Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.27
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2010
Highland outlaw is the story of ELizabeth Campbell & Patrick Mcgregor(murray), if you've read the preceeding books you'll know that the McGregors are the highlands notorious outlawed clan & the campbells are the law enforcers for the King. This is a great story - Lizzy is a great female lead intelligent & capable dispite previous failed romances / engagements & she's not the typical historical romance female - 17 yr old maiden wedding a 30-35yr old man - but a 26 year old woman who runs the keep for her family. Patrick is a great hero - strong, passionate & honorable. You get pulled into their struggles & the author has you realy hoping and rooting for them! Of course all works out well in the end!. The pace of the story was great moved along very quickly especially when they go on the run from their families. Some of the usual characters from previous books also apppear which is always great! DEfinately the most romantic of the campbell trilogy books. EVeryone should read this book!!!!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Another great highland romp from Monica McCarty. This time, there was just as much emotion and drama as the first book in the trilogy, Highland Warrior, but whereas that all came from external forces, this time, the heartache comes from within.

I really just wanted to shout at the two main characters from the very first pages because there was so much deception going on, and it was so obviously all going to end in tears and upset, that it was like watching a slow motion train wreck. And I really felt for Lizzie when she found out the truth. I also have to commend McCarty for writing Patrick's character in such a way that although he did something awful, when you learned of his plight and the terrible history of his clan, you forgave him.

"God knows why with the way you are acting right now, but for some reason you make me happy. I love you and I'd rather endure hell with you than hell without."

The love scenes were very hot as I'm coming to expect from this author, and the ending totally satisfying. A great read- highly recommended!

4 Stars! ''''
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I have never been disapointed by a Monica McCarty's book, and this is no exception! There's romance, adventure e passion and a plot that balances everything. If you are a romantic girl, you will love her books!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
If you love Scottish Romance and Historical Fiction marrying together with another brilliant author Diana Gabadol Outlander Series or you will love this book not to be missed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Historic Romances are by definition rarely high literature and this certainly isn't, but it is written Ok, has halfway believable characters and makes for easy reading. If you need a brainless afternoon off, you could do worse.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
an enjoyable read, especially if you have read the Macloed series and the first Campbell book. However what is with all these 'tiny' heroines? Lizzie has two full brothers, both oover 6ft tall and built like the proverbial barn door, so how do the same parents manage to produce a daughter who is a 'tiny thing' , ' a wisp' with 'delicate bones' ? This is seriously annoying! Oh and she has golden hair while both brothers are dark. Just a bit stereotypical - why does no one ever have moosy broon hair as we say in Scotland? Despite these irritations it was a good story with lots of historical background from a period that doesnt appear often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Every time i pick up a book from Monica McCarty I am secretly hoping that she'll be repeating herself, that she cannot come up with another great story...Dead wrong!
I loved that fact that Lizzie Campbell was the 'main' character in this book...She was not only the fragile stammering girl...
Absolutely loved the story, historical facts, little stories of characters, past history of character and what shaped them into what they are at the present of the book...not all authors are doing this as I found out recently...
Again - page turner, captivating, not possible to put down...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
This author is fantastic. Her stories are so gripping I can't put them down. The stories are so different I don't know how she has so many ideas and then the relationships seem so doomed I have a ache In my chest for them but she manages to have a believable happy ending Wonderful author loving all her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Love Monica Mc Carty Books always enjoy reading, arrived as stated thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.