms of big musical numbers but this looks even less like a 'traditional' Bollywood title - visually it has more in common with a European film and that probably makes it more accessible to audiences who aren't used to the song-and-dance frivolities of Indian cinema. The music and incredibly well choreographed dances of modern classics such as Dhoom 2 are beautiful (and are the reason why I love that particular film so much) - but Like Stars On Earth is more grounded in reality and centred on Ishaant's story. Often Bollywood provides exotic cinema, but here we see a slice of Indian life which is very similar to any here, or anywhere. This is a great film to tear down stereotypes and unite viewers through a depiction of typical domestic and school life which reflects that of our own. There are moments which are fairly corny, the 'treatment' of Ishaant's dyslexia appears a bit too effective at times and a couple of monologues are a bit cringeworthy but the film tends to remain down-to-earth and you really want to see Ishaant triumph because the character is so strong.

Aamir Khan has proven that he is more than capable of directing a great feature, his style is strong and this is a bold move for his full directorial debut. His acting talent is used to turn a role which borders on cheesy at times into a plausible one which risks being overly sentimental but never really crosses that line for long. The stand out performance however is from Darsheel Safary who is incredible as Ishaant, child actors sometimes let a film down but Safary gives one of the best young performances I've ever seen in a film. He's cute - but even more importantly - he's convincing and really carries the film which at 165 minutes duration is not an easy task, he is a genuine little star and I'm certain we'll be seeing more of him.

In a nutshell: This is a heart-warming film which even those who claim to dislike Bollywood films can surely enjoy, this is possibly a good starter film for those who find the usual song-and-dance features a bit 'full on'. A great drama which is a tad sanctimonious but always emotionally engaging, I'm sure I won't be the only one claiming to have "something in my eye" by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dyslexia, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful story. Pity it depends so much on subtitles, but don't be put off by that, especially if you are interested in child education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Stars On Earth [DVD] (DVD)
Some beautifully moving lines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Like Stars On Earth [DVD]
Like Stars On Earth [DVD] by Aamir Khan (DVD - 2009)
4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews