Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars528
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2008
For anyone who hasn't inhabited Earth and missed this one then it comes highly recommended as one of the best fantasy Romantic Comedy drama's with a fantastic soundtrack ranging from Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman" from the title and Roxette's classic "It must have been Love"...Richard Gere plays an ultra wealthy business property tycoon Edward Lewis obsessed with the kill but lonely enough to employ the services of an apprentice hooker in Vivian Ward played by Julia Roberts only to find that love can be sought in the strangest places....Welcome to Hollywood and what's your dream...well Vivian wanted all or nothing whilst Edward just wanted a short hire and fire with no strings......what followed was one of the most chemistry based modern romantic comedy drama's of today..it's hard to believe it celebrated it's 15th Anniversary recently....The glamour, glitz, humour, highs and lows are enough to make a grown woman weep which may happen as it's that type of film but with a twist...Pretty Woman is one of those films that stand the test of time with a lot of chemistry mixed with a touch of class....buy it...you'll love it
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2000
i wasn't expecting this film to affect me so much, but it was excellent. i'm a man, and men arn't usually supposed to like romantic films, but this just took my breath away. to my brothers annoyance, i've watched this film many a time, and it just gets better and better.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2007
If you've not seen Pretty Woman - where have you been?! I absolutely love this film! I watch it all the time - I often just put it on in the background because I know it off by heart anyway!

This is definitely a chick flick, but my goodness it's a fabulous one! Every woman who watches this wants to be Julia Roberts, just so that she can be swept off her feet by the marvelously rich, sophisticated, and romantic Richard Gere! Both actors play their roles superbly in this movie, and the soundtrack really sets it off too. If you've never seen this, or if you love this movie but don't own it yet - buy it! You won't regret it :-)
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
(THE FILM)
Academy Award-nominee Julia Roberts and charismatic leading man Richard Gere light up the screen in one of Hollywood's biggest blockbusters.

Roberts stars a street-wise, down-on-her-luck working girl, whose chance encounter with a handsome corporate mogul leads to an improbable love affair... and a modern-day Cinderella fantasy that has captured the hearts of move-goers all over the world. Featuring a chart-topping soundtrack, this is an irresistible and timeless romantic comedy.
WHAT CAN I SAY?
The film continues to develop as the story progresses, showing the difference between two different levels of class (upper and lower). The characters chosen for this film are perfect, as they act with such passion, dedication and commitment it captivates the meaning of two people, from two completely different social backgrounds Julia Roberts acting is faultless, and she and Richard Gere have an excellent chemistry as the loved up pair.- they were made for these roles.This film shows that all types of women have dreams of a fairytale, and even though it doesn't always come true in real life, watching this film just gives you that uplifting feeling that someday it might.Pretty Woman is one of those films that stand the test of time with a lot of chemistry mixed with a touch of class.
--------------------------------------------------
HER ARE SOME Memorable Quotes For ((Pretty Woman))
Vivian: So, what's your name?
Edward Lewis: Edward.
Vivian: Really? That's my favorite name in the whole world.
-------------------
Vivian: I would have stayed for two thousand.
Edward Lewis: I would have paid four.
-------------------
Vivian: I appreciate this whole seduction thing you've got going on here, but let me give you a tip: I'm a sure thing.
-------------------------
Vivian: People put you down enough, you start to believe it.
Edward Lewis: I think you are a very bright, very special woman.
Vivian: The bad stuff is easier to believe. You ever notice that?
-------------------------
Shop assistant: Hello, can I help you?
Vivian: I was in here yesterday, you wouldn't wait on me.
Shop assistant: Oh.
Vivian: You people work on commission, right?
Shop assistant: Yeah.
Vivian: Big mistake. Big. Huge. I have to go shopping now.
----------------------------------
Vivian: When I was a little girl, my mama used to lock me in the attic when I was bad, which was pretty often. And I would- I would pretend I was a princess... trapped in a tower by a wicked queen. And then suddenly this knight... on a white horse with these colors flying would come charging up and draw his sword. And I would wave. And he would climb up the tower and rescue me. But never in all the time... that I had this dream did the knight say to me, "Come on, baby, I'll put you up in a great condo."
----------------------------------

THE LAST LINE IN THE FILM SAY IT ALL
Welcome to Hollywood! What's your dream? Everybody comes here; this is Hollywood, land of dreams. Some dreams come true, some don't; but keep on dreaming' - this is Hollywood. Always time to dream, so keep on dreaming'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
If you don't know about this movie you haven't lived. Truly watchable over & over with nice glass wine & chocs. For a simple film this is one of the finest. A timeless movie, great acting by all and Julia Roberts looked stunning. The scenes showing class differences are simply brilliant.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2007
Ever dreamt of being swept off your feet by some riduculously rich handsome man?

If you have, then this may just be the ideal film for you.

Pretty Womman captures the harshness of modern day life and flips it over into a world of fun, love, romance and laughter.

Meet Vivian, a young woman who has taken the wrong path in life, prostitution and scrambling around for the weeks rent.

Meet Edward, an unbearably handsomly rich man, own his own business yet is unhappy.

When the two meet the chemistry is clear, and the audience is plunged into a world of fantasy.

And the rest they say is history.....

I can only urge you to watch this film, some may hate it others will love it, but i certainly love it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2006
This is a lovely film. It gently touches on a prostitute (Julia) who happens on a meeting with a successful businessman (Richard) when he is out in a friends sports car and lost. He asks for directions and Julia gets her break. The theme has a fairy story background, with some good music, excellent support cast (The hotel manager is something to be believed!). It is highly entertaining with lots of clever laughs, one-upmanship, personal morality and interesting storyline. Buy this DVD... It rates as one of my top three ever!
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
Roy Orbison's song Pretty Woman is inseparable from this film, and summarises it exactly, but one has to wait until half way through the film, for the complete version, as the streetwise girl is transformed into an elegant lady.
Julia Roberts has the beauty and talent to make her character Vivian Ward very real; and Richard Gere gives a convincing performance of the money obsessed billionaire Edward Lewis, who is humanised again through his efforts to turn a hooker into a lady, treating his partner and lawyer Philip Stuckey (Ralph Bellamy) very badly because he can not keep pace with his change of heart.
The Film shows intentionally the hipocracy and also the desirability of protocol. The same woman is looked upon with distaste in expensive hotels and stores in streetwise clothes, but ogled and treated like an object of desire and with respect, when wearing high fashion. (It is not the goods, but how you wrap them which makes the difference, in this case wardrobe by Cerruti of Paris )
It would be an outrage of respectability for her to stay in a millionaire's suite as a paid escort, but acceptable as a 'relative' in this case as his niece.
There is compassion beneath the stern exterior of propriety and efficiency, and the hotel manager played by Hector Elizondo, instructs and helps the girl with etiquette and dress sense.
There is an undercurrent of humour also, such as when Vivian squeezes her snail tongues too hard at a dinner, and propells the creature across the room to be caught expertly by a waiter.
Laura Giacomo provides some sad humour as the drug addicted friend of Vivian, Kit De Luca, still in the clutches of a pimp and his organisation.
After misunderstandings Edward encouraged by the hotel manager, travells standing through the sun roof of the limo to Vivian's appartment, and overcomes his fear of heights by climbing the fire escape to propose.
Another high flying feature of the production is the Orchestra conducted by Jazz orientated Marty Paich, who worked with such artists as Mel Torme and Peggy Lee.
There is no 15th Anniversary booklet, and it is only a one disc set, but there is a new audio commentary by Director Gary Marshall, and a track 'Wild Woman Do' by Natalie Cole, plus Featurettes, in the Special Features. The Dolby 5.1 sound is good, and the picture quality beautiful. The language options are English and French, with subtitle options in English and Dutch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2006
The film is about a wealthy businessman, (Richard Gere), who inadvertently meets a prostitute, (Julia Roberts).

He hires her not just for the night but as a companion for an entire week!

Typically, it's fantastically 'Chik Flik' because of the love story between the lead couple, within the film. And yes, it obviously has a smushy romantic ending that makes every girl's heart melt :)

But I found that this film isn't your average light-hearted Rom-Com, purely because, when dealing with the subject of a prostitute, it would be hard to make it all sunshine and smiles...

I liked the fact that I found this film 'intelligent'. They look at some of the prejudices that Julia Roberts' young character would encounter.

(Please note this was also picked up on in my school and clips of the film were shown to us while we were studying prejudice and discrimination!)

As expected from such seasoned and successful actors, both lead characters are convincing and extremely likeable in their roles. Support actors are also well-played.

I have just one final comment and that is, my boyfriend is generally not a fan of the 'Chik Flik' genre- didn't like Dirty Dancing and Love Actually didn't rock his world- but he has commented on several occasions on how much he enjoyed watching this...

And that just says it all!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
Great for a saturday afternoon when its raining..The Blu-Ray edition though isn't as good as thought it would be, picture wise..Still a great film with a good feeling to it..
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)