Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace of Mind and very good value.
Bought this for my lad, who's at Uni - renting the top flat of a local private 3-storey block of flats.

There are, of course, smoke alarms fitted throughout but I didn't like the thought of him being possibly trapped ( with only one double-glazed window in his room, with small opening, to smash and jump through ).

Having bought the First Alert...
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by K. Bloor

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big problem with safety
Both the manufacturers and Amazon should make it very clear what type of window
aperture this is designed for - modern houses with thin sills would appear fine.
This is meant to be a Health and Safety device!!!
The product intrinsically is good but it's application could be fatal on wider ledges.
To overcome the possible slippage of the bracket I have...
Published 23 months ago by Paul Dunkley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big problem with safety, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Paul Dunkley (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2 (DIY & Tools)
Both the manufacturers and Amazon should make it very clear what type of window
aperture this is designed for - modern houses with thin sills would appear fine.
This is meant to be a Health and Safety device!!!
The product intrinsically is good but it's application could be fatal on wider ledges.
To overcome the possible slippage of the bracket I have utilised a heavy iron bar with
safety chains to ensure it cannot fall away as a fail safe.
I'm an engineer but I would be terrified of this equipment failing for someone.
The manufacturers need to make very clear it's limitations.
I note that this has been an issue with other makes advertised on this site also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace of Mind and very good value., 1 Nov 2009
By 
K. Bloor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2 (DIY & Tools)
Bought this for my lad, who's at Uni - renting the top flat of a local private 3-storey block of flats.

There are, of course, smoke alarms fitted throughout but I didn't like the thought of him being possibly trapped ( with only one double-glazed window in his room, with small opening, to smash and jump through ).

Having bought the First Alert 3-storey Escape Ladder I now sleep at night...it's kept under his bed with a hammer next to it (for the window!)- just in case.... at least he'd have a fighting chance now if anything were to happen. The unit is easily deployable once hooked over a window ledge... you just pull a velcro'd flap and the ladder automatically falls.

It arrived within 3 days and to check it out, & gain a bit of vital experience, I (together with my son) "deployed" it in my living-room. It was a fantastic piece of kit and carefully putting it back together was no problem with the enclosed instructions....which weren't really needed.

The cost - which doesn't come into it as far as peace of mind is concerned - was very reasonable I thought.... especially with regard to other makes of ladders for sale that appeared to be single-use ladders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank goodness we've not needed it!, 5 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2 (DIY & Tools)
open the box carefully whne it arrives so you can use it for storing the ladders. Long and easy to unfold. We've not needed them I'm delighted to say, but we keep ours below the window in our loft extentension and I'm very glad to have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great safety system!, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2 (DIY & Tools)
I bought this safety ladder for my daughter who lives in a 2nd floor flat in town.
She has always been worried about escaping if there were to be a fire and we are really pleased with the quality of this product. Easy to clip over any window sill so no need for installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great peace of mind!, 13 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2 (DIY & Tools)
I bought this ladder for my daughter who lives in a third floor flat, and fire escape was a concern for me. I wanted a longer than normal ladder as she was on the third floor. It was ordered and delivered within a few days, and fortunately it hasnt needed to be used in an emergency, but we did test it, and it was very easy to hook over the window cill and extend down to the ground. It would serve the purpose perfectly and it takes up very little space tucked away under the bed. Well worth the money for peace of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2 (DIY & Tools)
If you live on the first or second floor of a Flat or House, recommend you buy one, also practice fire escape drill out of more than one window, as the fire maybe below the window, you hope to escape from, so a opposite window is essential, so you can act quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Alert 3 Storey Escape Ladder, EL53W-2
64.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews